Hello Steemians! Greetings from a writer, explorer and professional dreamer

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I’m really excited about joining this platform. I’ve been lurking on Steemit for the past several months like a creeper and finally decided to join.

So hello! My name is Jasmine and I am a blogger at jasminewanders.com. I’m passionate about living life on my own terms and helping others do the same. I believe that dreams are worth pursuing and it’s never too late to start.

Image of Jasmine

In 2008, I booked a one-way ticket to New Zealand with $1,000 to my name. I spent the following 6.5 years traveling around the world and living overseas.

I’ve been to Trinidad, New Zealand, Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Guam, Italy, Canada, Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru.

Four years ago, I moved back to the U.S., got married and had a son. Now we’re putting our stuff in storage and moving to Medellín, Colombia for a few months with plans to travel afterward.

Why I’m on Steemit

I mentioned before that I blog. I launched my travel blog in 2010 and wrote there for four years. I started it because I wanted to show people that knew me before that it was possible to live a life of continuous travel and that you didn’t have to be a millionaire to do it.

After I moved back to the U.S., I stopped blogging. My blog was dormant for four years until I started writing there a couple weeks ago.

I started blogging again because I am writing a book. That’s the dream that I’m pursuing. The book is about hitting the reset button and starting life over (which I mentioned I’m very passionate about!). And building my blog up again will hopefully attract people who will want to read my book too.

There are a lot of things that I want to write about that don’t necessarily fit on my blog. There I post narratives and personal stories and things I hope will inspire people. Here I’m going to write about travel and marketing and blogging and the things I’ve learned (and will learn!) through spending most of my 20s on the road.

I have a daily writing goal of 1,000 words a day and I'll make sure a lot of that ends up here.

Image of Jasmine verified

Me + Crypto

I got into crypto about a year ago when one of my marketing clients offered to pay my husband and I in Bitcoin. We didn’t know what it was at the time but we were like sure! We treated it like cash and spent it as fast as we earned it (back when it was worth about $2,000).

Image of gif

Over time I started researching and learning more about crypto and the technology behind it. I believe that crypto is the future and that we are in the infancy of its power. I can’t wait to see how the new crypto world develops and to be a part of it.

I love how Steemit rewards content creators unlike all the other platforms out there. I’m looking forward to being a part of this community, learning from you all and contributing to the platform.

Oh yeah, according to the articles I’ve read about the introduce yourself post I’m supposed to prove I’m a real person. Here’s a picture of me as proof :) Also here are some of my other social media handles: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Image of Jasmine verified

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @jasminewanders!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thanks for the links and the welcome @introbot and @bycoleman

Welcome to Steemit Jasmine! You're such an interesting person and I'm sure that Steemit will give you a lot of satisfaction, considering the prolific writer you are and all the awesome experiences you have gathered in your adventurous life.. In this place you need to endure in order to engage you audience and grow but it's not impossible for someone capable to create good content! Please in case you need help do not hesitate and ask me! I also run a small fiction writing contest..feel free to give it a peek :-)

I also want to talk to you about an awesome community: the @greetersguild! The @greetersguild is a caring group of steemians whose mission is to follow newbies and help them. We at @greetersguild genuinely want to see users learn, earn and grow. Here's the discord chat link: https://discord.gg/
Join us and let's have fun and grow together!

Thank you for the advice! I'm definitely in it for the long haul.

Thanks for telling me about the fiction content. I haven't tried fiction yet but I've been curious too. I might enter one of these days :)

you're welcome! It's a way like others to create a sense of community and I share steem dollars (contests are good for beginners, you will need SP to have a voice here). I'm sure you'll do great things .. all the best!

Greetings, jasminewanders! Best wishes for an awesome journey here in this loving and caring community :) All the best!!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thanks so much! I'm gonna check those out.

Welcome to steemit @jasminewanders. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Comment removed

Welcome to Steemit, @jasminewanders! :) Hope you'll enjoy it here!

Jasmine, you are lovely, and yeah, I have some Bitcoin, and investing can be tough abd it is an adventure. Love your smile.

Haha too true! I guess we're all learning.

Hey Jasmine, awesome to know you've travaled for so long, I hope to read about your journeys here. It's also nice to see you on the Discord channel!

Best wishes from a traveler friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66