Hi, I'm 28 and what is this?

23004789_10155116892848437_4352327423479044101_o.jpg

Hey, everyone! I'm Kyle, aka the lightingnerd.

A friend of mine, @max-infield, used DLive to broadcast an art piece, and I became intrigued. I signed-up yesterday, and I'm really starting to like this platform, as it promotes new and quality content. I think this is a wonderful innovation that could very-well overtake many other social platforms, as I have spent far more time here than on Facebook, since i started my Steemit blog, last night. I guess, you already know this, that's why you all are here, so enough about Steemit!

I'm an Event/Concert Lighting Designer

thumb.PNG

I am, and have been an audio/visual artist from the beginning of my memories. From memorizing and singing my mother’s alto parts of choral works she performed with her community choir, to working with her in staging, lighting, shooting, exposing, and developing photos at her community college, I have been thoroughly doused in multi-medium arts since I was born. In addition, I was introduced to theatre at the same time, and worked with the Missoula Children’s theatre where I starred as the Father Vampire Bat(the biggest role for the smaller children) in a rendition of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. I then starred as a cape-wearing youngest child with a dog for a family television show that never aired. I have practiced choir and theatre in High School, and attended California State University, Chico to study Music: Vocal Performance, and at the same time I had a work-study job as a Stage Electrician where I studied lighting under the ever-infamous Mike Johnson of the university’s Performing Arts Center.

I've been a practicing lighting technician for over 11 years, beginning with an ETC Express 24/48 console that I mostly self-taught the operation of, in High School. I have practical knowledge of Western Tonal Music Theory, and practice as a Tenor Soloist, I feel that this gives me a great advantage in communicating with performers and being able to present a design that complements the music. I am also familiar with audio signal-flow, basic sound-mixing console operation, simple microphone placement, and basic audio signal processing. I have also used Resolume Arena for video-projection and music-visualization purposes. In addition, I have designed and fabricated my own 1024 pixel LED display at the Idea Fabrication Labs in Chico.

My Dream

thumb3.PNG

Most of my life is dedicated to seeing my dream career in event lighting design come true. It is the middle-ground between my loves of photography, color, theatre, and electronics. I hope some day to be designing and implementing large-scale stage lighting complemented by unique audience-interactive lighting systems for concerts and music festivals--and I'm getting there, if a bit slowly...
...but, as my grandmother drilled into my head: "Do what you love, and the money will follow."

The Other Life

thumb2.PNG

Like I said, I'm also a musician, and I am a hobbyist DJ, and music producer at-times. I enjoy writing, poetry, the spoken word, and also photography. I hope you enjoy what I have to share, and if you like what I do, feel free to reach-out for a collaboration!

I look forward to meeting you all as we create and share wonderful content on this excellent platform!

Till next time,

--The @lightingnerd

Sort:  

Hey 😀🙌 welcome to steemit! Enjoy your steemit journey

You can follow my blog @jofomaja on how to do creative marketing even here on steemit

I promise I won’t waste your time.

Thank you, I will follow you, and keep you in mind for future consultations!

Welcome to Steemit. I wish you success with everything you are creating

Thank you! I feel welcomed, here!

hey there, welcome to steemit! I do have to agree with you that this here is a very good platform, and the community has been nothing short of amazing. I have found that there is finally a place for me potentially to grow, as like you, I love writing and poetry! I have followed you, and hope to see more of your posts (especially your words and poetry!)

Why thank you! After reading your piece Unspoken Thoughts my brain came up with a title for a new poem I just posted. It's in Iambic Pentameter, as I derived the title from a line in Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. It is called "A Wound by Any Other Name".
I'm not sure how I feel about it, and it is rather simple, but it had to be done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84