From Poland to Hong Kong to the World

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

      Hi! So great to finally be able to explore this community! I feel like I am so behind already. So much to learn!

Hi Steemit! :) 

       I have been first introduced to bitcoin and blockchain by my friend from #hongkong (@LoeWan) who’s been kind enough to keep encouraging me to do a lot of interesting things in life. I am still studying how does blockchain work and aiming to join related networking events here in Warsaw, #poland where I am currently based. 

Warsaw in the summer

  However, my story into becoming more fluent in the digital space began in Hong Kong. I moved to there in 2011 and stayed over the course of 4 years. After I graduated from a master course at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, I began looking for jobs and felt the need to utilize time that I had. This very much got me into writing, blogging and eventually social media. Over the years I have managed to gain a decent following on my blog (http://hongkongdreaming.pl) and facebook (https://www.facebook.com/HongKongdreaming/). Despite of landing a job in management consulting, I continued to write and record for my Polish audience. The blog kept growing and I have entered into several collaborations with digital and traditional media and eventually becoming a frequent live guest to the most regarded news broadcaster in Poland – TVN24 and business news broadcaster, at the time, TVN CNBC. I mostly talked about Hong Kong current affairs and market but also covered some topics like culture and Chinese customs.      

Me live on pro-democracy protests in Hong Kong in 2014 for Polish TV broadcaster

My life has turned quite radically when I returned to Poland after those years. I have aimed to join management consulting scene in here but quickly realized that this work is no longer exciting to me. The projects in CEE (Central Eastern Europe) region did not seem as engaging and I gradually lost interest. I was also discouraged by how the banking culture appears. In the meantime, I kept attending startup related events here in Warsaw and my fascination with tech world grew even further. I started working with some hardware startups as an independent consultant and growing tech audience on my Snapchat (@kaxia)    

Explaining Steemit to my Snapchat followers

Another passion of mine is traveling and I kept devoting time and money into it through the time. During my undergraduate studies I moved to Spain for one year exchange. Later on, I moved to Hong Kong after I first decided I absolutely loved that city. I traveled to Japan, China, all over Europe and had my recent venture to San Francisco and Silicon Valley. 

At Facebook HQ in Menlo Park in 2016

Most of the times I just ventured out as a solo traveler.  Traveling like this and living abroad made me realized how little I know and how much I still have to learn. Writing, blogging and posting on my social media helps me to explore and study in-depth topics I have been passionate about. Globalization, culture, society, global economy, the transforming power of technology, social problems, human rights and democracy is what I aim to bring to my readers.    

Yosemite National Park in California

Thank you for reading my #introduceyourself story! I am always welcoming any feedback and questions you might have! I definitely plan to be active and see what can this bring for the community and me! :D    


Sort:  

You are so pretty!
I really admire your traveling! Especially as a solo traveler. I'm hoping to be like that soon, I really want to see the world, But sadly I haven't left the U.S.
I can't wait to read about your other travels and stories!!

Thank you for vote! I encourage you to do more traveling! It is always very liberating. I feel for me travels only helped me to trust people more and be able to sometimes relay on others. I love US and I want to go back there soon! :) Please come back!

Cześć Kasia
Miło Cię tu widzieć :-)

Czesc :) Dzieki za vote

Its the perfect ratio!!

https://steemit.com/funny/@benjiberigan/steemit-starter-packs-vo-01-the-perfect-babe-to-landscape-ratio

My intent is not to downplay your post. It is still great ! just a little fun :)

So good to have you aboard

ME-TARZAN

Thanks! Excited to be here!

Welcome to the party! I have a feeling you'll do well here!

Thanks! I plan to be active member and deliver content!

welcome to the steem train

Hi beanz thank you for the encouragement! Will keep posting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56