A Personal Introduction

Hi!

I'd like to take the time to properly introduce myself. My name is Jalyn, I live in Idaho where I am a wife and stay at home mom. I live close to where I grew up and am glad my children can grow up doing many of the same things I did as a kid.

IMG_0247.jpg

When I was seventeen my family moved to Chile where I lived until I married @justinmullet and moved to Minnesota. I love the Chilean culture and people and have always anticipated relocating there someday.

In the years since I've become a mother I've often felt like I have no hobbies or interests since most of my time is spent focusing on the needs of my family. Recently I made the comment I don't think I have any hobbies. My friend laughed and said I have a whole hobby FARM and if anyone has hobbies, it's me. I recognize that is true, although I look at my hobby farm as a lifestyle rather than a hobby. I have animals, I dig in the dirt, it's just what I do.

Part of the reasoning behind this blog is to challenge myself to look at the things I do and enjoy through a different perspective. Doing chores, cooking and parenting often feel like work but I am blessed to be able to do these things. I want to focus on the joy in daily life rather than the mundane. My hope is that taking the time to document and photograph everyday moments I will see more of life's simple joys.

I'm also fairly dedicated to things like drinking coffee and eating Mexican food, although I'm not sure those can be considered hobbies. I sporadically play guitar and violin and am always trying to discipline myself to read more.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. You sound like you have an interesting life... Living on a hobby farm, is a dream of mine. I've never lived outside of the city, and prefer animals>humans most of the time.

Out of my 28 years I’ve lived in the city or town for 6 or 7 years. I enjoyed the different aspects of that life too, but at heart I’m definitely a backwoods country lover. Since the majority of Americans live in urban areas I realize my lifestyle probably looks like a novelty.

Hello and welcome on Steem, Jalyn!

Hello ! Welcome to Steem ! :)

welcome to the steemit community !

Welcome to Steemit!
This is a great community of content creators. Steemit has a bit of a learning curve. So try to have patience to understand the platform, how to format your posts, and optimize your payouts.


Here are a few good resources for new users:


Let me know if you have any questions as a new user on Steemit, I am happy to help! You can follow me at @ngans. I post a lot about neuroscience, psychology, health, and philosophy.

Thanks! It’ll take a little luck 😉

welcome to steemit. i like the farm too. may be in my later years I want to live in the countrysides. all the best. god bless.

Thank you! I hope you get to live in the country someday.

I'm from Oregon and play guitar, piano. You look smart and beautiful. I'm Oatmeal. I love Mexican food. I love coffee and was in Vietnam. Chile is interesting. Nice to meet you.

Sounds like we share some common interests!

Why is your name @HomeSpun? For me, I was home taught by my mom. I like your name.

Homespun means simple and unsophisticated and that is me, simple and unsophisticated 😛

Congratulations @homespun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Nice, can I request a post about baby lambs? I heard there would be lambs here ;)

Haha, sure! I’ll see what I can do😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75