Jampresents... Myself - An Introduction!

After ten days of testing the Steemit waters, it is time to dive in...

Thanks

Before I go on about myself and some of my interests, I would first like to thank the many people who, in the ten days since I joined Steemit, have been so hospitable and helpful. I have been impressed by members of this community and been struck by the open sharing of such a wide diversity of perspectives and talents - from all around the world. My experience to date on this platform really has felt like being part of the "Global Village."

Educator

I have been teaching high school English, Drama and Media Literacy in Canada for almost three decades now. In addition, I have been actively involved in blended elearning and writing curriculum - all with 21st C learning competencies in mind.

IMG_2693.JPG

“I don't necessarily agree with everything I say.” - Marshall McLuhan

Coach

I have had the privilege of coaching several sports over the years - lacrosse, swimming, tennis, rugby, basketball, cross-country running and, of course, ice hockey:

Plankedit2.jpg

“You miss 100 percent of the shots you never take.” - Wayne Gretzky

Musician

I have played in a number of classic rock and jazz bands, kids' acts and Beatles tributes over the last few years. Currently, I am excited about writing songs for a collaborative, inquiry-based, musical theatre production for middle school students called The Tikbalang and Me. Stay tuned for more about this project in the days to come.

jampepper2.jpg

“If music be the food of love, play on.” - William Shakespeare

Serious Fun?!?

A few “fun facts” about me:

  • Favourite Colour: Purple
  • Favourite Food: Maple Syrup
  • Most Unfortunate Gig: Played trombone in a school band during a Papal Audience. Sadly, the Pope (Paul VI) died shortly thereafter - hopefully, our music had nothing to do with it. Btw, I suppose it would be inappropriate to brag we had a "killer show" that day in the Vatican. Right? ;)
  • Oddest Job: A several month stint as coach for a club synchro team...

synchronized-swimming-2637918_640.jpg

“So many books, so little time.” - Frank Zappa

Looking forward to sharing ideas, stories and songs while learning a bit more about so many fascinating people from all around the world.

Play on!

Sort:  

Nice mixture you present of yourself, I like what I read! looking forward to your musical contributions - Welcome and have a good time :)

Much appreciated! Likewise, I look forward to your next song on Dtube!

You are one talented gal, @jampresents!!!! Our fellow steemians will surely learn a lot from you! Welcome!!!

Many thanks - you are too kind.

By the way, @smaeunabs you are pretty talented yourself! I love your writing and artwork.

thank you sooo much! you seem to be a very talented person too!

Thanks for the reply and you are right about understanding the various nuances of the platform. Thanks for the link too. Al the best.

Hey welcome to steemit, we invite you to check out and vote our last post

Many thanks - will definitely check it out.

Welcome on steemit :-) If you have any questions just click to follow and ask :) lets help each other by following each other...hope u have a great time in steemit.happy posting...

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Lets follow n helo each other to grow

Welcome on steem!

Thanks so much. I enjoyed your "Time lapse" animation post today. :)

Nice write up. I played a lot of rugby both in Canada and here in Japan. And, as one of my write-ups shows, I still play hockey here!

This is a fantastic introduction post! I look forward to seeing more of your content. I am in Boot Camp with you and wanted you to know I entered your post into the GoGoGadget daily bounty contest HERE

I think you picked a great time to Dive In and I think you are going to do quite well! I am glad to be jamming with you here on Steemit!

Steem On My Friend!

Great intro post @jampresents! Thanks for joining Steemit! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @castleberry sent me in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56