Hello lovely people! Intro from a Cali Gal, traveling our little world~

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians. My name is Lisa. I am so incredibly excited to get started on Steemit! I have been wanting to start a blog forever, but I have been really overwhelmed--and maybe a little scared no one would care for what I had to say. But I love the idea of Steemit and decentralizing the blog-o-sphere. I have been involved in cryptocurrency--maybe I should say obsessed with coinmarketcap.com-- for some time now, and I am ready to take it a step further with Steemit. With a nudge from my bae, @tabz, I am now excited to release all my travel tidbits and stories to all of you. But first, without further ado, my intro~

About me

I immigrated to the United States, to sunny California, when I was three years old. I was an “illegal” (undocumented) immigrant for many, many years, and literally could not leave the country, in fear of deportation. I lived my life in a bubble of fear, living to achieve a sense of security my parents could not offer me (though they tried their best). After graduating university, I was accepted into my DREAM law school, UC Berkeley. I was on the road to success… But something kept me up at night, feeling unsettled.

I had always wanted to travel. More than I wanted to be rich. More than I wanted to be successful. More than I wanted a house to call home, I yearned to see the big, bad world with my own two eyes.

Fortunately, I received my citizenship after 18 long years of waiting. Soon after, watching Trump being elected president was enough to finally kick me out of my comfort zone, and say ‘maybe later’ to law school.

Fast-forward, a long beautiful, awe-inspiring, yet soul-crushing year of solo-traveling, countless plane, train, bus rides later, I have traveled to a total of 20 countries, and am now living in Berlin (below), with my lover boy, where I am saving up for my next batch of travel.

They say not all who wander are lost. But to be entirely honest, I am more lost now than I was ever before, when I had a perfectly scheduled 5-year plan. But, you know what? I’m free (so freaking free of responsibilities, societal standards of ‘what I should be doing’, free of commitments, free to fail, fail often, then get back up again, and keep on going). I’m alive. I’m making mistakes and taking risks, and I love it, I love this life I was blessed with. And I love traveling.

About my Steemit:

I would like to record the how: how I traveled through a wide range of countries on a damn budget (self-made; self-paid), the what: the moments of happiness I have encountered in various countries, and even the gut-wrenching challenges and pains I have endured, and most importantly, the why: ultimately, I am escaping America for now… I’ve encountered several forms of trauma that have left me scarred and feeling broken. I travel to shed my past skin and grow into the beautiful butterfly I’ve always known I was (did I mention I’m cheesy ☺). I travel to heal; I travel to meet and love strangers on all walks of life; and I travel to offer myself, to give back to the international communities that need a set of helping hands.

I believe anyone can travel. My parents arrived in their 30’s, with nothing but $1,000, two large suitcases, two toddlers, and a compelling dream. The American Dream is a myth—an ideology to brainwash the masses, so it goes—but the end result: was me. I’m proud to boast having paid my way through college and my first nine months of travel by living like a 40-year old work-a-holic and hermit (spending no more than the bare minimum to survive) for the first six years of my working career. I worked a total of 12 positions, thousands of hours (including a shit ton of overnight hours #teamnosleep), and engaged in constant scholarship writing to reach my college and travel goals.

I want this blog to be a sort of inspiration to those in my same shoes, who came from nothing but a goddamn dream to see all that the world can offer. Yet, even though I believe anyone can travel, I realize not everyone can enjoy the circumstances that enable them to travel: whether they watch over family members or are drowning in student/ familial debt and have chosen to follow the safe route (I don’t blame you). For those dreamers from afar, I hope to offer some entertainment and inspiration to start even a small travel fund, and how to be a tourist in your local surroundings. You don’t have to travel far to travel well.

Aside from the travel posts, which I’m sure will be plentiful; I also plan to write about yoga, healthy cooking, self-care and healing, and random thoughts/ experiences/ poetry. Hopefully, I can keep you somewhat entertained on my journey. Thank you for reading, lovely people. <3

I would love some recommendations for people to follow, and to meet new people who are also getting started, so please leave a comment below!

Sort:  

Welcome and great picture of the canal

Thank you so much! I'm excited to be here.
& It's freezing rn, but at least the view is nice~ :P


Welcome to Steem @lisalove.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thank you! I'm excited to get started. (:

Great meeting you and a warm welcome to Steemit. Everyone I've met on here has been amazing & super helpful. I'm sure you'll find the Steemit community very welcoming & kind. Here's a post that help me when I 1st got on here:
The Ultra Beginner's Guide to Steemit- What to do 1st
Also if you'd like to know more about me:
"You Never Know" <--- Click to Listen

Stay in touch and let me know when you post ! I'll be sure to upvote.
Follow Shomori Pass!

Thank you so much! That was a really helpful article. And will do. (:

Nice to meet you, @lisalove! Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you lovely. (: I'm excited to be aboard.

Welcome to the community @lisalove

Hello my Welcome to steemit world, I hope you realize your goal in this huge community, but to reach your dream you have to know well that you have to work hard to get it.

Thank you for the advice! I will try my best, but just to share my stories and delight would be good enough for me (:


Welcome to Steemit @lisalove!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome! Iam so excited to see your future content!

Thank you~ I'm excited as well!

This is very inspirational, thank you for sharing. You're a strong woman! I wish you great success!

Thank you so much Vaan! I took a peek at your steemit and your artwork is amazing! (:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66