First step on Steemit!

Hello Steemit Community!

face200.jpg

My name is Jeni. I have heard a lot about this platform from my friend @wildflowerjessi and figured it might be a fun thing to join. Then I attended a meetup and realized this is definitely something I want to get involved with. The meetup was such a great time of just sharing ideas and thoughts with amazing people that I wouldn't get to run into on an average day, but thoroughly enjoyed. @ursa @minismallholding @mattclarke @isabeldorastorey @o07 @holoz0r @svitlaangel just to name a few. So here I am looking forward to meeting even more people.

What am I going to post about? Probably whatever has got me thinking when I have to time for writing. I am a bit of a mixed bag of a person. I have spent my life spread across 3 continents; North America, Africa, and Australia. More specifically Canada, Ethiopia, and Australia. There are plenty of other countries i have visited or spent time in, but these are the places that have formed me. I am a mail order bride....Just kidding :) I met my husband while we were both working in South Sudan and decided he was wonderful enough to follow down here. I am a mother of two boys and am 5 years into my adventure as an immigrant.

But the bottom line is that I love conversation. A time when people with different worldviews and opinions can share their differences with each other. I don’t think a good discussion is decided by people ending up in agreement. But when people can see the reason for another person’s idea or belief it goes a long way to understanding that person’s humanity. As I have been looking at steemit from the outside I see a place where this kind of conversation could happen. In so many social media platforms difficult topics are met with shout-downs and declarations of 'stupid' but, the environment within Steemit could be a great place for the meeting of differences. Not for battle, but for listening and understanding.
Most of my posts will be asking questions. Sharing my perspective and hoping that you will engage in the conversation. I may not always dig deep or hit the hot button topics, but the humanness of our collective experience is so much more than what is popular right now. So you will probably see questions of identity and culture, of context and perspective, and of preference and logic. From the simple and possibly comical to the things that we value deeply.

So Steemit community, I hope that you will engage with me and with each other in this experiment of experience.

Sort:  

Yayyyyy Jeni I’m so glad you are here 😊 Welcome!! And I look forward to your posts!

Welcome! The conversation with you was delightful, and I'm looking forward to having many more! I'm glad we convinced you that we're a good bunch of people!

Thank you! I am looking forward to it as well. Many good conversations to come!

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Welcome Jeni. So happy you enjoyed your first Adelaide meet up. Look forward to meeting you in the near future.

Welcome to Steemit platform, from all of us in promo-nigeria. Steemit is a beautiful place to be and we are sure you will be happy here. Get to know more by blogging consistently. Never be discouraged, seek for assistant when necessary. Cheers!

Thanks @promo-nigeria. I have felt so welcomed here. I will keep up with posting as I can. Thank you for the encouragment!

Welcome Jeni,

Great to have you on-board after meeting you a few weeks ago.

I look forward to discussing Tim Hortons with you in great detail lol.

If you need any help or support don't hesitate to reach out :)

Thanks @o07 next meet up we can parse the difference between the hockey career and the coffee chain :)

Hello, welcome ... I invite you to our chat discord, we help new users to grow. We have live classes in Art, Business, Cryptocurrency, Leadership, Karaoke, poetry, there are many contests and many great people willing to help you will be welcome if you wish. https://discord.gg/JbGbP8D

Thanks @anaiscarolina03. I'll look into it.

Welcome, jeniwonders! Best wishes for a very successful journey here on Steemit! Enjoy

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Hey Jeni :)
Glad to see you jumping onboard. It's actually a great time to pick up followers. When the price drops (crypto is down across the board), we tend to see a reduction in posting, which means people are on the prowl for new authors to follow :)
It was lovely to meet you at the Jade, @holoz0r and @ursa were particularly impressed with your quick intellect and insightful perspectives.
If you're stuck on anything, please ask.
I look forward to hearing more of your thoughts.

Thanks Matt! I am really looking forward to figuring my way around. I will definitely have many questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94