Hey from Philly!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

First, a shout out to @walnut1 for telling me about Steemit!

I'm a 27 year old UX/UI designer living in Philadelphia. I just started checking out Utopian.io. I'm hoping to help out with some of what you see around here, when I find myself with some free time! It's off to a great start, but I think I may be able to provide some further assistance. Go open source communities!

I have a very rewarding job at an open source (Drupal) agency, where I lead a small team of designers shifting our services to be more focused on content strategy. I conduct user testing sessions & card sorting exercises, make user journey maps, and spend a good portion of my day wireframing away. I have yet to get sick of moving around grayscale boxes and text.

Dis be me:
20729095_10209451750754217_6199572830453363293_o.jpg
This is what Philly looks like for those who haven't been.
...Ok, it's Finland.

Which leads me to (fairly typical) things I look forward to most: travel and hiking. A tiny portion of my days are spent counting them down until my next trip. I try to go one cool place in the states, and one cool place internationally every year. This year was Finland for my friend's wedding, and a few cities nearby like Stockholm, Copenhagen, and Tallinn. My domestic trip was exploring the canyons of Utah and Arizona.

Here's my view from the top of Zion Park in Utah:
18527204_10208750223896484_129731193214099067_o.jpg
18527086_10208750221696429_2264085878749465249_o-1.jpg
My friend and I are looking into Chile/Patagonia next!

In the meantime, I'll keep hiking/camping around the northeast and my backyard when I can. My backyard is the Wissahickon park in Philadelphia. I hike with my pup, Zappa, back there often.

Here's a nice little picture of it from the fall:
Screen Shot 2017-12-26 at 10.00.41 PM.png

And Zappa taking a dip back there:
Screen Shot 2017-12-26 at 10.01.56 PM.png
He's a goober.

Aside from all that business, I keep up on a lot of music-related things. Favorites lately are: Nils Frahm, Real Estate, Bibio, The Growlers, and some key jazz ladies like Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday.

Later Steemit folks!

Sort:  

Hello and welcome to steemit. wonderful pics.

tip!

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jrovner to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

hello ....... we happy with you here @jrovner

Hey @jrovner! Welcome to Steemit community! Glad to have you here! Good luck and steem on!

Welcome @jrovner, I'm quite confident you will like it here... Love your pics of your travels and you also have quite the happy dog... What more could anyone want? :) ... I hope you have fun and enjoy yourself here, cheers!

@jrovner, I hope you can realize your dream in steemit, greeting stemian.
U5du1LgwqKognuqMRuiKn7cD9rpRbmX.gif

Welcome to steemit @jrovner

nice post, welcome on steemit!

Awesome!! Welcome to steemit community! A lot of awesome people here, which is great. Share your wonderfulness with us and we will definitely reciprocate.

Winny out ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58