Impressions Of My First Week As A Steemian

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

So Many Plates Of Food!

I've always had an indifferent relationship with food, to my surprise, there's been such a wealth of photos of it when I refresh the new posts.

If I see a steaming plate of food from Korea, it reminds me that Korea has the lowest number of obese citizens.

If I see a steaming plate of food from The Netherlands, it reminds me that Holland is the world's second largest exporter of food.

If I see a steaming plate of food from England, I feel embarrassed to say that I am English ;-)

  • DTube - Very impressed, the upload process worked really well for a music video of one of my tracks, I was even able to specify any thumbnail I wanted. A second video of me playing the guitar part of The Beatles 'Blackbird' uploaded and survived where YouTube had banned it. DTube to take over anytime soon.

  • DMania - A meme, an alien looking potato that had fallen down in the dark cupboard before taking on a sinister look and its new life under the title "Fear Me Not, I'll Do You No Harm" - not sure if I'll do any more memes, don't think anybody found it funny. That is as near as I'll get to posting pictures of food.

  • Purchasing Some Steem - I think I managed to turn 10 GBP into about 3 GBP by time the process was completed. There was a really good video from a fellow Steemian with precise instructions on how to do, that was the main positive from the experience.

  • Replying To Posts - An easy an pleasurable thing to do, the small number of Steemians I'm following posted plenty of great content to reply to.

  • DSound - This proved somewhat tricky, eventually I discovered my favourite browser 'Brave' didn't really work for uploading my tracks, Firefox seems to work ok though. Certainly a worthy challenger to SoundCloud, I think I will move all of my tracks across.

In Summary

Hectic but exciting to be part of the future of the Internet at an early stage.

Am I hooked? - You betcha.

GLA
Chris

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @kalimbakey. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

You just planted 0.39 tree(s)!


Thanks to @raserrano

We have planted already 6768.71 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22176.37
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png


Welcome to Steem @kalimbakey.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steemit chris 1 week, 😉
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you, I am from the second largest exporter off food. Nice to See that you like it here and already know alot. Great to See you are hooked already
Blogging thats what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I just write and have fun.
But be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11.

The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Thank you so much Brittandjosie. I think The Netherlands is a great country and very forward thinking. I'll be sure to check out that App.

Let me know what you think

Thanks again for the heads up about the app Brittandjosie, it looks to be iOS only at the moment (I'm an Android guy) I'll keep checking back as it seems there might be an Android version in the pipeline.

Catch up again soon

Chris

There is its Almost finished

Always good to get impressions from the new folks (hahaha, new being quite relative as I've only been here a few months ;), things move so fast around here and you sort of forget what you know/fought to learn rather quickly. Anyhow, nice to meet you. Your intro page looks good, glad to see a reader! Interesting that Ragged-Trousered Philanthropists was on your Tops lists...rarely to I come across a person who has read/heard of this novel! Anyhow, if you made it here by way of Corbett, well, this says good things about your level of awareness ;) Followed.... :) Oh, and if you have any questions, let me know, I might be able to help you out. I'm @danielshortell and I write short fiction here at SteemIt.

Thank you Daniel, The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists was a marathon as you'll probably know.

I too have met few people to have read it, I know a few who have begun the journey but fell before the final hurdle.

Good to meet you and a follow back.

Chris

A great book for sure, I still have strong images of guys hanging around in their shabby clothes covered in paint and plaster attempting to sort the world out.

Yep, the world hasn't really changed for the better since that book was written over a century ago hey Daniel.

@kalimbakey, A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

I'm from Nigeria and I've made a lot of friends in Steemit, and I'm glad to meet you too.

Please never give out your password to anyone or through any link. Any request for your password might be to steal from you so be careful. Treat it like your bank code.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to make more money in steemit and in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62767.81
ETH 2942.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55