Howdy Steemit! I’m Here Thanks to Bitcoin Stack Exchange

introduceyourself.jpg

Which other Steemit newbie like me wasted a lot of time searching for a magical fill-in-the-blanks Introduction Post template that everyone would read as soon as you hit POST? I figured that would be too boring, robotic even, and decided to do it my way. I discovered Steem at Bitcoin Stack Exchange, a Q&A site for bitcoin fans. Steemit looks like a great place to be in 2018 and beyond.

My official name is Sammy Kamau and since my pile of “personal details” keeps growing by the day, let me point out a few specifics worth mentioning:

Nationality
• Kenyan (Not hard to find on a world map or marathon running events)

Age and Family
• Earliest 40s. Married father of two noisy boys and a lovely daughter who never stops laughing. We have a dog called Voice who barks at everyone and everything. I guess you can now picture the amount of decibels emitted from our home on weekends. My wife handles the difficult task of trying to keep things quiet around here but with little success. Good thing our closest neighbors are retirees who hardly venture outdoors, so no complaints have been filed yet.

Occupation
• Ghost-hunter. Well, that’s not entirely true but I’m a ghostwriter who’s always hunting for ghostwriting opportunities. Let me know if you have one – I mean a writing gig not a disturbed spirit from the Afterlife.

Religion
• I grew up in a Presbyterian home but I’m good with any faith that promotes peaceful co-existence through non-violent means.

Zodiac Sign
• Leo but it doesn’t really matter because I haven’t read horoscopes for decades. I remember dating a girl who lived her days according to horoscope predictions. That was before the Internet when people read their stars on newspapers. She’d check the stars every morning and adjust the rest of her day according to the predictions. That’s why we fought every time the newsroom astrologer wrote, “You may have a disagreement with a loved one today.” And that’s how I lost faith in good old Zodiac.

All-time Favorites
• Food: Avocado in/with anything including noodles (guaca-pasta Bolognese?)

• Music: Blake Shelton, Chase Bryant, Jason Aldean, Keith Urban, Sam Hunt, Carrie Underwood, Osborne Brothers, etc. I guess that makes me a country boy but I can still twist these not-too-old bones to any good tune. I recently heard my loud 9-year old son spitting some garbled sounds he called “Man’s Not Hot”, or something to that effect. I loved it. I mean loved seeing my son trying to rap, not the song.

• Sports: Basketball, Soccer, Tennis, Boxing, and long distance running. Disclaimer: I don’t play any sports, least of all boxing. I only engage in sports activities from the safety of my TV couch.

• Movies: I’d love to say I have a list of favorite movies but honestly the list keeps changing after every few days. Black Panther has not yet made it to that list, and may never do. My current favorite is that Morgan Freeman movie where three old men rob a bank and walk away scot free. What was the name? I still remember that famous quote: “It’s the role of the society to take care of its elderly.” I took some fresh flowers to my late dad’s grave the weekend after I watched that movie and wished I’d done more for him while he was still with us. If you still have your old folks around, do check on them before Easter Weekend.

• Books: I’m a typical writer without a favorite genre. My current reading list includes Fiona Harrold’s Be Your Own Life Coach and Rick Hansen’s Buddha’s Brain. I’m reading a lot of self development literature lately.

It’s hard to describe myself sufficiently because I’m bound to be biased, naturally. I may not tell what I’ve swept under the rug but it will probably come out as we engage further in this wonderful platform. All I can say for now is that I’m glad to be here and trust there’s plenty more I can share with the Steemit Universe.

Meanwhile, keep on STEEMING!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Great. I believe it's in order to even thank a bot, hahaha. Thanks.

Congratulations @lifeline! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks for that great honor. I'm loving this community more and more.

Hello! It's nice to see you here!

Hi, nice to meet you too @kenzycrazy

It's great to have you here on the platform. Welcome to Steemit. Explore and have fun. Cheers!

Thanks @promo-nigeria. Looking forward to making friends and having fun here.

Hey @lifeline! This is an incredible first post. I'm really, really excited to see the type of blog posts you produce. I'll definitely be keeping an eye on you.

Thanks @aussieninja. I'll definitely give my best for this great community. Thanks.

Hi Sammy ! This is an incredible intro post... if you keep up with this quality you'll go far on this platform!

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-feb-24th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

Welcome to Steem!

Thanks @thefreshfive. I'm still learning how things are done around here. Checking your link right away.

Welcome and good luck 🍀👍🏽

Congratulations @lifeline! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you very much. Checking out SteemitBoard now.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LifeLine from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thanks. I truly appreciate that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75