Hey! Josephwrites here, and I Have Big Plans For This Blog!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey Everyone! My name is Joseph and this is a little about me:


I am a 23 year old from Florida who is currently living in Barcelona to teach English.

On Mt. Tibidabo in Barcelona:
IMG_1829.JPG

I graduated from Florida State University with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in English Education. I decided to move to Barcelona because I wanted to experience a new country and its culture after living in Florida my entire life. I teach private English lessons in the small town of Castellbisbal, and live with a host family. In my free time I enjoy writing, drawing, playing guitar, and watching movies. I am excited to join this community because it seems like such a great for content creators to reward each other!

My Plans for This Blog:

I plan to use this blog to write short stories, share art, and the thing I am most excited about: host a cartoon caption contest.

Short Stories: I have already shared two short stories of mine, one can be read in less than 5 minutes, the other is a bit longer. I enjoy Sci-Fi, but rarely write it, the story I posted is an exception. I will primarily write Flash Fiction, which is generally a story that fits onto one page, or is under 2,000 words.

Art: I wouldn't exactly call my drawings art, maybe good doodles is more fitting, but I will submit my drawings occasionally. My profile picture is a portion of a drawing I made awhile ago called "Shy Nudist."

Here is the full drawing:

old full1.jpg

Caption Contest: I want to host a weekly cartoon caption contest that will give exposure to artists and commenters alike. In the beginning, I will most likely draw the cartoons for the contest, but as the contest grows, I hope to include submissions from artists in the community (If you want to submit art, use the tag @JosephwritesCaptionContest) However, I want to wait until I gain a few more followers before beginning to ensure submissions.

An idea of what the cartoons will look like:

How it will work: Each week I will post a cartoon without a caption. Anybody who thinks of a funny caption for the cartoon can comment it on the post. Whichever comment has the most votes by the next week's contest will win and will be featured at the top of the next contest. Note: The winner will be determined based on number of votes, not on the number of rewards earned (the rewards are just a bonus)


Thank all of you for reading. I am excited to join this community and can't wait to share content as well as see the content of others.

Here are extra photos to finish out my post:

Hiking with Elliot Cooper, the Great Dane Doberman:
IMG_0021.JPG

My small garden in Florida:
IMG_0170.JPG

Playing a show with our temporary band:
IMG_0043.JPG

Two of my English students here in Castellbisbal:
IMG_1634.JPG

When Elliot was a pupper:
FullSizeRender (1).jpg

An unfinished charcoal drawing (that I still haven't finished..):
IMG_0256.JPG

From my trip to Mexico:
IMG_0585.JPG

The Great Mexican Lion Boy (colorized):
IMG_0619.JPG

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!!!:
IMG_1996.JPG

See You Around!


Sort:  

Hello, welcome to steemit

Welcome to Steemit.

I see you have already discovered SteemShorts!

Welcome to Steemit! Your introduction post in really impressive. Looking forward to your content so I just gave you a follow :)

Welcome to Steem @josephwrites. Feel free to follow me @kanasite and upvote. Cheers :)

Thank you! I followed you.

Selamat bergabung di steemit kawan, semoga di steemit ini kita bisa saling mendukung, salam dari saya @iqbal-pase, berasal dari lhokseumawe, Aceh. Saya juga pemula disini, mohon dukunganya di postingan pertama saya nanti #introduceyourself. Semoga sukses kawan semua

English
Congratulations to join in steemit friend, hopefully in this steemit we can support each other, greetings from me @iqbal-pase, coming from lhokseumawe, Aceh. I am also a beginner here, please support it in my first post #introduceyourself. Good luck to all friends

Hey man, welcome to Steemit, I hope you'll find what you like. This platform is very interesting, you're making a great decision by joining steemit. Have a great day

@josephwrites, welcome to Steemit. Thanks for sharing with us and showing us about how you are. This is a great intro post!

I lived in Madrid for about 8 weeks in 2002, and then worked for an NGO teaching conversational English for 11 years in Indonesia.

Keep up the good work! Keep Steeming! upvoted

Thank for the reply. I think personal replies like yours go a lot further than the copy and pasted replies. Followed :)

I appreciate that. Make sure that you stay as personal as possible! :)

welcome and very good introduction... I'm sure you will be a hit here and good luck!

Hey Joseph ;)
Love your comics, you should definitely head over to the #arts section!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my service for showcasing promising newcomers!

Great ideas you have for the artistic community. I hope it works out well. It’s great that you’re out there teaching kids English. Sounds like an adventure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61