I am Jkat! My Journey From Pregnant at 16 Till Now!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Welcome to my blog!

Hello my fellow steemians! My name is Jenna! I am married to @theessential.

95AA92DB-0E14-48D3-BFD4-F05755913419.jpeg

I have a 5 year old son who will be 6 this May! You’re probably wondering why I am here. Well, let me tell you:

I was 16 years old when I became pregnant with my son. Still being a junior in high school, I had no idea what I was going to do. The current relationship I was in had been extremely toxic. I tried to make it work, but soon realized I had to do what was best for me and the sweet baby I was growing.

Word got out extremely fast around school. I didn’t mind too much. I could usually just ignore the comments being made around me. As my belly grew, so did my excitement. I may have been young, and I definitely had no idea what I was doing, but there is something amazing about growing a human being inside your own body.

A0193C46-15F2-4D41-AAF0-CF2D90809588.jpeg

When I was about 30 weeks pregnant, my body decided to start having contractions. After arriving at the hospital, it was revealed that I was in fact in preterm labor. I was so scared. I was admitted to the hospital and immediately put on magnesium to try and stop my contractions. That was probably one of the worst weeks of my life. I wasn’t allowed to leave my hospital bed. I wasn’t allowed to eat. I couldn’t even have ice chips. At the end of the week, it was all worth it. I finally received good news! My contractions had stopped and I was able to go home! I was put onto strict bed rest but the remainder of my pregnancy went smoothly.

At this point I was no longer able to attend the end of my junior year. I was extremely lucky to have a teacher who was willing to gather all of work and bring it to me. I was able to finish my junior year of high school!

On May 29th, 2012, my sweet baby boy was born! He was absolutely perfect in every single way!

CA90891C-169A-4539-8E98-D6C4C53A69E5.jpeg

When we were released from the hospital, I knew I had to set some boundaries. I set a schedule for when my son’s dad could come around. Though, he didn’t stop by too often and visits were usually cut short.

Before I knew it, I was starting my senior year of high school. I was extremely lucky to be in a school that allowed me to finish my classes online.

In May of 2013, I was able to celebrate my graduation and my sweet little’s first birthday! I was so proud of myself! I had done it!

2893CB94-A82F-40D1-BAB4-79E8645A771E.jpeg

After graduation, I was determined that I was going to go to nursing school. I signed up for the local community college and began taking pre-nursing classes. I started my clinicals and almost immediately knew that I wasn’t in love. After some thought, I decided to go to cosmetology school. I began that journey in July of 2014!

I thought I had found my passion! During my time in school I got to do so many exciting things!I had the opportunity to work for fashion shows, exciting school events, and even a drag show! I was determined to conquer great things.

23B81578-A5A0-4AFE-8C36-EA8F23A1F842.jpeg

During my journey into the art of hair, my life was turned upside down. I received court documents in the mail. My sons dad wanted shared parenting. I was absolutely devastated. In all this time, his dad had visitation. I never denied him time. He was not steadily around for the first few years so I was very taken aback when I received these papers. We do not agree on parenting styles. So we spent a long time in the court system.

In July of 2015, I graduated cosmetology school and in august, I passed my boards, During that same week, I met my husband.

56F5CD5C-6D8A-4E59-9E7C-A924B6354D2B.jpeg

Aside from the ongoing court dates and lawyer fees, my life seemed to be going in the right direction.

On September 6th, 2015, @theessential asked me to be his girlfriend. He was my rock. When I introduced him to my little, they were instantly best friends.

FC5E1733-21DC-4733-B6DF-3E8428A3CE56.jpeg

In December of 2015, I was hired at a salon that I thought would be the answer. I began a year long training program. At first, I loved it. It was very hard but I was convinced that once I got my chair I would be okay. And for a while, I was.

In September of 2016, @theessential proposed! My little and I were ecstatic to have such an amazing man in our lives!

CB3FBAE2-9BCE-4CF0-84A9-B2073A5AA822.jpeg

After a very long year of wedding planning, we finally tied the knot!

Not long after our wedding day I started realizing that I was unhappy with my job. I wanted the ability to stay home with my family. I wanted the freedom to be apart of my family’s life. So that brings me back to “why am I here?”I am here to write. To share my journey with you all. I am here to persue my dreams and make them happen. I am @Jkat.

If You enjoyed reading my post as much as I enjoyed writing it, show your support by commenting, following, and re-steeming!

Sort:  

Wonderful story!

Thank you!!


Welcome to Steemit @jkat!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hello everyone- this is my wife and she is the wisest, most beautiful, most amazing woman I know!

You should definitely follow her!!

No doubt about this @theessential my mentor. Shine on💞💖

Really love your story! I have a little one on the way myself so It was quite inspiring reading through your lifes endeavours!
Welcome to Steam by the way!

It would be amazing if you could check out my fresh new blog series and drop a comment or advice on my writing!

Thanks so much!
I will definitely check it out!

Welcome to steemit Jenna ! I'm happy that everything turned out so well for you :) Looking forward to read more about your journey, followed ^^

Thank you! I’m really looking forward writing more! Thanks so much for your support!

Welcome to steemit,a community for positive people just like you,trust me you'll enjoy every bit of it...Looking forward to reading your blog

I’m really looking forward to making more post! I really enjoy writing!

Hi! I think you have a great courage! I admire you! I hope happy marriage and successful Steemian life! Upvoted

Thanks so much! I hope we have a long and happy marriage too!

Thanks for sharing your story! My wife is 10 weeks and 2 days pregnant. We are pretty excited.

Having a baby is such an exciting thing! I can’t wait to have more with my hubs! Congratulations to you and your wife!

You received 5% of upvote for FREE from @rashley01! We upvote post for FREE to support the New Steemit author. Vote percentage is based on the Quality of the Content.
Follow me to get atleast 1 upvote on your post.
You can also Vote @rashley01 as your Steemit Witness

Read/Support my recent post here:
Illustation Blog:
My GRANDMOTHER smells
Photo Blog:
Chasing Pavements
How to love a man
Support me in Photo Contest:
Washington Dc Cherry Blossoms
Lights of Busy City
Untitled-3.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67