001 - Introducing Myself: Beyond the Excel Box

Looking at me at face value, I’m pretty vanilla. I’m a wife to an amazing man, and a mother to two beautiful souls. I have that house by the lake in the suburbs. I go to work crunching numbers on my worn 10 key every Monday – Friday, 8am - 5pm. I’m basically living the American dream. 

Why am I on Steemit?  

I’m not your basic stereotypical millennial. Sure, I like taking a pretty picture, I love avocado toast, and I eat organic everything, but that is where the stereotype ends. I’m a socially awkward introvert that sometimes struggles to relate to my peers. The only time I’m truly comfortable is when I’m at home…creating. At my day job, there are only so many ways to make a spreadsheet pretty. I’m essentially a creative spirit trapped in an Excel box. Don’t get me wrong. I love what I do for a living. I get oddly giddy when numbers foot and accounts reconcile, but I needed a place where I could showcase the content coming from the right side of my brain. Insert Steemit.  

Looking at me at market value 


I cook, but I’m not a chef. 

Cooking first came as a necessity. I’m hungry, and I’m poor, but I still gotta eat! As I got older and my taste buds matured, I started to actually enjoy the act of cooking. Not just cooking, but plating food. Making it Instagram worthy! Tasting art and enjoying every bite.  Couple that with the conundrum of balancing the proper micro and macronutrients in each dish, the perfect recipe that satisfied my artistic and my analytical cravings. (so many puns in that sentence 😊) 


I bake, but I’m not a baker.  

Baking is a relatively new concept to me, but I fell in love with it almost immediately. The flavors, the textures, the smells, the techniques, the science! It all overwhelmed me at once, and I embraced it! Because we are primarily a grain-free family, baking without the help of gluten was a challenge that I welcomed with open arms.  The baking burns on my arms, not so much.


I sew, but I’m not a seamstress. 

Burning the midnight oil doesn’t sound too bad when I’m sewing. Drafting the ideas in my head and watching it come to fruition. It is the creative outlet I love but also has a superior level of complexity I need. Let’s not even talk about the resourcefulness of it! 


I workout, but I’m not a trainer. 

Vanity. The single reason why I started going to the gym. It was never because I was worried about my current or future health. Fast forward 6 years, my reasonings transformed into a hybrid amongst vanity with the inclusions of staying physically healthy and setting a good example for the children. 


I eat clean, but I’m not a dietitian. 

Saying I’m high maintenance, medically, is an understatement. In an effort to reduce the symptoms and also not add to the list of ailments, I put a lot of focus on what I put into my body. You could say I practice a more holistic approach to my nutrition. Unrefined, organic, unprocessed, real food.   


I’m here to create; I’m a creator. 

This is me in a mid-size nut shell. Not so vanilla after all.   

Until next time, 

Tami    

Instagram


Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @houseofhotard!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Thank you! I’ll need all the help I can get!

Saludos, gracias por compartir tu post con nosotros, éxito.

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 6k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from--> click link
https://discord.gg/dKsHwVz
Join the steemit school on discord channel today

I enjoyed reading your first post. Welcome aboard.

Thank you! See you around Steemit!

Oh hey, Welcome!

That Egg Avocado salad looks awesome. You should make a Womenwich for Steemit Sandwich Contest ;)

Haha! I’ve started looking at some of the food contest they have on here but I’m still a little confused about the whole “steem” currency to do anything about it. Lmao

Yea there' a bunch of good ones, of course none are quite like SSC ;)

Also Steem & SBD... sure It's a bit confusing @ first. You'll get it sooner or later though. Steemit is crypto for dummies in many ways :)

Very creative, welcome to steemit and good luck. ✌️

Thank you! I’m looking forward to diving in!

@houseofhotard, A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

I'm from Nigeria and I've made a lot of friends in Steemit, and I'm glad to meet you too.

Please never give out your password to anyone or through any link. Any request for your password might be to steal from you so be careful. Treat it like your bank code.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to make more money in steemit and in life.

Thank you for the helpful tips!!

Welcome to STEEMIT. Have fun and enjoy the ride 👍

Thank you, it is a bit overwhelming! Still lots to learn!

Vanilla is my favorite. I was thinking of buying vanilla ice-cream today. Creativity is what gives you extra beauty. Love your beauty.

Finally! Someone that I can tell read th post! I was beginning to think Steemit was a bunch of “copy and pasters” looking to get an upvote! 😬

Thank you for sweet words!

Upvoted. Awesome. Always and forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65