A bit of everything - introducing moi

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Okay, so after staring about half an hour at the screen, trying to think of an appropriate title, looking for something simple yet interesting, I've decided to forget all about it and start writing.

My name is Maya, I live in Israel, born in 1985.
This was the easy part, writing out the facts of who I am. The rest, well, is still a work in progress with tons of messy labels that are constantly changing.

I define myself as a cisgender woman, bisexual, polyamorous, feminist and childfree. I have two significant relationships with @poet and @techslut to whom I have to thank (or blame, time will tell) for introducing me to this community.
I studied biology and have an MSc degree in natural resources management. You could say I'm a "farmer" now, as I work at a small flower nursery on breeding new varieties. This job can be very monotonous at times, which allows me to broaden my horizon listening to podcasts and learning new things. Also, taking pictures of the natural environment I work at became a little hobby of mine!28061003_2022767591072347_6208235182916455615_o.jpg

Still trying to figure out the whole "what do you wanna be when you grow up" part. My ideal job would be to keep learning new things, but since it's not really possible, I learn a lot of things on a very basic level. I know just a bit of sewing, some home improvement, some languages, writing and poetry, I even took a car mechanics class recently. I love cooking, and even though I'm not vegan I enjoy veganizing recipes for my friends.
The cake is a lie! (Not a cheesecake)
14231317_10154427430917673_482806084782428390_o.jpg

My style could be considered alternative, with many piercings, tattoos and dyed hair. My favorite places to shop are second-hand stores where I usually arrive as a personal stylist for my friends (I should really get paid for that!). I also do my hair by myself, and help the above @techslut with maintenance of hers :)
IMG_20170102_193225.jpg

What can you expect of me here?
I think the best answer is- A bit of everything.
Pictures of me and the things I make, nature photography, stories (and rants) about my life as a woman working in a field (literally) dominated by men, general thoughts about things close to me such as love, polyamory, feminism, gender issues, things that come to mind from listening to podcasts... My life, unfiltered.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and hope I can contribute a bit to this awesome community.

Kisses,
Maya.

Sort:  

Hi @lionne, welcome to steemit. I liked your beetle picture and how honest you were in your introduction. It feels real. Definitely interested in learning more about polyamory in Israel... I would have thought Israel was more conservative than US.

I upvoted you please follow me!

ברוכה השווה

I am willing to bet all my SBD that I am the only person on Steemit with 3 SOs on the platform. I win. On so many levels. Welcome to the mess, my love. I hope you enjoy it here. <3


Welcome to Steemit @lionne!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Vegan food is the best ;)
ברוכה הבאה!

thank not blame, trust me, you'll understand it in no time.

I stare at the cake for a minute, Yes, I love food.

Welcome! :)

I knew I loved Maya the moment I tasted her VEGAN chocolate ball cake. It was the tastiest vegan anything I've ever had and I knew I will love this woman forever. And then she made me cheeseless cheesecake. Because she's perfect like that. <3
#notsohumblebrag

Welcome!

A beautiful introduction for a beautiful person :)

I'd like to note though, that it is certainly possible to learn for a living, that's what research in academia is all about.
I'd personally like to see you go back to academia at some point, but it can be in 10-15 years too, doesn't have to be now.

That's another discussion for another time :)
XOXO

Okay, I know Japanese beetles are evil little buggers, so how did you manage to make one look so cool? And that hair color? Holy cannoli, Batman - I think my eldest daughter @cailliyork would love to pick your brain.

Oh, and I'm also here because @techslut was talking you up over in #steemsugars Discord channel. Welcome aboard this gloriously crazy train! Last, but not least - tip!

Hi there Traci, thank you for the warm welcome :)
The picture is actually not of a Japanese beetle but of another member of the Scarabaeidae family- Protaetia cuprea, which is very common in Israel and besides being gorgeous, does no harm :)
And yeah, I figured that @techslut is in charge of paparazzi... Will probably get into Discord once I'm more familiar with Steem and all that jazz.

You're very welcome, @lionne! Glad to hear that gorgeous insect isn't as destructive as its cousin! I'll keep an eye open for you on Discord - of course, you might already be there, but I've been a bit absent the past few days, in part thanks to Mother Nature and a March blizzard. :P

Hey Lionne, welcome here! @techslut mentioned you arrived on our supercool Discord channel which I’m sure of is next on her agenda for you to join ;-) I’m sure I’ll see you there! Good luck on Steemit!

Hehe, on her agenda for sure. The fact I'm not yet beaten into submission is a mystery :)
Maybe I'm a bit scary. Just a bit.

You don't look it, but I'm glad you are able to hold your position ;-) (Temporarily?)

Hello!

I want to show you how you can earn free Steem/SBD by participating in contests/giveaways!

I writed a full article where I try to list all available contests and giveaways from steemit.

Here you have a little preview, if you want,

you can find the full article here / https://steemil.com/steem-help/@jznsamuel/list-of-all-contests-giveaways-participate-to-win-free-steem-sbd
.

New to Steemit and trying to get a hang of it?

There's plenty of time to learn, and there are several experts around to help you.

So you've decided to spend your Facebook/Twitter/Instagram time on Steemit, a revolutionary social media site that pays you for your votes/comments.

1. Crypto Contest by maarnio / https://steemil.com/golem/@maarnio/crypto-contest-june-13-golem

You just need to select one of the 3 options for a chance to win in this daily contest that also gives you crypto information.
Check out the latest contest

here / https://steemil.com/golem/@maarnio/crypto-contest-june-13-golem
.

2. Dungeon and Steem by @fingersik / https://steemil.com/contest/@fingersik/dungeon-and-steem-rules-v-1-1-0-finding-1-new-player-and-3-backup-players

Our very own version of the popular Dungeons and Dragons. Head on over to root for your favorite Human, Elf or Orc.
Check out the latest contest

here / https://steemil.com/contest/@fingersik/dungeon-and-steem-rules-v-1-1-0-finding-1-new-player-and-3-backup-players
.

Check out all the 21 contests here! / https://steemil.com/steem-help/@jznsamuel/list-of-all-contests-giveaways-participate-to-win-free-steem-sbd

Follow me, I will follow + upvote you!

Welcome Maya to the community! Love to have you here;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67