Feeling Steemy! I'm Jared from Montana! And I stayed up all night writing this =) it's morningsteemCreated with Sketch.

My name is Jared, I am 30 years old. I live in Montana, US. I was born in Germany, and I love crazy people, especially the kind ones. There's something pretty audacious about Steem. It was just like BHWAM!!! I fucking exist!!!! I dig that, also PS I'm going to be swearing here, I'm rather fond of a good expletive. I really admire the grit there(imagining Steem!). Who knows what will come of it all??? But damn it's cool be here right now in it. I've been seriously enjoying some Lurking this week. And I've had this tender little sprout of a desire to jump in and make my very first post, but it's a bit scary. I'm going to really fucking go for it though.

You don't know, but in person, I am actually 1) sort of shy, and 2) humble (you won't be able to tell here). But I LOVE to write...and I don't do it very often. Also I love the internet. AND because this is an introduceyourself post, it's ALL ABOUT ME!!!!! So this is like the place to go at it as far as I'm concerned. This might be long...VERY long, just a fair warning. It's also going to have lots of pictures, because I love pictures. And I'm going to tell you about ME. So where we were? Ah, yeah ME!!!

It's the happiest, cutest, awesomest picture of me I could find. I think it may actually be my FAVORITE picture of me. Pretty much every other picture of me thats ever been taken is worse then this one, keep that in mind. Tell me I'm fucking adorable!!!! =)

I live in Montana, outside of Helena. Here's a shot from up the hill behind my house.

This is El ChanChan, el puma del norte, now...he's REALLY adorable. Horrible, shameless self promoter. Especially around dinner time.


It gets really cold here. This winter it was around -30f for about a week. El ChanChan was a street kitten in Pucallpa, Peru. My girlfriend, Sydney was adopted by him, you know, he took her under his wing, showed her the ropes.


Sydney! She's the coolest the person I have ever met. You could tell her she's adorable too, but she already knows it. Not humble like me. Sometimes we yell at each other, but mostly not. That salad was our very first road salad, it completely changed our lives. We never thought of salads as road food before that...now we've become quite adept at eating salad anywhere. Seriously, toss that shit in a grocery bag and mix it around. Who needs bowls?

We spent this last summer riding our bicycles from Seattle to Boston along the northern tier.

I've never been on a bike tour before. It was hard, and I'm very happy I did it. I wasn't sure I would make it...Sydney and her Dad wanted to go, it's been his dream for a long time, they're both into it...I'd never been on a bike trip in my life. We went through Washington, Idahoe, Montana, North Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Ontario, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, and Massachusetts. It was 4500 miles, we did it in 2.5 months averaging 82 miles a day(including rest days), our biggest day was about 150 miles trying to outrun a storm in North Dakota. We had 26 flat tires between the three of us.


1984 Trek 720's that were older than I am! Wisconsin had the most mushrooms. More random strangers invited us to stay at their houses in Michigan than any other state. Everyone in North Dakota was exceedingly nice. Fargo is actually way fucking cool town...who knew? My fastest clocked speed bombing a hill was 45 mph. Pennsylvania had more (and harder) hills than Montana or Washington. We camped a lot, drank a lot. I almost hit a deer at 25 mph.

Not that deer though, he's a cute little sucker ain't he???

Okay, onwards and upwards friends. Sometimes when I am listening intently to someone tell a story...I stop breathing. It's problematic. I'm actually fixing to make an Introductory EPIC. If you're still here reading, you've got endurance. I like things that were made to last.

Food is REALLY important to me. I LOVE EATING!!! I also like to feel good. I was going to write something here about how messed up our food system is, but you probably know all that. You all are perfectly intelligent folks, you got eyes and brains, and you know how to use them. Lets just get along to the important things. This is the stuff I GET DOWN FOR!!!

Sourdough bread


These are made with my grandfather's sourdough culture he's had for 60 years, says he got it from someone who rode across the united states in a wagon train with it. I've had it for 10. These loaves are pure sourdough, no bakers yeast, just slow rise bread, the old way. They're really yummy!! I sell them in town for $15 a piece

Raw milk (I've been drinking raw milk for 12+ years)


These ladies generously share their milk with me. They're very sweet, and have the most gorgeous eyelashes!!! This is what fucking organic valley, and dairy gold would like you to think their milk comes from. Only one problem. It doesn't. Whatever the fuck they put on their label, it has one purpose, and one purpose only. That's to make you feel good about buying it. But if you're buying it in a store, it came from here.

