Our very cold camping getaway

Last week we decided to make our own long weekend and went camping from Wednesday to Sunday in Hartenbos. My daughters had to go there for hockey matches so we thought why not make a holiday out of it.

It was by far the coldest I have ever been in my entire life!

On the way there early in the morning the mist was lying very low in some places.

20170809_075644.jpg

20170809_084802.jpg

On the Wednesday when we arrived the weather was not that bad, quite warm so I thought we would have a nice weekend. On the Thursday evening it started raining and on the Friday while the children had to play hockey there was a light drizzle with extremely cold winds blowing.

Here we are setting up camp.

20170809_114905.jpg

20170809_164106.jpg

The only nice thing about the whole weekend was the absolutely amazing view we had from our campsite. We paid for a non-seaview spot but got more sea view than we expected. We even noticed some dolphins early one morning.

20170809_114912.jpg

20170809_164112.jpg

I have just come to realise again why I DO NOT CAMP IN THE WINTER! It felt as if we did not have enough clothes or blankets to keep us warm, even though I packed in at least ten blankets. My poor husband who had to find space for everything thought I was mad for taking so many blankets, but after the first night he was actually asking for more blankets.

As the weekend went by I immediately felt sorry for people who had to make tents their home. It must be terrible to stay like that forever, especially in the winter.

Well, lesson learned. For the next hockey trip we will be well prepared, and I WILL be staying in a chalet!

20170813_113322.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome! Looking forward to your posts!
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Welcome @Juanitalr to Steemit!! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

Congratulations! Keep it up!

Welcome to Steem @juanitalr I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @juanitalr, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Congratulations @juanitalr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57