Finally settling into this Steem room that you legends have created

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Greetings, Steemizens!

33184040_10156265825051420_1571521623004020736_o.jpg

It's me, Hugo - really me...

Photo on 24-05-2018 at 11.16 AM.jpg

Thus far on this site, I've had a really good online buddy post some content for me. On a regular basis, he would tell me "hey, you should get onto this Steemit thing..." "Hey, Hugo, I really think Steemit could work out well for you" and "Hugo, what the hell is wrong with you? Steemit is right there, set up and ready to go... and you're not using it??"

But unfortunately, like the bozo that I regularly prove myself to be, I didn't jump on what has proven to be a truly excellent opportunity until now.

Well, all that is changing, folks. I've been watching from the sidelines for a couple of years, and watched a bunch of tutorials, and seen that you guys have basically gone and created the Future that Jaron Lanier posited as a completely necessary antidote to the Zuckerverse over at Facehuggerbook.

So, to answer his question... "Who Owns The Future?"... it seems that YOU do! (And I'd like very much to join in with that Future Owning biz). I'm not claiming I fully get how this all works... but it evidently does. And instead of spending any more time trying to 'get it', it's way past time just to learn by doing.

who_owns_the_future.jpg

So, just a little about me by way of formal introduction. I'm originally from the UK, but nowadays, I live way down in the Southern Hemisphere, fairly close to Antarctica, in a rural part of the state of Victoria, Australia. I call myself Hugo The Poet online, as I like to create rap/poetry pieces - often with videos - and post them out to the cyberwebs. I was involved with the very successful show Juice Rap News on The Juice Media back in the day, but for a number of reasons that I may one day go into, I had to leave that show and go solo.

Juice_Rap_News_main_title_image_(2014).jpg

One of the main reasons I started that show was so that The Juice Media could gain the prominence it evidently deserved in the world. And that has most assuredly happened - that channel continues to grow and go from strength to strength, which is fantastic to see.

As for me, that move to go solo has worked wonders, in the sense that it has enabled me to step away from what little limelight I was in, express myself fully creatively and learn some of the requisite skills to produce the content I want to put out there... or gather trusted capable folk who can do it for me!

On the other hand, there is no doubt that I have not achieved anything like the prominence of the show I was previously involved with. I've made peace with that, and also with the fact that it has meant shifting focus. My wife and I moved to the countryside, and started a family, and as soon as that enormous lifechange was on the horizon, and it was obvious that my creative endeavours were not going to cover the bills etc. I set out on the mission to find work that would.

I found it by working in a Youth Prison, teaching on the music program. I mentor the young men in lyric writing and recording. I do this for half the week, and for the other half of the week, I'm a stay-at-home dad, while my wife does kindergarten teaching.

All this background on me (apart from being no doubt utterly scintillating reading for strangers online!) is a way of saying, between parenting, working, and housekeeping, time is ridiculously tight these days! I don't have a heap of spare minutes for personal creativity.

Nevertheless, it is my intention to change that, and begin engaging with my creative projects again very soon, and posting them here on Steemit with exclusive previews for this forum (like I do for my beloved patrons on Patreon)

In the meantime, I intend to engage as fully as possible with this Steemit platform, and contribute, curate and craft what content I can for you guys.

I love the idea that this is a platform that pays users for their work - because it IS work - providing content and curating the content of others.

I'm more than a little impressed - overawed, even - at what you have all achieved.

I know I'm a little late to the game, but I'm ready to start playing.

If you guys who have more experience than me in this can offer any advice as to how to maximise my efficacy around here, I'd super appreciate it. Also if anyone can chime in on what content from me you'd like to see, that would also be extremely useful.

Well, that's it for me for now. As I said, I'm going to be learning how to use this platform, so see you guys in the threads!

Much gratitude
Hugo

28514476_1566876936695639_345463574695156492_o.jpg

for anyone who wants to check out my work on other forums, I'm on:
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/jonathanswift
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hugothepoet/
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/hugothepoet/memberships
Bandcamp: https://hugothepoet1.bandcamp.com/
Website: https://www.hugothepoet.com

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, I hope you can write, blog, make vids or whatever you wanna do here telling about stuff you experience or want to share :)

thanks, brother. That's my intention! I've definitely been very impressed with the welcome here so far!

Welcome to steem, enjoy your stay.

hi hugethepoet, it’s nice to see new face on steemit, hope you will spread positive vibes in steemit.and keep up the good work on steemit...;-) and be regular on steemit it will make grow you faster... ;-)

Welcome to steemit , upvoted you will regularly do on your good work , for newbie tips and basic information you can check my blog at @adityajainxds

If you want that your post should be curated, join MINNOW POST PROMOTION - FREE UPVOTE,
You will get a 10% upvote from @adityajainxds.
If you like to join the contest please follow @adityajainxds for daily updates.


