The Reason I Joined Steemit

20180518_210756.jpg

Until recently my main social media platform was Facebook. I have been using it almost a decade and for the most part was an enjoyable experience, finding my friends and being able to talk at any moment.

Lately i find myself using it less and less. So i stared thinking the reason behind that. Facebook has changed a lot since it started, way back in 2004, and no one can deny that. It used to be fun and enjoyable offering new ways to communicate.

For me Facebook from a social media platform where you can connect with people became a place filled with random adverts of stuff that are useless to me. Every other post was followed by an advert in my news feed and it went on and on. Having to deal with all these advertisements every day got repetitive and annoying very quickly.

Further more with the rise of other social platforms like Instagram an Steemit i made up my mind to finally quit it.

Then I joined Steemit not knowing what to expect. I must say i have been very satisfied. Most of the users here upload interesting post and educational i must say.
Also the community here has been great and willing to help new members.

I have done an introduceyourself post, but it felt right to upload here one more time.

I would like to hear if you have similar experiences with social media platforms down in the comments.

Sort:  

Twice you are using this tag #introduceyourself, I think this is not allowed by steemit, hopefully there is no warning from steemit.
My advice, You should start to introduce yourself on channel @dlive or @dtube, they usually give a good appreciation in the first video.
Regards

Oh good to know, i didnt know what dlive and dtube was so thats why i posted here. Thank you for telling me so i won't make the same mistake.

You are welcome
Hopefully you get a good future in steemit
Kind regards

It's okay to post in here twice if you really are just introducing yourself twice. Many people choose to introduce themselves a couple times if their interests change or something. It's only if you abuse it and repost in here just to surface in the tag that some users might flag you.

You can post in #introduceyourself twice if you really are just introducing yourself. Sometimes people do a second one after they've been around for a while and they know more about what they do here and what they like to post. It's when people spam it and make many #introduceyourself posts just to surface in this tag that you can get in trouble with people who flag abusers. But it's not forbidden by the site itself; just frowned upon.

This post has received a 6.06 % upvote from @kath1 thanks to: @putrapetir.

sent a comment but not upvote too yet.

This comment has received a 15.35 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @olgiz247.

Bids above 0.1 SBD may get additional upvotes from our trail members.

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here. I, too, have pretty much stopped using FB. I went from FB to twitter, now to steemit and have been here for over a week!

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/TaZFW5r and we will teach and support you to grow in the Steemit Community. We can also help you choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to make more money on Steemit and in life.

Welcome! It is so nice to have you here with us. If you have any questions just post them here, and I will do my best to answer them. Good luck!

Excellent article and a good start. I, too, most recently at Stemit and looking for new friends and like-minded people, I followed you and you follow me. Together we can quickly develop our blogs on Steemit.

This is the exact reason why i joined Steemit! Be sure i will check your account!

Welcome to steemit @hit.the.road. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

@hit.the.road ...welcome to this great community..I'm positive you'll do well , I've followed you, please do well to follow back..peace!

Hi @hit.the.road, welcome to Steemit. Here to show a newcomer some support with a little upvote. Hope you will enjoy your time here! I recently added a new post with some tips for new comers like you. Do give it a read and I hope it will benefit you.

The way users interact is still fundamentally different between Steemit and Facebook. Steemit is more like a hybrid of Medium and Reddit right now. Though there is a potential for Steemit to be as interactive as Facebook. That being said, Steemit is the only platform I see which provides effective monetization of content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13