Hidewell here, hello Steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit, My name is Darrin aka Hidewell... (Hidewell is my trail name.) I'm an avid backpacker/hiker and nature nerd from the Rocky Mountains. I'm not entirely sure what my posts will be because I'm a very eclectic person. I can tell you that I'll be posting a lot of nature stuff where I will be sharing some of my photos and knowledge about the world. I will also be posting a bit about Books, Crypto, Hacking, gardening, cooking, general DIY stuff, a dab of the political, and maybe a few cat pictures too... I've already made a few posts, mostly to test out Steemit and see what it's about. Feel free to check those out.

20130823_161511.jpg

I should say that I'm basically an anarchist, so the Idea that anyone can dictate to me what I can do with my own body, money, time, words, or mind is absurd and offensive, and I will fight against them at every turn.

What else can I say? Well, I first got into Crypto (Bitcoin) because the philosophy fits my own. Back around 2010 I learned that the major credit card companies and PayPal suspended donations to Wikileaks. The very Idea of a financial embargo for political reasons offended everything in my soul. I'm not going to tout the benefits of Bitcoin right now, but I will say that it is the ultimate "f*ck you" to the system and this tickles my inner anarchist.

When I discovered that Reddit had begun a purge of the "offensive" and YouTube increased efforts in censorship, defunding, and suspending accounts, and I began to search out censorship resistant alternatives. Enter Steemit.... So here I am.

I hope to meet more hikers and crypto anarchists. Feel free to message me and maybe we can become friends!

20130907_162138.jpg
This is part of Alice Lake in the Sawtooth National Forest.

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steem Darrin

So we have great hiking reports coming in? Check out @bypaul as a great example for good ones! Greets

hello Hidewell . welcome to steemit family.
Keep sharing your story in this platform :)
cheers!

Welcome to Steemit! With new Steemian’s, I always have 3 pieces of advice for success. Be kind, be consistent, and be persistent. I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube and Dsound as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. As well, I hope you will look over some of my content and consider following along! Kindest regards.

Welcome to Steemit! Look forward to your contributions. Good on you!

Welcome to the best community ever which values our hardwork . Hope you'll have good time here. Gud people are waiting for you... Feel free to share what you like with me and be in touch @sarinakhan

Welcome to Steemit Darrin! I'm sure you will love it here!

Congratulations @hidewell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73