We have other service also running for minnow support @sunrawhale BidBot , SUNRAWHALE - Send Min. 0.1 SBD or 0.1 STEEM to @sunrawhale : 2.4 hr bidding rounds, Automatically refunds invalid bid!!!
Delegate To @sunrawhale And Earn 90% of SBD Earn Daily, With Daily Payout.
https://steemit.com/delegation/@adityajainxds/invitation-call-for-delegator-and-sponsors-for-sunrawhale-delegator-retun-90-payout-on-daily-basis


You Have My Back.....
Thanks @adityajainxds

Hi, I'm @edosweet. I stopped by to give you a warm welcome to the Steemit platform. I wish you good luck and many good things as you join us.

Thanks! What a lovely message. =D

Great intro, bro!
Fabulous to see you're back in the game...
Upvoted and resteemed!!!
Now I'll let the community I'm connected with know about you...
Have you used discord before?

thanks, bro!
And thanks for the encouragement over there in Zuckbook-land!
As for discord... no, I have no idea! what is it?

Also, we should do a musical crossover jam for this forum, hey??

Yes. We definitely should do a collab. I did 2 collabs with Ben Lee @benleemusic which were awesome and fun!

We should get our bubs together for a playdate sometime soon too...

Re: discord - I'll send you an invite soon - it's a chat room where people from Steemit connect with awesome communities, but it's also a radio station (can claim from APRA etc) and I can arrange for your music uploads to Steemit get put on there, but maybe get used to Steemit first or you might get a little overwhelmed trying to learn 2 new things...

yes to all that!!

Just butting in here :P these are two links to discord chat rooms (there is a lot more to them then just chat), the Open Mic and Pal discords - I think these two would be most beneficial for you at first, hope to see you in there soon :D

Lmao of course you know Hugo :P So stoked he is here now :D We should definately get him on the Open Mic and Pal discords - I think he will love it in there, just stoked this has finally happened <3

@krystle who doesn’t Nathan know? haha That’s what Cope said.

Well, I have been harassing Hugo a lot lately to get back in here.
you're welcome hehehe

Hugo and I go waaay back. Paleolithic times. We’re crypto buddies too. Lol.

I’ll organise for us both to do an open mic collab. I was hoping to just spring the surprise on you, but....

lmao well @ausbitbank made this account for him two years back now (which in steem crypto terms was a different era :P ), so it was well worth you efforts and much appreciation with helping to bring him over - but it is so not surprising to me that you guys are familiar with each other, many cross over similarities :D

Really? That’s amazing!!
When he told me he already had an account I went to check and saw that he’d done one post in 2016 and one post in 2017. I told him he’d be an orca by now if he’d posted regularly since back then. LOL!
Isn’t it a small world? The confluence of seemingly unrelated events that add up to one.
Gotta love that!

Lmao @ausbitbank did those for him, to help and show what could happen here - and yeah super crazy small world here, just love it all added up to this :D

Ah! The thot plickens!
That makes sense!

Welcome aboard mate.
Those prisoners have internet access?
I've been thinking there are a lot of guys who get parole and have nothing to come out for.
A solid stake in our supportive community would offer a bit of extra income while inside, and a way to ease back into society while keeping themselves busy.

Hey!
no, they don't have internet access. the poor blighters are strictly on a media diet of free-to-air TV... worst part of the punishment, perhaps. Not least because it closes them off to opportunities like this, using Steemit, as you describe.
Whenever possible, I mention the potential of Crypto investments to them, as an alternative to burglaries, for example, once they're out. And I'll definitely add some Steemit spiel in there from now on!

What a wasted opportunity. If the goal is to give them something to stay out for, they need the chance to lay some foundations while they're in.
Do you know why they're not permitted internet access?
Is it a funding thing, or are there concerns around potential inappropriate usage?

definitely the latter, matt, on any and all levels - communications, access to inappropriate materials, etc.

Yeah, it sucks - and that lack of laying foundations for outside, while inside, is a common theme, unfortunately.

Woot!!! Finally you are here!! I completely understand the tight squeeze for personal creative time between parenting & all the in between.. but you’ll no doubt see how inspiring this platform is. Big love, xx 💕

Thanks, Maryse! Looking forward to finding out how it all works! XX

welcome to steemit.

Thanks! great to be here!

awesome.... never late to the game brother.. or more accurate to say is.. better late than never...

Haha you're here to @meno :P glad to see you found the awesome mate, hope to get him into Open Mic sometime :D

I announced Hugo’s post emphatically in helpie. Don’t worry. We’ll be doing some open mic collab vibes.

I'm adding some ninja elements to this intro...

@krystle see? Hugo knows what's up.... I sen't him my book...

"A ninja's guide to gardening" a while ago, and he was hooked.

Nice post, I follow you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62