Introduction Post from the Outcast

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

regor.jpg

I am Regie, 29 years old from Taytay, Rizal. Originally, I am from Mindanao but I am already residing in Taytay since my brothers are working here. I am working here too. There really is nothing much to share but I will try my best.

I am the third among 6 siblings. My two older brothers left our home to try their luck in Manila at an early age. So, I feel like I have to act like I am the eldest in the family. My father left our family for another woman when I was still three years old, my youngest sister maybe three months old. From then on, I never had a father figure in my life. I had to act like the eldest son and the father in the family at the same time.

My mother raised all 6 of us. I do not know how she did it but I guess she did a great job raising all of us. I have to admit, it was a rough one but we have managed to survive amidst the difficulties in life.

stress-2902537_1280.jpg
Photo source

When I was still a in grade school, I had to stop because I do not see any reasons of going to school when I am not getting the support that I need. I had no allowance. No proper educational support such as finances for school projects, uniform, books and other school fees. I worked in a poultry at that time. The pay was not enough but enough for 10 year old.

I took grade school for 7 years instead of 6. During high school, I had to stop again for the same reason. This time, I worked again in the same poultry farm. So, I took high school for 6 years. I actually decided to really stop schooling as I know that I won’t be able to pursue college because of poverty.

I was in third year school then when my teacher in high school visited me at home and informed me that the school needs a basketball player to represent the school. It was a good offer as I only have few months before the school ends and the school is willing to turn a blind eye on my absences.

Our team won the basketball league and I was chosen to represent the school again for division and provincial meet. That’s pretty much how I survived high school. My teacher would just give me allowance for my needs as long as I won’t drop out of school again and will continue performing for the basketball meet and represent our school.

FB_IMG_1519894475626.jpg

FB_IMG_1519894470521.jpg

FB_IMG_1519894462897.jpg

I was lucky to meet a lot of generous individuals who volunteered to help me enrol for college. Our Mayor in town sponsored half of my scholarship in college since the other half is already sponsored by the school as I was lucky enough to get a varsity scholarship for basketball. Everything was going well until the kind mayor was killed by the enemies of the government. He was ambushed to death. Along with his death, my dreams to finish college was also gone.

I could not ask my mother to support me through college as we are even struggling to find our daily meal. So, I stopped again. I was so negative with life and I did not even dare to dream again. I know that I was molded to live a low life and I have no right to dream of anything big. I do not have a support system. My mother, although she was great but the problem we are facing in the family consumed her and she does not have any time to think about our individual needs as her main concern is to look for food to feed us.

I was really negative with my life. My father left us. My mother is not becoming a mother to all of us because of the problems and the only person who took care of me died. I do not see a bright future for me. I do not believe in dreams and plans. I am doomed to be a loser.

That is until I met a girl. I was still in college then as a varsity player when I saw her in one of the malls in the city. I know her since we are from the same town. She was everything that my life isn’t. She has a perfect family, she is intelligent and she is studying in a famous university, Ateneo.

Seeing her at the mall, I took the chance to talk to her. Although we came from the same town, we weren’t really friends because she is always surrounded by her friends who are sons and daughters of prominent families. I guess, we are not given the chance to be introduced with each other and I am the outcast who do not deserve to be in their circle. So, all our life in the same time, we do not know each other. That is why seeing her alone at the mall give a spark to me and I felt like it is the only chance.

I tapped her shoulders. She was shocked. Maybe she was not expecting someone. I asked her few questions but I realized that she is in hurry. I was actually expecting that maybe I could treat her something but I realized, I only have less than a hundred in my pocket and it is intended for my fare going home. She was warm and friendly when I talked to her. It relieved me from my doubt of being ignored.

When she bid goodbye, I asked for her number. She replies often but most of the time, she is either busy with school. She is in second year that time, I was in first year. Two years of on and off communication. She is a serious student so I settled with “hi” and “hello” text. I actually asked to court her but I guess she was not ready that time.

Two years of repeatedly asking her number everytime she changes it until I grew tired. Then one day, I received a text, a group message perhaps that she is on her way home after graduation. She already graduated while 1 year before, I stopped because of the Mayor’s death. That one text started everything. She is no longer busy with work and we are already in the same place. That one text started everything. After two years of unreplied texts and ignored calls, she finally has the time for me. Well, after another few months of courting, she became my girlfriend.

desktop-background-3061483_1280.jpg
Photo source

Meeting her really changed everything in my life. She became the reason why I started believing in dreams and why I turned to believe in positive thinking. The negative side of me was gone because of her. Then, I had the courage to look for stable job, everything was really working out well for me. My relationship with my family and my mother was changed because of her.

Now, we are about to enter our 8th years together and I hope within this year, I will have her “Yes” for marriage.

So, the outcast before has turned out to be a fighter. To those of you who are having few problems in life, do not give up because life has a way of fulfilling what is lacking and turning negative situations into a positive one. Actually, my username @luckystar was not for me. It was for her because I found my lucky star in her.

Life was tough but I am wiling to fight with it and make sure, I will win this game.

Sort:  

Welcome Regie

Welcome to steemit, kumusta ka naman? I'm so happy na meron na naman bagong pinoy na sumali dito which is nakaka proud talaga. =)
Best of luck to you and see you around. =)

Hello @purepinay! Ang saya ko napansin mo ako. Ikaw yung sinabi ng friend ko na dapat tularan nmin. Salamat mo sa pag dalaw.


Welcome to Steemit @luckystar12!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thank you so much!

welcome to steemit @luckystar12. So happy to know na madaming Filipino sa Steemit. Let us help this together . So, see you in each others feeds?hehe. Welcome Kabayan.E enjoy mo lang ang stay mo dito. Steem up!

Salamat kabayan. Sana po matulungan nyo ako.

Oo naman kabayan. Walang ibang magtutulongan kundi tayu tayu din. 😉 Upvote and follow lang natin mga kapwa natin dito. Sila din ang tutulong satin. Hehe

Wow.. salamat sir.

Maam po kasi babae ako. Hehe. ✌️️

welcome to steemit .... greeting from indonesian (^_^)

Thank you and welcome to the Philippines. I will write about my country. I hope you read it.

Hey man finally! Welcome to steemit and i hope you learned a lot of things while waiting for your account .

Pretty excited about the things that you will be writing about.

Hello, I still do not know what to do. I registered this week together with my workmate. We do not have any idea what we joined.


Welcome to Steem @luckystar12.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community

Thank you so much.

This is sooo sweet!!! I hope you two are happy together!

Hey there! You were featured on the #54th Edition of @steemitfamilyph's featured posts. Congratulations!

Hala salamat @steemitfamilyph! Nakaka inspire po. Salamat sa pag feature po

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65