Those ladies live, milk, and die chained on that line. It's how it works, some of the smaller producers may have a bit of land for the girls to go outside on, but 50% of the milk produced in the united states comes from dairies that have 1000 or more cows. Between 1992 and 2012 the number of commercial dairies in the US has has dropped from 131,509 to 51,481. It is very clear that the mega farms with more than 1000 cows are much more cost-efficient than the small farms. It is also very clear that there is an ongoing trend for small farms to go out of business and for more big farms to start up.

Cryptocurrencies

but these days, who isn't into them? beh.

Drinking Wild Water


Been doing it for about ten years, I've only gotten Giardia once, it wasn't bad, and i was drinking out of a cow pasture, like when I looked down at the poopy brown muddy pool, pretty much every single cell in my body was like "YO! YOU REALLY SHOULDN'T drink that!!!!" I drank it.) This is where I get all my water, this creek. It's gorgeous, and I love it so much. In the fall all the pine pollen falls in the creek, and makes it very electric yummy tasting =)

Scavenging / Foraging

for food, from gardens, lawns, dumpsters, the side of a highway, whatever

Found this young muledeer on the side of the road....


That's the tastiest part, don't cook it though. I've eaten raw heart from deer, chickens, pigs, moose, elk, coyote, and cows.


I've been working on my pemmican bar recipe. These ones have dried currants, toasted pumpkin seeds, maple syrup, molido chile, cracked pepper, made from the meat we pulled off of that roadkill.

Fucking Flowers!


Flowers are TRIPPY. Those are shooting stars, a very Montana flower! There is this nature documentary called the Power of Flowers, Might be my favorite documentary of all time. It's all about how flowers have radically changed the surface of our planet.

Trust Jenna, she knows

Eating Bugs


They're surprisingly fatty, pulled them out of a bunch of doug fir while splitting firewood.

Women!

guys are alright, I guess.
Ladies, Mamas, Sisters, Girls =) I just have to say. The human race would be so MAJESTICALLY fucked without all of you beautiful amazing females. Your ideas, your intuition and intellect, experiences, your bravery and strength, and the depth of love and gratitude, I am generally in awe of all women, everywhere. And I'm so fucking happy you exist. Thank you for being here. I've been so blessed by wise and wonderful women who care about me, starting with my Mama of course. (no pictures of her, she'd kill me, and she could)

Sydney went to bed hours ago, she was like..."What's so cool about that Steem crap anyhow, come snuggle with me." And I was like, I can't, I'm all jazzed up and rearing full of energy to make my first Steem post ever! I can be one of those friggin cool people too!

You see how exciting this is?!?! It's like that XKCD

Except SOMETHING's RIGHT on the Internet!!!!! Does that strike anyone else, does anyone notice that nobody fights each on Steemit. Is that just me? or are we all high on the wave of fresh fertile crypto-financial lovejuice??? Or is something actually WORKING? Maybe I haven't been around long enough yet, surely the trolls will be on their way.

Build it and they will come


@daniellarimer @nedscott When do the trolls get here?? Surely they're coming.?
An uncensorable discussion platform, where everything said is permanently embedded in our future forever?!
WHY AREN"T MORE PEOPLE FIGHTING?!?? Or saying awful things to each other Seriously though, everyone's just GETTING ALONG! Maybe I should be more incendiary...

Did you see that coming??? :P Are you SMILING yet???? Did I get a smile???? OH YEAH!! YOU"RE SMILING!!!!!!

One last little thing, Sydney and I have been working on this all alone up in Montana for nearly two years!!! It's been SO MUCH WORK! We had absolutely no idea what we were getting ourselves into when we started it. Shit's fucked up. I'm really excited to show you, because we don't get to show it off often, and I get so sick of it working on it, or procrastinating(oh, you're into that too huh?) when I should be working on it. I had no idea....building houses is HARD! Lol =)





I better go to bed. Thanks for reading =) I hope you enjoyed. I sure did.

"There are known knowns. These are things we know that we know. There are known unknowns. That is to say, there are things we know we don't know. But, there are also unknown unknowns. These are things we don't know we don't know."

