E'steem'it... Bringing dignity back to social media (and perhaps society)?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I am a new user of steemit (as of this morning), and I'm excited to explore this platform.

While I'm not a big social media fan, I've become troubled with how facebook and twitter (among others) are actively shaping public opinion. Even worse, how they believe that they are morally right in doing so and that it is their civic duty to impose their beliefs on the rest of society. And those platforms are also inherently 'shallow'. The idea that a nuanced thought must be distilled down to a paragraph or two, or even 140 characters is insane. There is no room for respectful dissent. And the "currency" for those platforms is being 'liked'. As if we needed to feed the narcissism of people any more. The result is a self-censorship for any ideas outside of a narrow range that is held by our technical oligarchs.

I have peripherally heard of steemit for the past year, but I had never bothered to learn what it is until the last few weeks. I've been rooting for something to overthrow these gatekeepers of public opinion. Perhaps steemit will be the platform to do so?

My hope is that I will have a chance to contribute to the great discussions of the world and not be forced to lurk in the background holding my tongue. My interests are homeschooling, permaculture, homesteading, liberty, cryptocurrencies, science / technology and cyber security. With steemit, I intend to join in these conversations with you.

Thanks for reading and letting me become a part of your community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58