Writing, Rocking Out, and Catching Trout

I slept through the profitable days of crypto yore, like I’m sure many others did too. Probably even some of you who are reading this now. And I did that in favor of mining something far less tangible than even encrypted binary money-data.

It wasn’t a conscious decision at the time. It was actually a series of decisions I’m glad I made because what I found is infinitely higher in value to me—happiness. If it seems like I’m being a bit hyperbolic, I won’t try to convince you otherwise. But since you’re already here, you might as well let me provide you with a sliver of context.

Happiness is something that, despite my sincerest efforts, eluded me for well over a decade. By my best estimates, I was in a severe depression from the age of 13 until I was nearly 30. Finding it has been a process that’s taken over half my life—and nearly took it all—but that’s a can of worms I’m still not ready to open.

But I am grateful that when things got really bad, I never had a problem pulling out a notebook and my favorite pen; or finding meditation in the rhythmical zen of fly fishing; or playing bass or guitar when the frustration and anguish linguistically incapacitated me. Those are still my three favorite things to do in the world. And they were catalytic in starting my healing process. I had no idea who I was or what I wanted. I knew abject failure. I knew disappointment, and shame. But I didn’t know myself or what I wanted out of life, or whether I wanted life at all. So I decided to just keep Writing, Rocking Out, and Catching Trout. At least if I died with a pen, fly rod or guitar in my hands, I’d die doing something I love. And that was my epiphany. Do what you love. If you love it, you’ll keep doing it, and eventually achieve a level of mastery that qualifies you to share it with others. Then they can tap into that same fulfillment and joy for themselves. If it saved my life, it’s powerful enough to save others.

I’ve always been a fairly private person, for myriad reasons. But over the past year or so, I’ve slowly warmed up to the idea of sharing some of the poetry, prose and songs inspired by these trials and tribulations (and more recently, some successes, too!). There is, of course, the catharsis one gets from emotionally unburdening, but that’s always felt more akin to an act of taking rather than giving. So I have done my best to wrap these extreme vulnerabilities in various stylistic devices, such that you might find them somewhat entertaining to read. I have already shared a portion of my work on Cent, nearly devoid of context, because I have no idea what to expect. I was just hoping to make a buck or two. But it brings tears to my eyes to feel my words resonate with someone else so deeply that they take time out of their day to tell me that. Or respond in prose also, which is a kindness so overwhelming I get dizzy and have to sit down.

In the coming days and weeks, I’ll be posting new photos of the original handwritten poems, and adding some context and anecdotes to accompany them. This little project of mine is still evolving, so I encourage anyone and all to respond with comments, critiques, and (especially) some handwritten 6F542AA4-42C6-4674-A858-1C287E4F3D1C.jpeg prose of your own. Hope this beautiful day finds you well.

Sort:  

Hello, Welcome to Steemit 🕊 🕊 🦜

If you like, you are welcome to get FREE SNAX Tokens by following @corenet and commenting the latest post from @corenet 🙏

Link: https://steemit.com/snax/@eos.sweden/get-free-snax-first-1000-followers-of-corenet


Get FREE SNAX Tokens 💰 from Snax BP sweden
Snax-SAMS-Campaign-H10.png

Rules/Conditions:
👉 Step 1: Follow the steemit account @corenet
👉 Step 2: Write a comment to the latest published post by @corenet

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome idontuseapick!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to Steem idontuseapick! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome dear poet, Idontuseapick
to the Steemit platform, Yes its happening you are a steemian now. This is the moment to warm welcoming you as a new user. And you receive this message because you used the #introduceyourself tag!

I was welcomed with good advice too when I started so here i am. I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming right now but don't worry. After a few blog you will be the best blogger and contributor.
If you have any questions just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have!
I may know the answer. But very important I recommend you to never give up any off your passwords they are yours ! Please for safety tips read and visit the white paper.
To easy post use Partiko and to control your account use Steemify.
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and its Free.
It gives you insight on what is happening in your account.
Maybe great to join Steemterminal in Discord and visit @heyhaveyamet to See more newcomers onboard.
Here is what we do :
https://steemit.com/heyhaveyamet/@heyhaveyamet/meet-the-hhym-and-the-steem-terminal-crew-part-one-hhym
Good Luck, Have fun and I wish you loads of success on here! :)
GREETZ from Holland
Britt

Welcome to steemit @idontuseapick.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

This a wonderful work, thank you for sharing it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great poetry friend! Hope your Steemit journey goes well, found you from your Cent post!

Hello @idontuseapick

Welcome to Steem i wish you luck and success.
Below you will find some suggestions.

  1. Pushbook and seven77challenge are initiated by @nathanmars and the purpose of this movement is to increase steem awareness and price. It will cost you only some seconds to be a seven77 member. Read this post.
  2. @paulag's Redfish Power UP League will help you to grow your account
  3. along with @akomoajong 100SP Giveaway
  4. I am using Partiko to check my steem acount from my mobile
  5. Actifit is another great steem app that rewards you based on your daily activity.
  6. If you like card games you should join Steem Monsters. Collect cards, do daily quest or join turnaments. You can also sell your cards for steem. i am sure you will love it as i do.
  7. if not then join Next Colony build your base, extract materials and construct ships.
  8. ok ok ok i've got it. you want to be a drug dealer. Join DrugWars sell your drugs and earn coins.

Feel free to ask anything you want. i will be happy to help you

Congratulations @idontuseapick! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

hello idontuseapick, welcome to steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95