Statement of First Principles

So I won't actually be stating my first principles, that's gonna be another post.

But I will be laying out my thoughts on what I want this whole thing to be. A statement of blog first principles if you will.

First off, I'm gonna fuck this up. I'm gonna lay out my ideals for the glorious thing that will be this blog, and then utterly fail to live up to it. Too bad, I have loads of stuff to do and this will probably not be in the top five things I'll need to get done on any particular day. Having said that, I'm gonna try doing this because I want to use it for some personal stuff.

Also, I've found that starting out by forgiving oneself for one's failings and failures is the best way to keep progressing. If I don't forgive myself, I feel overwhelmed and never pick back up the thing I failed at. It's kinda zen I guess, progress through admittance of non-progress. Or maybe it's Taoist? Action through inaction? Whatever it is it's all very clever and wizened bullshit and makes you wanna raise a single eyebrow, Spock style.

Secondly, I'm not very knowledgeable about computer programming or graphic design, or video stuff or whatever, so this blog might look and feel a little lackluster. If that's a problem for you, too bad! Unless you wanna like, produce super sweet lookin' junk and throw it at me to spruce up the joint, in which case, fuck yeah :-D I'm stoked.

Thirdly, (and lastly for this part of the thing) I'll introduce myself

Hi, my name's Lock, and I'm a thing who thinks about and does things. One thing I do apparently well enough for people to throw money at me to do is work on their music with them. I work both with live sound and studio stuff. I work with all kinds of music, on all kinds of projects, and at almost every position in the process for both live and studio work. I still have a shit ton of stuff I need to improve on, but generally over the past couple years I've grown at least a little more confident in my skills as a professional audio cat.

I also do other stuff, but the audio career thing has really taken over my life. This blog is actually an attempt at re-balancing myself to be a well rounded and better adjusted human person. I am also currently having xanga flashbacks. I promise I won't write posts consisting of nothing but the word fuck in all caps :-).

I think that's it for this part, now here's the specific things that are the thing and stuff.

On this blog I would like to do the following..

  1. I will explore a few things generally. Music, audio engineering, and philosophy with a focus on metaphysics. I will be utilizing a lot of science and stuff in my discussions of philosophy (and audio because... well... science has a lot to do with it) because I like that shit, and am somewhat utilitarian and a realist in my thoughts and values and ideas about all of this that is this shit we call "all that is"

  2. I want to improve myself and will be organizing and documenting my thoughts and approaches to doing so here on this blog. Basically I want to slim down my life to only the essential and most positive elements. I want to refine my good habits and break my bad ones. I want to better myself slowly and stably to create lasting change, not some quick bullshit that won't stick in my head (no get rich quick type tomfoolery here!) I will lay this out more thoroughly in other post.

  3. I will be posting little things here and there about techniques and approaches to audio engineering and music production as a professional audio engineer and music producer. I like teaching the things I've had the privilege of learning some fun stuff over the years and totally wanna disseminate that information. I also think sharing my experience and remaining open to learning from others' experience in return helps bring everyone up together. I will try and be as interactive as possible about the music and audio stuff. I really want to encourage discussion about audio and will layout my thoughts and approaches and values and all that jazz later on.

  4. I will be posting some writings I work on, mainly short stories, but possibly a poem or two, and eventually (like, years down the line) I might start working on some long format writing (novel length stuff if I ever get around to it). I also wanna toy with doing audio narrations of them, but, baby steps and all that good stuff.

I guess that's it really. Write about mahh thoughts on stuff, begin and document my progress through self improvement, get hella nerdy about some audio stuff, and vomit my own fictions onto the site.

The last thing is that I'm going to be honest and blunt about some of the challenges I struggle with here, so, warning in advance for mental craziness, sex, philosophical rabbit holes, drugs, nerdy ass in depth audio stuff, and rock and roll. You know, the good shit :-)

Gotta thank Shello for turning me on to this, she's the coolest :-) You'll all probably see me commenting on her shenanigans pretty regularly.

Also, I'll try to edit stuff, but I'm also lazy, so, get ready for some sloppy shiiieeeeeeeeeeeetttt!!!!

Sort:  

Welcome to family :)


Welcome to Steemit @locklynch!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome 2 family :)

@locklynch, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

@licklynch, welcome to Steemit. I know you'll enjoy being here. I give you two keys you need in your steemit journey:

  1. Dedication, persistence and consistency.
  2. Don't quit. Keep moving on.
  3. Steemit cannot reset your password for you if you lose it, therefore have a backup for it. Make sure to save your master password and all steemit keys somewhere safe.

Please, permit me to invite you to join the #steemschools discord here https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags, make quality posts and comments on Steemit and gain more followers.

Thank you.

.images (22).jpeg

Welcome to Steemit locklynch. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Welcome to steemit @locklynch. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Hi @locklynch! Welcome, and I hope that you will enjoy steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79