Hello Steemians!

20190307_194211.png

Hello everyone!
I just wanted to take a moment to introduce myself to the community.

The Family


20190307_233912.jpg
My wife and I. Enjoying a hike through Harrison Hot Springs.

20190307_230329.jpg

On January 1st 2019, we found out she was pregnant. It was something we had been planning for (for awhile). After starting to lose hope, it finally happened - like a new years blessing.

20190307_230824.jpg

My new family and I are excited to see what the future brings - for better or for worse.
Nevermind the highs and lows of life (and markets) we will make it through.💕

20180919_204213.jpg

Hobbies & Interests

There are many, so I will try to keep the list short (will only list the things I spend the most time on)!

Melting/Casting Metal
Since I was a small child I have always been drawn to shiny objects. Now that I'm an adult, I'm still drawn to shiny objects - like a man-crow. The only difference now is I don't collect pieces of tinfoil and broken glass, I prefer to collect heftier metals and melt them into things. Which is how I made our wedding rings.

Art/Animation
As a child my Dad would give us drawing and painting lessons. Not your average kids lessons though; more like cross hatch & chiaroscuro shading and face/bone struce etc. We all enjoyed it, though my sister and I were the only ones to continue the practice. My brother later introduced me to an animation software called Macromedia Flash 5 (now Adobe Flash), and I was hooked. All it took was the ability to make a stick man poop on another stick mans head (in a fluid 12 frames per second), and I never looked back.
PleasedVastIberianchiffchaff-small.gif

Cannabis
Ok, so this one might be a wierd category to include (and a deal breaker for many - I know), but if you knew me you would understand. Cannabis isn't just a medicine for me, it's a creative passion that allows me to help friends and loved ones. As well as persue various sub-hobbies & interests; such as organic chemistry, horticulture, graphic design etc..
20190306_204444.jpg

Glassblowing
This one goes hand in hand with a couple of my other major interests and hobbies. On one hand, I get to create my own beautiful, shiny, pieces of art. On the other hand I get to create cool devices to consume cannabis with.
Photo_2019-03-08_06-07-26_AM.png

Cryptocurrencies
I've been into cryptocurrencies for a long time now, and owned and traded a handful of different coins including STEEM. Though this is my first time using the platform, I have always been very optimistic about the future of cryptocurrencies with a service/product.

It's been a 10 year long love/hate relationship with cryptocurrencies. Back when Gavins bitcoin faucet would give out 0.5 btc at a time and it still wasn't a penny worth . All the ups and downs, the lost wallet.dat(s), the bad trades, the missed opportunities, the self-hate-for-not-holding-longer, the big gains, the crashes, the retracement, the spikes, the rallies, the pump and dumps, the pride and joy of seeing a crypto become successful that you invested time, effort and money into.

I've learned a lot in that time, and eager to learn more.

Conclusion

Well that's about all I can muster typing through my cellphone. It literally took hours (especially the constant coding syntax).

Thanks for reading!


P.S.


Does anyone have any tips or advice to make posting easier?

Sort:  

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Welcome HerbNCrypto! You have some exciting things going on in your life, #1 being your new baby. Congrats to that!!
I hope you will have great success on the steem blockchain and with your blog. Please feel free to reach out if you have any questions.

As a welcome gift, I have featured your post in my recurring comment challenge here on Steemit. I hope it will give you some extra exposure.

Take care and steem on!

Wow thank you so much for the support and the congratulations. He is by far the most exciting thing in my life :) I will be following you and supporting your content aswell, thank you again for the warm welcome!

Welcome to Steemit! You were bought to my attention in the Homesteaders Coop Newsletter.
You have some fascinating hobbies. Will you be offering some of your goods on the Homesteaders Coop?
Congrats on the pregnancy!
Was that a picture of your newborn at the end of the post?
Awe! She is such a cutie!

Thanks for the welcome! Yes that is our new born at the end of the post♡ I'm only just learning about the Homesteaders Coop, but it looks alot like somethkng I'd love to do!

Congratulations on your newborn!
Hope to see you over at the @HomesteadersCoop ! Did you join their discord channel yet? There you can communicate with folks without worrying about your RC.

Hi and welcome. If you have a passion for cannabis there are a few groups which may interest you. @canna-curate, @naturalmedicine and @cannabis-news is also is a fairly new account supporting content in that area. I think there is even a separate blockchain similar to this which is cannabis focused. @barge could tell you more about that.

On the horticultural side we have @homesteaderscoop and @ghscollective. I know all these groups will be happy to have you on board if you're interested.

Also, I'll give a heads up to @nateonsteem who is our welcoming committee guy and has great tips to get you started.

...and if you post via your phone you might like to check out partiko, one of the mobile apps https://partiko.app/referral/minismallholding Yes, this is my referral link, but no pressure to join.

Hey @herbncrypto, the first part of your name suggests you may be interested in www.smoke.io, which is - as @minismallholding says - a separate blockchain which serves the cannabis community :). Smoke.io is a clone off the Steem blockchain, so the functionality is familiar. If interested, why not reserve your username so you can pick up as and when you feel ready.

I'm happy to answer any questions you may have.

Good luck and see you around 🔆

Just signed up, it says my account needs to be approved. Will definitely be checking it out once it does!

Thanks so much for the tips! Will definitely be checking them all out. I've heard about partiko - does it help with posting on mobile or is it more of an extra reward?

Posting wise it's probably on par with Steemit. It's still a work in progress, however, so sometimes ios is a bit behind Android on updates. Not sure which you use. It's getting better all the time.

The rewards are a big pull, but I also like the notifications, which Steemit doesn't have. You'd need a separate thing like @ginabot to get notification of when you've been tagged for Steemit, but partiko has it on the app.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steemit, I will be following you and upvote you whenever I'm online and you post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Will be doing the same

Best of luck here m8, stoked to see more of your glasswork!!

Thanks for the comment! Will be posting more about it soon - Gunna hit that follow button and support your content. Thanks again for the welcome!

welcome to steemit, @herbncrypto, have a great time here! I look forward to read and see more about these glass objects :) it seems very interesting

Thanks so much, @danielapetk I really like it here so far! That's awesome - I will post next about glasswork thanks to you :) Also I will be following you - for being the first genuine comment that isn't a bot. Thank you again!

Welcome to the only blockchain family that grows up each day and striving through to make the world a better place. Feel free to engage more with others to build you up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the welcome and the advice! My favorite part of steemit is all the amazing and friendly people so far.

Yea..... There are great people around the blockchain and it's always great to have them

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @herbncrypto,

How do you do?

Your intro is fantastic and so are your hobbies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @marvyinnovation!

I'm doing good, and yourself?

Thank you for saying so! I will be giving you a follow to support your content.

Thank you very much @herbncrypto for your support.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @herbncrypto

Yes, I found this app that links your steemit account, it's called Partiko.

Besides the points you get on steemit, Partiko gives you points and upvote your post, it gives you points when you log in,
it gives you points when you vote for other, it gives you points when you post,
When you comment on others, and when you invite a friend, like the link you will find under. And 200 points to watch some 30 second commercial videos.

These Partiko points can be collected every 1,000 points. The rate changes daily, but it's around $0.014

The app makes it easier to post.
The only part it's that when you doing a post. In the 5 tags, the first 9ne, auromatecally is Partiko.
Take a look at my postings and you will see.

I hope that this help you to make your postings easier.

https://partiko.app/referral/andresurrego

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76