2nd day on Steemit! Might as well introduce myself ;)steemCreated with Sketch.

Hello steemians,

It's the FNG in the house here, introducing myself to the community here.

It all happened just over 24 years ago when, by a stroke of fate, the most amazing man on earth may have been born (idk, lol). It also happens to be around the time that I was born. Coincidence? Definitely!

Anyway my name's Maikel and I'm your not so average Dutch guy, meaning I'm one of the few who's never smoked weed (even though it's legal here). I know, I know... I do make up for it by drinking plenty of beer, just to stay hydrated of course. ;)

Other than that I'm an aspiring entrepreneur. Haven't started any business yet, but constantly learning the skills that would be needed. I've been to university here before, but I've never really bothered graduating. The classroom style wasn't really for me, and I felt like it wasn't the best place for me to learn the right skills.

That being said, I do study a lot on my own:

I'm constantly learning about things like marketing (especially online marketing), personal development, leadership, economics, investing and the like. I was thinking of sharing some snippets of knowledge here on Steemit, if there's any interest. Just let me know below if you'd like to learn about any of those topics.

Here's to connecting a face to the words. Cheers!
20160906_151440_001.jpg

Besides drinking beer and occasionally getting FUBAR, I like playing video games and watching anime (currently in progress with One Piece). I also play a sport called "Korfbal", which I assume most of you haven't heard of before. