Programmer joined the game

Hi, I'm a developer. I used to write a few blog posts on my website but after I heard about this website I immediately felt in love with it. A social network based on blockchain technology? Hell yeah, of course I must give this a try! :D

Digging my way

At the time of writing this, I still need to do some more research to fully understand how this platform actually works (under the hood). I think I understand the basic idea, but I'm still left with a few questions:

  • Can posts (or videos on dtube) somehow be deleted from the platform? The way I see it, it gets stored on the steem blockhain forever. But would they (the devs) somehow be able to delete it anyways? 
  • Is it possible to change my username? I'm guessing 'display name' in settings is not the same as a username...

If both of these questions are answered with 'no', then I think this might be a reason for people not to join this platform and stay with centralized applications. (More about this in another blog post). Any answers in the comments are greatly appreciated.

My content

I'm not sure yet what ill be posting here. Probably some IT-stuff (duh). On my website I used to write about projects I'm working on & I also wrote a few tutorials about how to use a specific type of software. I might just continue that here.

~ Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

@ictground, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Welcome to Steemit, ictground! I wish you the best journey here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) Have fun

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.
follow us @wallstreethodl for great news and information on all things crypto!
I will be posting an article on how steemit works soon so follow along as it may be quite useful to you!

Welcome @ictground

I take this opportunity to invite you to join STEEMSCHOOLS is a business school in steemit, where you can learn:

  • Publish professionally
  • Generate more profits with your post
  • Earn money just by commenting

We have live classes on DISCORD every day.
JOIN UP https://discord.gg/Sf6YH6j

ALL LIVE CLASS.jpg

Welcome aboard!!! Hope you enjoy your stay here...

Welcome to Steemit ictground. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Congratulations @ictground! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome! It is so nice to have you here with us. If you have any questions just post them here, and I will do my best to answer them. Good luck!

Welcome to steemit @ictground. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

@ictground ...welcome to this great community..I'm positive you'll do well , I've followed you, please do well to follow back..peace!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89