Finally, I can write something

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I have not written anything publicly in a longer format since 2 years ago , except for some tweets here and there. I am not sure of the reason why this is so, but it's probably because once I'm on the internet, there is just a lot of information that I would like to absorb and learn, and thus it interferes with my ability to express what's on my mind.

Information interferences, and coupled with the fact that most of the time I'm inclined to only write anything practically useful, or at least I'm under the influence that anything I produce has to be practically useful. This certain way of thinking comes from how I perceive my domain of work in the software industry and community, which has and always will be striving for best practices, relevancy, coherence, concrete goal and result, and so on, and so forth.

That is not bad in itself, as for the sake of the progress of software industry, we have to achieve determinism. As when a system, software, development process, or whatever is not deterministic, then we won't be able to visualize or understand such system. When software eats the world, and we can't control or understand it, our system may or will eventually breakdown. Imagine the chaos and catastrophic implication of that, and how many dollars will be lost in the process. That is if we're still using fiat as a currency instead of another esoteric, unpredictable system which we call cryptocurrency.

Anyways, now I'm not writing about software. What brings me to steemit more often is these articles and posts related to cryptocurrency (but I won't be writing about this as well), psychedelics, and notably DMT. There have been lots of posts, articles, art work, and videos related to DMT. I myself was intrigued by the visualization that it can present to its takers, and I sort of intuitively understand why these psychedelic experiences are very special to them. But, as I'm not a biochemist or neuroscientist, I wouldn't try to write anything related to the inner workings of these chemical substances as many others did.

I could also draw correlation of these experiences to famous movies of our time such as The Matrix and Dr. Strange. I could see how the protagonist in these movies experienced an altered state of consciousness in a dramatic manner. Although the important difference is none of these psychedelic experiences influenced by DMT are entangled with our classical reality. Whatever we see and do in such alternate consciousness — whatever we want to call that, alternate reality, parallel universe or unreal — will not affect entities that are entangled in our immediate familiar — I'd like to call it classical — reality.

As fun as the idea can be, we can't levitate as Dr. Strange or Neo did in the Matrix, we can't manipulate our surroundings, bend spoon, or stop bullets from flying to us. Although, we can perceive shared concepts, alternate reality with other DMT takers, akin to a religious experience. Now where does these all experiences actually come from?

Are they only similar among cultural groups? I have read DMT experiences where the takers encountered machine elves, aliens, dancing gypsies, where these concepts are usually common among people who grew up with those ideas. But, I'm not aware of how does different culture experienced DMT, such as the Japanese (would they meet Pokemons? or whatever cute anime character that they always dream of), Chinese (I couldn't imagine what dreams do they have, probably Buddha), or anyone who is quite isolated or have been ignoring our modern pop culture.

As DMT is illegal, and I'm not a scientist, the probability to understand the variation of these experiences across culture is almost zero. That's all for now, I would write something more, once there's any progress on these topics.

Sort:  

Hello jessearmand! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Hello @jessearmand. It's nice to see you here!

Welcome back Friend!
Follow for You!

Welcome to Steem, @jessearmand!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3382 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.19 : Updated Boost Button - Collaboration announcement - Earn more with SteemPlus points.

Hey jessearmand! If you would like to see what the current trending content and topics on the internet are consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts to make your personal feed more fun and informative.

Hi Jessearmand

Welcome to Steemit, and good luck on your Steemit adventure. If you are into drones, drone photography and cryptocurrencies, you are more than welcome to visit my channel.

Have fun! Stormrider75

Nice article! It's too bad that steemit is really encouraging buying/selling votes to bots. I use steemengine which is more of a vote for vote system and it seems to work but I rather good content stick out by itself..!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Hi Jesse,

This is a lovely introductory post, Thank you for taking the time to write the post and say hello to the community!

I am here to help!

I would encourage you to keep posting and comment on others users content to help make a name for yourself and to get the most out of the platform!

Feel free to comment on my content and I'll up vote your comments! Drop me a follow so you can comment a lot and get a lot of my upvotes!

I have upvoted your post!

Luppers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75