💫Introducing Myself to the Steemit Community 😅

Introducing Myself to the Steemit Community

Hello Steemit!

I joined Steemit last July 2017.

I didn't understand how it really works that time.

I had an on/off Steemit Relationship.

Nevertheless, I'm here Re-Introducing Myself to the community.

This time I know what I'm doing and where I want to go.

My name is Joshua Ruiz a Digital Marketer from The Philippines.
My friends call me Josh. I'm 28 and a Father of Two.
1509038_10151834437884212_856030443_n.jpg

I'm a Growth Hacker, Social Media Manager & Strategist for Businesses with a background in sales and marketing for 8 years including Inbound Marketing, B2B/B2C Marketing, Lead Generation, Personal Branding, Multi-level Marketing, Business Process Outsourcing, Micro-Insurance, Travel, Logistics, and Financial Services.

Source: LinkedIn Profile

I think Steemit would be a great platform to share my story and give value to the community.

I've been contemplating a lot if I will create a blog(wordpress) or use my social media accounts to go out and give value to the industry and those who wants to do a career shift.


Source
And then I remembered, I do have a Steemit Account!
(It was a Eureka Moment)

So here I am now, telling you my story.

I'm a Nursing Undergrad from Far Eastern University in Manila, Philippines.

Source: Facebook

You might be wondering, "Josh, Why the HECK are you in Digital Marketing?"

I know the WHY comes first but this time I want to highlight How.

It was hard shifting careers. The journey was painful. It was a constant battle with myself. I found myself displacing my mind just so I could avoid accepting the fact that I was out of school, undergrad and couldn't compete in the Labor Market.

And before I know it, I already lost 2 years of my existence. I've been nurtured to have a job security mindset. In this case, it was through Nursing (which is not my dream).

Source: Facebook

Anyway, the Call Center or BPO Industry was my Entry Point. I've learned a lot and it helped me expand my skill set.

I started shifting from my pre-determined career path to Digital Marketing when I've attended a Seminar.
This Seminar helped re-align my mindset, attitude, and paradigm.
It also triggered my hunger to learn more and be competitive.
I used to tell myself that I lack knowledge and skills.
But hey! I'm very persistent. And yes, I was failing but I don't want to be a failure.
I started looking for Free Self-Help E-Books, Podcasts, and Videos. Basically, anything that adds value to me and allows me to stay relevant.

Source: Facebook

Since Digital Transformation is happening, I told myself that this industry is where I want to be.

Ever heard of a Digital Nomad? Being able to work and do what they want at the same time? Working Anywhere/Anytime?

How about Working From Home? Being able to ditch the morning and evening rush hour?

Source: Facebook

The Information Age helped me a lot. The Internet is really a powerful tool that helped me to be a better version of myself despite lacking a college degree.

To cut this story short, I searched for free courses online and learned everything I could. When I was confident enough, I looked for jobs online that are relevant to what I learned. Luckily, I got someone who wanted to try me out and that was the first of many.

I continued getting knowledge online for free. I even got Certificate Courses for Free!

Source: Facebook

Imagine the power of Free Online Education.

Since I'm now earning decent money online, I've invested further into Courses on top of Courses. This time it was Paid.

Career aside, I also love to Travel and do some noob-like photography.

That's all for now! I hope I was able to inspire everyone!

Writing is not my forte but I know you guys will help me become a better writer someday.

I'm open to feedback so drop your comments and let's talk!

Thanks be to God for this wonderful opportunity!

To God be ALL the Glory!

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit World!

@xels Thank You so much!

Welcome to Steemit and nice to meet you @joshruiz :). I hope you are having a great time here. I had a look at your profile and found that you have some great posts there :) In order to further improve on Steemit and to learn how the platform works, I have some guides for you, that every newbie should read in order to become familiar with the platform and get started.

The Beginner's Guide to Steemit

How to Transfer STEEM From Bittrex to Steemit

Moreover, I would also like to introduce to you one of several awesome communities that helps the Steemians, especially the newcomers along the way; you can get different type of support from the community, including an upvote support, and of course, learning from experienced Steemians. The community is called @greetersguild created by @terminallyill, and I would like to invite you to join us :) Here is the link to our discord server

Oh, and you can use #greetersguild as one of your tags to get a possible upvote from @greetersguild on your quality post.

Wish you great success on Steemit :)


Welcome to Steem, @joshruiz!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2846 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Welcome @joshruiz

I take this opportunity to invite you to join STEEMSCHOOLS is a business school in steemit, where you can learn:

  • Publish professionally
  • Generate more profits with your post
  • Earn money just by commenting

We have live classes on DISCORD every day.
JOIN UP https://discord.gg/Sf6YH6j

ALL LIVE CLASS.jpg

@oneherrera Thanks! will check this out! :)

Welcome back sir

@joepee Thank You so much!

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97