To Steem or Not to Steem, That is the Question

Okay, my apologies to Hamlet on my borrowed (stolen?) title.

Several months ago I started at Steemit, full of enthusiasm for this friendly site with interesting articles. More than a site, a community. More than a community, Steemit is a culture.

I was so enthused, I blogged about Steemit on my site and inspired people to come here.

https://www.mostlyblogging.com/steemit/

The exciting part was I saw money in my wallet. I believed Steemit had potential for me to monetize.

The disappointment came when I realized Cryptocurrency (bitcoin?) was experiencing a crash.

I saw the little money in my account rapidly fall. I spent 15 hours at Steemit one week just to see my wallet get lower and lower.

I wrote what I thought was an interesting post about technology taking over people's jobs just to get .05 cents.

When I complained to friends, they said they were losing thousands.

I understand everything is relative but I gave up vowing to return when the money rises. Is it rising yet??

I heard it can take months to see a turnaround.

A friend advised me to write another introduction post. That is what I'm doing now. I'm trying, in essence, to start over.

Here I go:

Hi! I'm Janice. I love to write about technology off my blog. If I'm brave, I'll write about the news. I don't want to offend anyone with my opinions.

On my blog, I write about social media, blogging, writing, productivity, and technology for bloggers. My headshot cruise ipad bad.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about how to succeed on steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment and non plagiarised posts
https://discord.gg/WaeJXmE
Join the discord channel today and learn something in the academy of life

Thank you. I've been very frustrated. For example, I don't understand. I wrote this; you commented. Why does it say I've made zero cents? Wouldn't it say I've made something? If I could just see my wallet go up, I'd be motivated to keep at this. Thanks for the link. I'm already in several groups, but I'll try.

An example of why I've been frustrated and confused: my follower count has doubled since I started here but I've lost half my money! My wallet never goes up at all.
Janice

I clicked the link. I need Steem School for sure. Thank you.

Text on the discord channel and ask for queenerica....i will talk to u there ok? Don't be discouraged keep pushing

Hello and welcome to Steemit. I'm still a beginner, I follow you and I hope you too will follow me, I'm glad to new acquaintances. I wish good luck in the development of your blog!
Upvoted your post! 😉

Hi Dmitri,
Thanks for your support-- we can learn together. Are you confused like me? For example, my follower count has doubled since I started here but I've lost half my money! My wallet never goes up at all. I followed you. Thanks for your follow.
Janice

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and you are awesome.

Hi @janicewald, I saw your post in #steemsugars :)

It can be disheartening that the Steem price (or rather, most cryptos) is going down. But if you put aside the money aspect for now, and focus on the community, the time and energy you spend here will be a worthy investment on the platform (in the long run). Most of us do believe that this is just a season, and are pushing through, focusing on the other aspects of Steemit that make it such an amazing place.

Hope to see you more in Steemsugars :)

Cryptocurrency is confusing, there's no doubt about it! But I am glad you're here, because I really do think that persistence and quality content (both of which you're amazing at!) pay off here.

Janice,

I feel your pain as I was also in your boat. The potential is here if we ride it out. My suggestion is to sell SBD for steem power while price is low. This makes your vote power worth more. I hope you stick around. Following.

Stephen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72