Hello! Newbie in the House!

Newbie: A person new to a game, concept, or forum. Not to be confused with n00b, a stupid person. Newbies are just new. (source: Urban Dictionary)

Hello Steemit!  


After being excited to post for the first time on Steemit last night, I learned today that I made a n00b move of using introducemyself not introduceyourself as the first tag / category listed — which cannot ever be changed. Yeehaw Bummer!

So my sweet 1st intro post is hanging out in newbie-land on my page : Creative living as a path to joy.
So I’m saying Hi, Take 2. 

I’m a touring musician and piano instructor based in beautiful Austin, TX. I have a superstar dog named ShadowBee - 1/2 Little Rascal 1/2 RCA dog.


Being a musician is not necessarily an easy path - but it’s a fun, adventurous road to ride.
I often say I never chose to be a musician, music chose me. If you’re given a gift, be grateful and use it.
 
While getting my classical piano degree at the University of TX at Austin I met non-classical musicians that taught me to jam, record, explore, and expand.

 I learned to improvise, play synthesizers, use effects, record, sing, and song write. I learned to play vibraphone, accordion, play electronic laptop music, and just kept expanding my skills. I've learned about costuming, makeup, performance, and giving it 110%.


(performing w Golden Dawn Arkestra at Levitation France 2016 / photo by Fred Lombard)

Last year 2017, I released a piano driven LP called Reflection. I play all the instruments on it minus bass and drums. I created an 80 page accompanying book that includes music scores, song lyrics, in depth background stories on the pieces on the album. A ton of work, time, and money... but worth it.


You can read the the digital book on my website or on Scribd. I'll post bits and videos here too.
You can stream the album on my site or here's a SPOTIFY link to Reflection.
Vinyl, Download, or physical CD? Order at Bandcamp.

Aside from music endeavors, I’ve been hula hooping for 13 years and plan to share posts about hooping as a tool for fitness, movement meditation, and growing younger. oh yea!

(Golden Dawn Arkestra at Solstice Fest 2017 / photo by Paul Meador)

This crazy cosmic-surf-afro-psych band I perform and tour with is called  Golden Dawn Arkestra. It's amazing.
There are 2 records available (Spotify link) and if you like afro-disko, this will be your jam. Find us!

Well, welcome to my world. I'm happy and a little overwhelmed to be a Steemer.
Please give the Steemit Newbie (me) any feedback, links, or suggestions.

What is DTube and DSound? Should I put new music there? Any tips?

I’ve read a few blogs and today when I got to Killer Whales and Bots for Followers, my head kinda exploded.  
Any advice or guidance is extremely appreciated.

Love you - Thank you - Have a beautiful day! Laura
you can find me on the instaspam and facefook too of course. Bye!

Sort:  

Wellcome laurascarborough! I think you will enjoy steemit.

Thank you! I'm already enjoying it. ;D

Welcome to the platform, if at any point you require a hand then give me a shout. Try to remember to always keep your keys and master password backed up and stored off line and only log in with your posting key. This ensures that when you're on steemit your account is not vulnerable to theft or hacking. If at any point you have any questions then please feel free to shout. Sending a warm welcome from the UK, many blessings, and Steem on. :)

thank you for the advice!

Not a problem. I am one of the founders of a new initiative on Steemit called the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. Our aim is to help strengthen the Steemit platform by increasing new users posts exposure through resteeming, and providing help and guidance for new users. I'd love to hear from you when you put up your first post that isn't in the introduce yourself tag, and would love to help boost it along. Feel free to contact me with any questions you may have. Many blessings.

Welcome to the Steemit, I hope you enjoy it!

Welcome here! really cool music! regarding dsound, take a look here https://steemit.com/music/@prc/introducing-dsound-a-decentralized-sound-platform-using-steem-and-ipfs ENJOY STEEMIT!!

Hi. Welcome to steemit. Follow me for updates.You can also join our community on whatsapp for interactive sessions about steemit.https://chat.whatsapp.com/LWFwICiJlVsEgiX6cLtYQu

Yeehaw Laura. Love the cowgirls. Love to play piano, too. Love your photos. Love your art and everything. Very lovely. Very cool. Welcome.

Hi Laura! Welcome to Steem!

The Fresh Five is a new Steemian curation effort, geared toward rewarding new Steemians who deliver interesting, fun, thought provoking, or just plain silly introduction posts.

We invite you to come to our Engagement Post and join the comment thread where we hope to encourage engagement and interaction with your fellow Steemians.

Looking forward to seeing you dig in to Steem and join the community!

welcome to steemit the best community out there. i personally wouldn't suggest bots for followers, i don't think you will earn something long-term from that. The general rule for success and what i have done is just to try and make quality posts while at the same time interacting with others that i really like their posts.

Also you should definitely use dtube and dsound, especially for you will be really beneficial. The first one is like youtube but with no censorship and the second one is lie soundcloud

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75