Am I Steeming It Yet? Over a Dozen People Introduced Me!

Why Steemit?

My name's Lance, and this is my first #introduceyourself post. It's taken a while to get started! I heard of Steemit more than one year ago, but my interest has grown over the past months after seeing several of my fave Youtube and Facebook content creators getting censored on those platforms.

I want to give a big shout-out to several Steemians who motivated me to dive into this platform: Jimmy Dore, James Corbett, Jordan Sather, Dan Dicks, Suzie Dawson, Nathan Stolzman, and more. All of these creators advocate for free speech, especially speech that threatens the power establishment. Most of them have been threatened with censorship or have actually experienced it. Watching their struggles to get the truth out makes it obvious that a better platform is needed than FB, Twitter & Youtube.

I've made a small start making some videos on FB and YT, but the "big brother" nature of those platforms don't motivate me to put much effort there. Steemit sounds like a winner, so here we go!

My goal is to participate in the Steemit platform and to grow with it.

About Me

  • San Francisco resident of 22 years
  • Work in the legal industry (intellectual property)
  • Post-partisan truth-based anti-war activist
  • Qigong, sailing, nature

Social Media

Community & Sharing

Without sharing ourselves with each other, life is meaningless.

Sailing-small.jpg

Some of My Favorite Things

  • Kitties - meow! My boys, Jake & Rocco, keep me looking forward to coming home from work every day!
  • More kitties - meow, meow!
  • Sailing on San Francisco Bay
  • Cooking
  • Qigong - literally means "cultivation of life force energy"; think Tai Chi, but deeper and more physically therapeutic
  • Travel - have dipped my toe in Scandinavia the past two years

Rocco-small.jpg

Jake-small.jpg

Favorite Music

  • Classical/Baroque: J.S. Bach, Vivaldi
  • Pop: Charlie Puth, Camila Cabello, Chainsmokers, Cardi B., Nikki Minaj, Post Malone, Disclosure, Shawn Medes, Maroon5, Ed Sheeran
  • House: Armand Van Helden, Todd Terry, Basement Jaxx, Mood II Swing, David Harness, Boris Dlugosch

Favorite NetFlix Shows

  • Marco Polo
  • Gotham
  • Colony
  • Turn
  • Sense8
  • Suits
  • Scandal

Favorite Political Commentators (Youtube, Bitchute, Steemit)

Favorite Causes

  • Palestinian liberation
  • Self-determination for Syria
  • Fighting the Deep State cabal
  • Walking away from the false left-right paradigm
  • Mass awakening and world healing

More Stuff

I have a lot to give, but it takes some effort for me to come out of my shell. I'd like to be inspired to create content (writing, videos) to share myself with the world. I tend to read mostly non-fiction stuff: mostly historical and political, or anything that's based on learning something. That includes anything from the history of the Palestinian struggle for liberation, how to sail, how to trade FOREX (foreign currency trading), etc.

My tendency is to steer clear of groups and groupthink. I gravitate more towards a few deep, intimate friendships. That being said, I realize there's a happy medium of the two.

Ready to start my Steemit voyage now.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @inthecitylance! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to the community! Upvoted to help you on your journey!!


Welcome to Steemit @inthecitylance!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Well this is it! Welcome to SteemIt @inthecitylance! I am picking up what your putting down about central control and free speech. I guess that’s why I’m feeling pretty lucky to have found SteemIt. How about you? 😁

Thanks so much! I'm excited that this is all on the blockchain so it can't be taken down by a central actor.

Glad you are starting to use this platform! That is exactly why I setup this contest: https://steemit.com/contest/@bigdeej/let-s-all-get-active-on-here-again-contest-with-some-big-prizes

I am also the dev for @shadowbot if you are interested, check out our community!

Thanks. I'll check it out @bigdeej!

I download Gotham for free with bit torrent and will not use Net Flix. I love cats.

I'll probably be ditching NetFlix soon. Hooray for loving cats!

Welcome to Steem, @inthecitylance!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3073 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.8 : Rewards and Links tabs on Busy.

Awesome post @inthecitylance how long did it take you to write all of that down? I was going to do a blog post but then I thought I would go for the video option to #introduceyourself

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@geniuscrypto/41bs1pdt#comments

Hi @geniuscrypto. Once I stopped procrastinating (ugh!), it only took a couple hours. As the saying goes, starting something is most of the job! Let me know how the video option works out for you. Will you be using Dtube?

Buen Post, me alegra poder compartir contigo

Congratulations @inthecitylance! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00