Hello Steemit! Music Producer/Gamer/Livestreamer here! Help me get a puppy?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians!
I'm Jonah, 23 years old living in NYC.
IMG_2596 (2).jpg
It’s fair to say I’ve always been a child of the internet. When I was in highschool I would spend much of my free time alone in my room wearing a spiderman mask, sitting at my yamaha keyboard, taking song requests from random strangers on chat-roulette. Since then not too much has changed. In 2013 I stumbled upon a livestreaming website called YouNow.com. I made the tough choice of leaving my spidey mask behind, grabbed my keyboard and guitar and hit the “go live” button. In my first broadcast I had maybe 6 or 7 viewers, but I had the BEST time getting to connect with those people. I was sold on livestreaming but I never could have expected what would follow.
In under 6 months I had surpassed 100,000 followers on YouNow. I became partnered with the platform around which point YouNow would ask me to represent them in interviews, press releases, and even series pilots. http://mashable.com/2016/01/15/younow-roker/#SNB1vMUsBPqx
Soon after I was picked up by a few social media tours where I had the opportunity to perform around the country, record my first album Extrospection and even open for Demi Lovato at Citi Field for DigiFest 2015.
extro3.jpg
While in the process of recording my second album, I learned some harsh lessons about the music industry, working with the wrong producers and ultimately the project fell through. This was a very humbling experience and I decided to take a break from social media in order to further educate myself about production. I enrolled in a program through Berklee College of Music where I received a Master's certificate in commercial songwriting and music production. The following summer I began (and still am currently) working as an audio engineer at Platinum Sound recording studio in midtown NYC. At Platinum I’ve had the opportunity and privilege of working with and assisting some incredible people such as grammy winning engineer Serge Tsai, producer Jerry Wonda and legendary artists like, T.I., Mario Winans, Kendrick Lamar, P. Diddy and Mary J Blige.
The path of a music producer so far has been full of excitement, creativity, and instability, and I still have A LOT to learn, but I finally feel confident enough in my knowledge and experience as a producer as well as a live broadcaster to return to social media and share my experiences with you all again. And what better place than steemit right?

So here’s what I’m doing:

I’ll be streaming live (still undecided on the platform- open to suggestions) at least 3 days a week.

MusicMonday- Using Ableton Live software and OBS we (the chat and I) will literally create a song together from scratch. You guys will have the final say on all the instruments, lyrics, melodies.. and at the end of the stream, I will GIVE AWAY THE SONG to my subscribers.

WildcardWednesday- Always a mystery! This day will be more open to creativity and will be different every week.

FunFriday(working title)- Gaming day. Did I mention I’m an extremely passionate gamer? I have an Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, PC, and Oculus Rift! I plan on playing a whole multitude of games with you guys, but my current faves are Overwatch, Rocket League, Echo Arena and vrChat.

I’m still brand new to steemit, but I’ve already came across Dtube and it seems like the perfect place for me to post my streams and/or highlights for people that can’t make it live, and I’ll definitely be looking more into that.
The livestreams are 100% free and always will be but they take a lot of time, energy and preparation so if you would like to show your support (and get some sweet rewards) please consider checking out my patreon https://www.patreon.com/JonahLesnick

My girlfriend @devohier and I would really like to raise a puppy someday but we don’t currently have the funds to responsibly provide for one. If I can get to 5,000 steemit followers or 1,000 Patreon supporters (whichever comes first) and it’s economically feasible, we will get a puppy and post daily pictures and videos of its training and development! A follow keeps the dream alive <3
meandd.JPG

My ultimate goal is to grow a community of people who are SuperDope.
To be SuperDope means to be positive, accepting, and to recognize that everyone is super dope!
To be a part of the community, just use the #SuperDope tag when you post and make sure to upvote others using the tag to support the rest of the fam!

My YouNow page: https://www.younow.com/JonahLesnick/channel
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/SuperDope
twitter/instagram: @JonahLesnick

I’m so hyped to finally be a part of the steemit community and I’m super excited for all the friendships and fun times ahead! Thanks for taking the time to read all this! You are #SuperDope!

Sort:  

Yay!! I'm so excited ^_^
Happy to be apart of the SuperDope community!!

Thanks Devo!! Hope steemit treats us nicely!

Jonah is the coolest and funniesy guy ever. He does awesome broadcasts on YouNow! Love him!

Thanks sara! So glad you were able to make the jump to steemit!

Jonah is the coolest guy and the best younower

Thanks Olivia! So happy to see ya here on steemit! <3

Welcome to our gamer\geek community dude)

huge geek here! SO hyped to meet the rest of the community!

welcome to the club, jonahlesnick

Thanks very much, lopezdacruz! Excited to get started!

Not bad for a first effort. But, you've got some content creation experience. Formatting would be my only suggestion. Break up the paragraphs, create more white space. Try Markdownpad2 for editing, It's far superior to the one here. @markrmorrisjr

Hey there! I really appreciate the reply. While I have some streaming experience, blogging is something I'm completely new to, so I'll definitely look into Markdownpad2. Thanks so much for the helpful tip!

No problem. I have a son about your age that's a Youtube streamer, 8bitninja. I do anything I can to help you guys, what you're doing to reinvent work is beyond amazing.

I just took a peek at his channel! I'm extremely impressed! His content seems really well made, and right up my alley! subscribed He's lucky to have a father that supports him in this strange/unstable new field. My parents took a bit to come around when I told them I wanted to pursue music but I'm so thankful they're on board now =)

Uh, well, his best month to date was $30k so, I'm really looking for him to support me, LOL! No, just kidding. I've always pursued my passions to the best of my ability. He started that in high school, got up to a few hundred a month, then stopped, went to college for three years, finally realized he was already doing what he loved and the guys he'd been working with then were killing it now, so he busted his butt to get back up to speed and his slow months are in the $4-5k range now. The potential in the attention economy is unreal. After teaching drama, voice and stagecraft to over a thousand kids, here's my advice. Build an audience. Build an audience. Build an audience. That is the gold in today's economy. People with an audience can do anything. Most of the top posters here are in the top, because they imported a million or more YouTube fans (not all of them obviously) so, yeah, it's not really hard for me to support.

It's wild how your son and I have such similar stories. Some of my social media friends that I started out with are also killing it right now, almost making me wish I never left, but I know ultimately it was important for my education and development. Thank you for the sage advice. I think you're absolutely right. I could not have accomplished anything without the support of the people watching me. I'm still blown away that there are people who remember me and that have been keeping up with me even during my "hiatus." I'm extremely excited and motivated to get started again, and who knows, maybe I'll have the privilege of collaborating on something with your son some day!

Well, I don't think the two of you are alone. But, I think most guys just sit and reminisce about what could have been, instead of picking back up and getting it done. Good luck, see you around!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Jonah is the best!!!!

haha thanks hailz! YOU'RE the best!

I’m new too! Hope we both figure this out quickly together!!

Agreed! Welcome to you too bro!!

Welcome, following you - hope you can follow me back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68