Here's my introduction post (finally!)

517BY2QZQRL.jpg

So, here I am (I'm the in the back row, second from right). I'm a musician. I've been a musician for an awfully long time and I'm here on Steemit because it enables me to make the most of my diversified skill set in a way that just being a working bass player doesn't...

I'm getting ahead of myself.

Some background: I was born in the USA in the 1950s. At the age of five, my family left the US for the first time. Due to my father's work, we relocated to Asia where we spent the next four years bouncing between Japan and Okinawa. I attended both Japanese and English-language schools and was fairly fluent in Japanese by the time we returned to the US. We lived in the US for about a year before we moved to Germany (my father's work again). We initially lived in Augsburg and then later Munich. It was in Augsburg that my musical career started. I had taken organ, violin and drum lessons before we moved to Germany. In Augsburg I took up guitar and started playing in a local band. This was in the early 70s. We were covering everything from Deep Purple to Zeppelin to ELP to Creedence and more; pretty much playing all of the music that was popular with kids at that time. We played at school dances, the local teen clubs, private parties, etc. Another local band lost their bass player due to an accident that left his arm in a cast and I was asked to fill in for him because I "...was a better bass player than guitarist." (how or why the band leader came to that assessment is still a mystery to this day). Whatever the case, the bass and I got along very well and by the next Christmas I managed to convince my parents to buy me a bass guitar - a Framus Jazz Bass copy it was. Before long I was going to jam sessions in the city where I was meeting and being mentored by local, expatriate Jazz musicians. This lead to me getting into the house band of one of the many live music clubs playing with a Soul band made up mostly of guys from the West Indies. We played contemporary Soul and Caribbean covers. Four nights a week from 8 or 9 until well past midnight - this didn't work well with my attendance in school. Whatever, I was gigging with real musicians and getting paid. I held on to that gig until we moved to Munich and I arrived in Munich just in time...

We arrived in Munich in 1974. I was enrolled in Munich American High School and got into the school Jazz band which was under the direction of the legendary George Morrison. (So much future Jazz talent came out of that band; Erika Lindsay, Steve Cobey, Francesca Tanksley, the list goes on) . I took over the bass chair from Dave King ("Love To Love You, Baby" and countless other hits) who had graduated. The MAHS Jazz band was a brilliant learning experience. The bass parts from the arrangements I played in that band are still a part of my vocabulary to this day.

While playing in the school band, I was also going to jam sessions in Munich. The city at that time was the epicenter of the Disco scene. There were many recording studios and the musicians at these Jazz jam sessions were also doing Disco recording sessions. Names like Lothar Meid, George Greene and Ken Rhodes were staples at these jam sessions and the studios. It was through this network that I got my first break playing with Silver Convention. From there, I found myself in demand and playing in various bands like Ruby and the Mudflaps and Embryo (among others). I also did a fair number of sessions for Jupiter/Ariola under Ralph Siegel. In addition to Ralph Siegel, Giorgio Moroder and Pete Bellotte were producers I had the honor to spend time in the studio with. Munich was a fertile environment for the up and coming musician and I was lucky to have been there.

A number of Jazz legends were either living in or frequently visiting Munich during that period. Mal Waldron, Billy Brooks, Benny Bailey and Jimmy Woode all lived in Munich while I was there. I had the privilege to hang out extensively with Jimmy Woode; he was like a second father to me. Our relationship went beyond bass lessons. He taught me that I couldn't drink and introduced my to the writings of Ayn Rand. I was at every gig he played in Munich. Always at the edge of the stage following every note and articulation he played. Through my association with him, I got opportunities to play with Johnny Griffin (Jimmy had injured his hand the night before and mid-set motioned me up onto the stage and said, "Jair-Rohm, play the bass."), Joakim Kühn, Tony Scott and Monty Alexander. Jimmy taught me above all else, "You're a human being first.". In other words; musician is something one does, human is what one is and the human needs to be attended to before all else.

Anyway, I left Munich when I was twenty-two to go to New York and become me. By the time I was eighteen I realized that I was "imitating myself"; that I was only pretending to be what people thought I was - namely and American Jazz musician. So, I figured I needed to get over there and get real. Again, I found myself in the right place at the right time.

To be continued...

14 - 1.jpeg

Sort:  

Hey man :)
Am I correct that you speak german after such a long stay in Munich?
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Grüß dich! Ja, Deutsch spreche ich 😁

Sehr gut, dann schicke ich mal @neuvorstellungen mit ein paar Tipps vorbei :)


Welcome to Steem @jairrohm.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome jairrohm!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You are awesome and I love Japan and I was in Vietnam and I liked it and I love to play guitar, piano.

Thank you so much! My brotger’s Wife is from Vietnam so we have family there. More on Asia in my next blog post!

Awesome. Great. Do you like rice0

Welcome to steemit!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much. It’s a pleasure to be here!

Congratulations @jairrohm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
You got a First Vote

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added
Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to Steem jairrohm! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Congratulations @jairrohm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hallo @jairrohm, herzlich willkommen auf Steemit.

Wenn Du Fragen zu Steemit hast, oder Dich mit anderen „Steemians“ austauschen magst, schau einfach mal auf unserem Discord-Chat unter https://discord.gg/g6ktN45 vorbei. Mehr Informationen über den deutschsprachigen Discord-Chat findest Du in diesem Beitrag.

Wenn Du auf Deutsch schreibst, verwende immer #deutsch als einen der 5 Hashtags, um Deine Reichweite zu erhöhen.

Unter dem folgenden Link findest Du einige Anleitungen, die Dir den Einstieg in das Steem-Universum deutlich erleichtern werden: Deutschsprachige Tutorials für Steemit-Neulinge: Ein Überblick

@jairrohm, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24