My Morning Shots

I typically do some sort of "morning shots" if I have any and thought since I'm new to Steemit, I'll just do a couple for you. It's amazing how bold I get when I have a smartphone :)

IMG_20171009_071836.jpg

I was doing a chore and saw this ethereal stream of morning sun against glistening greens and browns as I was coming back. I had to snap it because, seriously, what else would you do when presented with such a sight?

So breakfast was okay. We had some bush tea, which, here is Jamaica, is a regular thing.

IMG_20171009_081626.jpg

This particular bush is called "fever grass" but the rest of the world calls is Lemongrass. The scientific name is Cymbopogon.
I know it's used in professional kitchens all around the world in many dishes. Here, it grows wild. Can't get rid of it even if I wanted to. So why is it called "fever grass"? In herbal medicine, it's known as a febrifuge. It helps to reduce fevers. I know from use that it's a serious diuretic, it's also a bit of a relaxant, when taken at night. It sometimes helps me sleep.
For the most part, I just use it because I enjoy it.
The tea is a golden color and it's a bit lemony, (hence the name lemongrass)

IMG_20171009_081831.jpg

This tea is a bit brownish because of the sugar.
Yes, I use sugar. Do I inhale sugar? No. I'm not one of those, "the sweeter the better" people. Anything that's too sweet makes me nauseated and I don't like throwing up.
I use brown sugar, which is another staple here. I don't like the white sugar and have no problem with my drinks turning brown from sugar.

Another part of breakfast, is these babies:

IMG_20171009_081712.jpg

These are called June Plums, scientific name Spondias dulcis.
I love these because I like sour!
The riper, the better and a lot of people say, "Oh, you can put it in the blender and make juice."

IMG_20171009_084742.jpg

The blender takes too long, people. It's quicker if I just pop it in and have at it. I am not afraid of sour.
The cool thing about June Plums

IMG_20171009_085013.jpg

It has a prickly seed. It's not dangerous. The riper the fruit, the softer the seed, but some people eat around it, especially when they eat green plums (which are nice with a bit of salt or for stewed June Plums).
My neighbor has a tree, I told her I like her and all of a sudden, my name gets called along with "Come for your plums"
I have no problem with this and neither does my father, who gets his share.

So, that's my morning shot.
You all carry on while I sip some tea from my favorite 20+ year old mug

IMG_20171009_090411.jpg

Peace out!

SteemThanks.png

Sort:  

welcome to steemit and cant wait to see more post!

Congratulations @ladydi748! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61587.45
ETH 2890.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43