Life Anew - Day 1 - Free write from a free man

volkswagen569315_1920.jpg

Four months ago I went through one of the most devastating times of my life. It was not the worst thing that has ever happened; yet it felt like everything I had worked so hard for was so easily taken from me and I was left with empty hands and a furry companion to share the hardships.

Since then I spent a long period of time battling my lifelong challenges with mental health. The possibility of continuing on with my normal life was no longer an option and I had some serious choices to make. The first was whether to continue slaving away working towards a "normal life". After countless tears and empty bottles I made a decision that that was not for me. It never was. And I needed to do something about it.

So I planned to. And I did not. Not yet. I had been expecting to retrieve some of the small savings I had put away, that had subsequently been taken from me by an evil landlady. I received nothing, and lost more in the process. My plan was to hop in my car with my dog and take off for the west coast, but my financial problems had left me unable to get my car fixed up for the drive. Upon realizing my time was running out, I rented half of an attic-room in my friends house and am living in a dark corner for $200/month until I am on the road.

I had originally intended on driving out to find a new home. Plans change, though. My new goal is to just be on the road. I have lived a fair amount of my younger life on the road, both technically and at times, literally homeless and to be honest I miss every bit of it. Being tied to a job, house, and routine the past however many years has done nothing beneficial for my mental health.

Today I start my commitment to happiness and finding a life that really works for me. Step one is getting that car 100% legal and hitting the open road. Maybe one day I'll find somewhere I don't want to leave. Maybe I'll end up right back where I am. But I want to share my journey with all of you.

I have no plans and it's never felt better.

Cheers

Sort:  

Source
#introduceyourself/#introducemyself

The “introduceyourself/introducemyself” tag is for creating one introductory post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

More information:

The Game of Tags

Hi there @spaminator. I have never used the introducemyself tag before. This is my first post on the website that has absolutely anything to do with myself and I think it is very appropriate to use the introducemyself tag. The only other posts I have written have been contests and I have never introduced myself until now.

I am aware that your service has good intentions behind it. However, this was a very legitimate introduction post. Also, it does not seem right to me that your incorrect bot comment is going to receive 10X the reward that my post will(if I even break the threshold), even though it is almost bullying considering my post was original, legit and took time. So @adm and @sergino, I'd suggest you use your VP in a more fair way rather than support a service that is incorrectly telling me I abused a tag. Thanks.


Welcome to Steemit @impending.doom!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome to Steem, @impending.doom!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3246 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus Points calculation.

Welcome. If you are interested, I leave a link to a platform that pays you with its cryptocurrency just to register and look at its content: https://watch.getalx.com/login?referralCode=RCLNL3
I only ask that if you register you do it with this link that so they pay me some cryptos too. And, of course, it will be convenient to invite your friends with your own link that you will generate once registered.

And another one that is a search engine like google that pays you just for searching:
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=539163

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75