Sort:  

what a fantastic introduction post, you look absolutely full of energy and life, i love it so much, inspiring glow! Welcome to the great world of steemit, this place is pure awesome, your gonna do well here. Onward on the journey friend.

hi Shavon!!! thanks for the encouragement. Fun music! The garden of EDM stuff, that's nice

Please dont sell your steem that you have made! Keep it ALL in steempower! if you MUST u can take a LITTLE bit of steem but never more than 10 percent! Keep at least 90 percent or ALL in steempower if you can!

the more steempower u have the MORE you will make! I have watched people ike @thejohasfiles here go from $100,000 to $1.4 million dolars in steempower and he doesnt even post! he just comments and curates! u actualy get paid to upvite succesful posts and comment in them! ive sene COMMENTS get $100 or more! its amazing and its not too good to be true..we are all just rewarding the best more deserving individuals and even peopel who try ahrd and dont get much steem, they evetualy start rising to the top!

serously though man, I see this is froom yesterday so in six days youl be getting this Payout (and it wont be the full $360 as its about 90 perccet goes to you and 10 percent geos to "curatrs" or everyone here who upvotes it and who left the top comments!

PLEASE for the sake of your own accounT! DONT SPEND that steem! power it ALL up! and dont be afraid that it will take 14 weeks or 3 and a half months to completely get that money back out into spendable steem! u can totallly wait man1 trust me ifsome peopel act liek they NEED the money that they CANT NOT spend their crypto...well...to that I say..if you had a winning lottery ticket, ut u had to wait 1 year to cash it out foor 1 million dollars...would you Selll it to someone for $1000 just because you "NEEDED" the money? serioulsy noone has to pay for medical procuedures up front, noone is staring in america, NOONE, and if you dont have enough foood or cant afford to eat your just being sadistic and you ENJOY not eating! beause thetres ALWAYS EBt and Food banks and even poor illegal aliens know to get free foood at a food bank to save on groceries so they can buy their cadillacs and save up all theri welfare checks!

look its all relative! and my friend he was so stupd he tried to sell all his money in altcoins!, and i ddnt let him, i straight up told him i would not help him ddetsroy his future! and he came aroound and realied i was right...and yeah i showed him how to buy crypto but i was not gonna show them how to sel it all to pay fuckin bills and lawyer ffees...

seriously wtf how can people get themselves in such a terribel finanial enslavement??

If AYONE tod me I had to pay them and tried to get me to sell my crypto I would just lie and tell them i dont have any money!

seriously our bitcoins are OUR money and not even the IRS can do SHIT to try and tax them!

You cant tax bitcoinbecause what are tey gonna ask for us to pay a tax on the "capital gains" we made from the dollar going down and bitcoinemaining teh same???

yeah just keep bitcoins and never sell for fit cash! i HATE fiat paper money and bans and REFUSE to use them! EVEn thp it would make it easy for me to accept paper money depposist to sell peope bitcoins, its notw orth it since the bak could just freeze my account if they start seeing random depposist from all over the country or world...so fuck them!

and fuck paypal and veno, they will just TAKE your money without ANY explanation!

To the OP this was a great intro.

This is an encouraging comment for the most part and I learned from it. I just need to reply to your reference of "even poor illegal aliens know to get free foood at a food bank to save on groceries so they can buy their cadillacs and save up all theri welfare checks!". I'm sorry but this is an extremely ignorant reference.
Isnt possible that these illegal aliens that are driving nice cars might be busting there asses working 16 hour a day jobs doing work that no one else wants to do? Is it possible that welfare recepients in general are going to food banks because goverment subsidies arent enough to survive on? Is it possible that these people are on welfare because of 50 plus years of liberal policies that discourage people from creating a family by penalizing couples that get married? Is it possible that a machine, that must eat, called the prison industrial complex is incarcerating males at a higher rate than anywhere else in the world? I really get offended when I hear people talking about welfare queeens without having any idea what it is like to live under those conditions.
I am an Amercian born citizen, former US Navy Electronic Warfare officer with a top secret security clearance. My parents are from Puerto Rico and I was born and raised in the projects from Bedford Stuyvesant Brooklyn. Yes there are individuals that are gaming the system but that is the exception and not the rule. The majority of the folks from my old hood are some of the hardest working people I've known.
If I were to pick out one of their flaws it would be ignorance, specifically, institutionally imposed ignorance. The type that comes from substandard, housing, medical, schools and food. I got into crypto to change the pardigm. Ignorance is the biggest evil that can be imposed on a human being. It is a slow torturous death sentence. The worst part is that some of these victims dont even realize its happening to them.
I hope I didnt offend you or anyone else in this thread and I apoligize to the OP for hijacking your inspiring intro. Forgive me.

haha, thanks for the advice @ackza ! I won't be cashing out my steam anytime soon, it's power all the way for me baby!!! I want to be able to help all the new minnows we're going to be having over the next few years :P

You seem like such a nice guy. I love this post about helping the minnows. You give and you get. Very nice. You and Sydney and El Chan Chan have a great day!

