Who Am I?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

WIN_20170920_02_09_49_Pro.jpg

Who am I? That's the question that always seems to stump me. I hate describing myself on a dating profile, a resume, or even a site like this. Sure, I know I have to, but does that mean I really know how?

It's hard to sum myself up in a few short paragraphs. The task seems daunting, almost impossible. It feels superficial and makes me question myself. What if people don't like me? Do I even know myself? That idea is thrown away, but the doubt lingers.

I'm a sports fan, but does that really define me? My family was wacky, but whose wasn't? I think I'm intelligent, but plenty disagree. I love reading, watching TV shows, and pranking my friends. But does that really make me who I am?

Truthfully, I'm just scared to be vulnerable. Saying the word sends shivers through my body. But, I've always wanted to write. Your beliefs shine through your words. People form a picture in their mind. With every sentence, you're judged. With every word, you're opened to criticism.

But, vulnerability is the special part of writing. It awakens the creativity in your mind. It releases your emotions. Being vulnerable frees you.

I love writing fiction. I enjoy sharing my experiences. Sometimes, I'll even comment on sports or books I love. The great part about Steemit is the community that can appreciate my work, even when I can't appreciate it myself.

Sort:  

Hey @hickey, welcome to Steemit!

Thanks @unbeaten! I really appreciate the warm welcome!

Welcome to steemit, Your post is upvoted as a welcome gift, Enjoy steemit

Thank you for the upvote, @malekalmsaddi. :)

You are most welcome!!

Welcome to Steem @hickey I have upvoted and sent you a tip

welcome to steemit @hickey

Welcome to steemit man. Looking forward to your work. Upvote for you.

Thanks a lot. I appreciate the support. I'm a huge fan of everything you write. I can't wait to read more poetry.

Nice to meet you, @hickey! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Thanks @vlone99! I appreciate the welcome!

Hello and Welcome to steemit. follow me @manofmiracles i'll do the same

Thanks, @manofmiracles! I'm following you now. I appreciate your writing and look forward to more.

Welcome to the community !
Happpy steeming !!

Thanks a lot @akkha I just looked at your profile and your photographs are beautiful. You just gained a new follower. :)

Thank you so much @lopezdacruz! It's great to be a new member of the community!

Congratulations @hickey! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73