Hello Steem! Let's create conversation!

Hey guys!

I am delighted to have come across Steem, and I am envisioning it becoming something extraordinary for myself and for the world. It is an honor to be among such a community so early in its development. Allow me to introduce myself:

mee.jpg

My name is Cameron. The beautiful woman pictured above is my better half whom I will be married to next month! I flip houses -- I suppose one could call me an entrepreneur. Despite being rather new to the business I have formulated several successful deals (thanks to my mentor).

I have been submerged in the realm of investing for the past several months. Real estate and (more importantly) cryptocurrency are obviously two major players. I find cryptos to be absolutely fascinating, and I believe they will pave a new path for my generation and the ones to come. The potential power that has yet to be tapped into seems endless.

Let's put aside the investment talk for now. For quite some time I have longed for a platform to discuss and write about what I love more than anything: practical application of psychology, philosophy, and spirituality to make life as great as it can be.

thinker.jpg

I find philosophical conversation to be the most satisfying thing on the planet. I believe we all crave meaning and understanding of being, and I believe we're all on a journey seeking truth and purpose. I lived as an atheist for 28 years, but after some serious breaking down and seeking of truth I became a "born-again" Christian as they're called. Perhaps out of self-survival necessity, perhaps due to something snapping and drastically changing within -- it doesn't particularly matter in the grand scheme of things. The fact that it occurred is what matters. This brings me to an essential point:

I believe Christianity is a very misrepresented and misunderstood philosophy, and I would say this is most true within the Christian community itself. There is a great deal of variety within the community, as with any community, but the common portrayal of Christians as close-minded hypocrites thoughtlessly slamming the Bible over peoples' heads is unfortunately applicable to the majority. I have no desire to encourage this behavior, and I don't particularly desire to partake in the boring conversation that typically proceeds it.

Religion has come to fascinate me over the past couple years. Our notion of it typically has negative connotation, and rightfully so. It has the potential to be the most dangerous thing we're capable of creating (as far as I can tell), but it also has the potential to bring a group of humans together to accomplish amazing feats that defy the rational brain. Working together for 300 years to build a cathedral is a great example.

cathedral.jpg

If we honestly believe those 300 years of hard labor and material wealth are spent for the sake of an unseen bearded man in the clouds I think we're deluding ourselves. I personally find it difficult to focus on one thing for months let alone my entire life...plus the lives of my children...and grandchildren. Something else would seem to be at play. It's something that I can see in every human being, and it's something I see many thirsty for. I seek to define this "something".

Let's pull this back and wrap up. If Steem is to overtake social media it certainly will need a thriving community with rich conversation that people desire. I would love nothing more than to contribute and be part of that conversation. I see an enormous craving for deeper conversation and thought in person and on the internet alike. If you have a desire for this kind of thing please let that be known to me.

Sort:  

Hello @lamninator! Welcome on Steemit! Although I am not Christian, I still appreciate your willingness to argue for what you believe in. It is always good to have a conversation about your personal ideals.
From newbie to newbie I want to give you a few tips to get you a good start on Steemit. Since you really like Philosophy, I would recommend you checking out the trending:philosophy page. Also, I can only recommend to check out @davemccoy. He writes a blog about his first 9 days on Steemit and shares some lessons he has learned. I hope you like Steemit and that you will have some intriguing conversations. I do hope you will post something soon, and I will be following you and I will join the conversation. Cheers!

Thanks for the tip! I'll write something soon. As a 30-year old who has been Christian for a little over a year, I'd actually prefer to have conversation with people like yourself in a manner in which they can engage in.

Welcome to the steemit family @Lamninator.. 😉
In addition to being a medium that can generate wages, here we share stories, life, experiences and other useful things, therefore we must support each other.

Since you just joined the steemit community, it will be difficult to receive many upvotes so you have to be patient with it but never stop writing good, quality and original content..
.
Good luck here and continue to work. Thank you.. Feel free to follow me @kekegist .. Cheers ☺..

Thank you. I'll gladly follow you -- geology sounds interesting.

Welcome, Cameron! Some intriguing points you're raising there.

Thanks! I hope to raise many more. I love nothing more than being the impetus that joyfully rocks the boat.

Hello @lamninator! Welcome to Steemit world! I like philosophical entrepreneurs! Good look to you and your fiancee!

Welcome to the community!

Hi Cameron!

Welcome to Steem and good luck on your impending nuptials!
Philosophy is perfect for Steem, way more than any other social media platform; people can have frank open discussions without their personal friends/relatives pitching in... and it's not nasty like Twitter, YouTube or Reddit can be.

We know you've only just started, but we wanted to introduce our account also, we're Dear Secret... and we print secrets that people might not want attached to their account, and forward the proceeds back to you.

Read our first post if you're interested...
Thanks!
Dear Secret!

This was beautifully written. You are so right about Christianity being misunderstood!! For most of my life, I misunderstood what it meant to be a Christian, despite being raised in a Christian, homeschool family. Christianity goes far beyond the usual "religious motions" if you will, because true Christianity is an intimate, passionate relationship with our Savior, Jesus Christ. Love this article and can't wait for the rest!!!

Welcome to Steemit, Camron. All the best for the wedding. I was born a Tamil and converted to Christianity 18 yrs ago. I always knew deep in my heart that idol worship was not for me.

Fascinating. I've read some of Ravi Zacharias's work. My perspective of India and Hinduism, and especially Tamils, is far from sophisticated, but I know a little bit and I think it's fascinating you came to that conclusion. Idol worship is something I have never really "connected" with but I think my understanding of it has grown since becoming a Christian. Anyway, thanks for the welcome!

Hi there! Welcome to Steemit. I found you through a comment you made on someone else’s post. You were talking about the law and I was curious if you are Torah observant?

Can you explain what you mean by Torah observant? My guess is: abiding by the rule & law of the Torah, such as having a Kosher perspective on food, among all the other things involved of course. Is that right? If so I am not Torah observant, and if that is not what you mean by Torah observant do let me know. I will say that I actually have a great deal of respect for those who are.

Can you go into more detail as to what it means? I'd love to see things through your eyes.

Yes, essentially that’s right. So my belief in a nutshell: God gave us one law, being the law and the prophets, referred to as the Torah. This law still applies to us today. God is an unchanging God and so His law never changed either. Now, some laws don’t apply to us today. There is no temple or levites, and some laws apply only to men, women, farmers, etc. But the laws that do apply, we are to follow.
Some people have asked me if this means I’m Jewish now. I differ from the Jews in that I believe Yeshua(Jesus) is our savior and I don’t follow the manmade oral law, the Talmud.
I’m open to answering any other questions you have, too!

Congratulations @lamninator! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67