... sentiment ""CO-N-FIRM-ED"" !!! - )))
... and so FUN ... i found this quote from YOU toDay )))

ie .... POWERED UP !!! - )))

THAT ITCH ... is a "ZAP" !!! - )))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z )

Welcome my friend to the platform, a pleasure to have you between us. I hope you can enjoy our community. If you have any doubts, you can consult on steemitchat. Good luck and I hope you have an excellent Friday!

I got an email the other day from a lovely friend in Australia named Charlie. She told me you'd been working her up on the awesomeness that is Steemit, and after her telling me about it, here I am. If it wasn't for your Steemit evangelism I wouldn't be here so I just wanted to drop by and say thanks. I'm really happy to have found this community.

Thanks Jonathan!!!! Welcome!!! Super exciting =) I love Charlie, she's a big beautiful wise-lovely person! I can't believe has a baby too...that's crazy. Where do you know her from? I met Charlie in the bay area, while she was staying at PLACE Oakland.

She lives near where I live around the most eastern point of Australia, Byron Bay.

Jared! So good to see you, and get a one-way catch up on you and how you're doing. Your energy transfers here perfectly, you push the bar in the right way! Congrats on taking the leap of faith to post this and share all the inspiring things about your life. People love it!

You highlight a couple important things about the site and community here. I think we will see the service evolve with time as the financial incentive aspect brings in more people beyond the original community. Having an open discussion board will keep that evolution churning. One way votes and a positive crew is keeping things pretty constructive and more personal at the moment. When the early adopter phase passes will more fear come through the gates? I'm really curious as to what the popular articles/posts will shift to as the site grows. I think there's more space for education and interaction here.

Dillon

Thanks for getting me through my coffee this morning!

I gotta get out to Montana! Actually, I might head to Bozeman this next week...

hey Beautiful,

thanks for dropping in =) it's a pretty interesting time. I find myself wondering about the future of it also. in some ways it seems crazy powerful...having a decentralized social network that is owned by the people instead of by a large corporation is kinda wild.

The financial aspect is a pretty big deal for lots of people, it also is bringing in a lot of non crypto people to the sphere. I'm excited, but pretty uncertain as to what the future will bring.

One big hesitation I actually have is that the platform highly incentivizes short-term content on a high rollover (weekly) basis. Which actually isn't the type of content I value most on the internet. I think it really needs to also support people making good longterm deep reference content, tutorials, documentaries, et cetera.

Bozeman huh? I'd love to come kick it for a quick minute. I have some friends over there i like to go see.

glad you're doing well, get my number from Adam if you're heading up =)

Oh my gosh your post brought me so much joy and laughter! Thanks for encouraging me to join the steem community Jared!

Thanks Brookie Cookie!!! I'm so happy you're here =)

@itchykitten Wow, I did even have enough time to finish entire post during first cup of morning coffee. Needless to say, worthy of a follow. Look forward to seeing more from you.

hey! thanks for the warm welcome. That Ido Portal stuff is exciting, thats right up my alley.

Great post. That's how an introduction is done...
I'm drinking raw milk too. Very healty.
Follow you

YES!!! I love it! Thanks! wow, looked at your racer strawberry, you should take the seeds from that one :P

Wow you are pretty crazy...you'll fit right in ;)

i hope so, thanks Neoxian. I like your bars!!!!

I didn't notice this when you posted it but what a great intro! You are so cooky, vibrant, and full of life! This little disabled girl is following you so she can vicariously live through your adventures even if it means she has to see you reaching into animal carcasses. :X

Seriously love this and am going to check out the rest of your feed! ^_^ Thanks for brightening up my feed.

Welcome to Steemit.
I would love to see more photos from Montana, it looks amazing, but please no more hearts, guts etc. ;)

I aim to please Mallorca

This is Bowman lake in Glacier National Park


This is our back yard, laying the foundation for another greenhouse


This is the boiling river in yellowstone national park, I think my camera might have eaten a few mushrooms that day :P


Big Sky Ski Resort outside of Bozeman, it's a wonderful place to skii!!! a bit expensive tho


another from near the top of Big Sky

You're living life to the fullest and it's all because of your diet. I've recently made changes to my diet and have changed enormously as a result. Keep posting!

Tes photos me donnes envie d'aller visiter ton coin de pays!
Your pictures give me the desire to visit your corner of the country!

I'm going in a few weeks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77