An Introduction: What are YOU afraid of?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I’ve been a little m.i.a lately, mostly because of life happening. I’ve also been rethinking what the focus of this blog should be. I want to add value to whoever will be reading my blog and connect with them. So I’ve decided to reintroduce myself and tell you what you can expect to be reading here.

Hi, my name is Sharmaine. Three words that most people would describe me as, would be: thoughtful, adventurous and fearless. Although, I wouldn’t really describe myself as fearless. In fact, I have a lot of fears.

I think about fear often.  It’s crazy how this one emotion can dictate how we go about our daily lives. It prevents us from achieving some of the things we ultimately want – like the job, the relationship, or the change we really need to make.

“Courage is not the absence of fear, but the ability to act in fear.”

I have a lot of fears, but I just learned to embrace it. Having fear is healthy. It is intended to keep us safe, as we are hardwired for self-preservation. However, there are certain fears that can be irrational, all because it’s new and not within our comfort zone. And it’s natural to want to run away, fight, or freeze up. But for me, I want it to dissolve and break open my heart. For when I am at my most uncomfortable, is when I am allowing myself for the opportunity. Opportunity for growth, happiness and most importantly opportunity to have the courage to be imperfect, to be vulnerable, and to be adventurous. I don’t want the fears of life to harden me. If anything, I want it to teach me to be tender and to see the beauty and grace in being alive.

“We’re all scared. Doesn’t being scared let you know that you’re on to something really important? If you’re not scared, you’re not taking a chance and if you’re not taking a chance then what the hell are you doing.”

So what’s this blog about? It’s about doing things in life that terrify me, but still choosing to take a leap of faith that no matter what, everything will always be OK. What I’ll be writing here will be vulnerable and real. And hopefully, in the process, I’ll also be able to inspire someone to embrace their fears too. Because… what’s the BEST thing that could happen?

What are some fears that are holding you back today? 

 ♥ love & aloha
Sharmaine 

-----------------------------

i.sharmainee

Sort:  

Welcome to an amazing platform @isharmaine. Upvoted and greeting from @chanthasam

Thank you for the upvote and the greeting! I am very glad to be part of this community. :)

Hello @isharmaine.
Welcome to the community!!!

In the community, we all usually help each other, that is why I leave you an example here, how to achieve justified texts for your post.

Greetings and have fun! :D

Ahhh! Thank you so much @mrangelm! I was actually trying to figure that out before but it wasn't coming out right. I got it now, thanks to you! :)

Nice! I am very happy to help you, @isharmaine.
I have two posts about this theme (HTML et.). But i wrote all this posts only in Spanish. I will be prepare an English version to all of you.
Regards.

Ahh yes! I noticed your posts were in spanish. I need to work on my spanish but I look forward to the english version for the html coding! Thanks again!

GREAT to SEE you! I guess, welcome aboard the Steemit Train! You are already a great blessing to us all by being on this platform with us.All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Thank you for the warm welcome! :):)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76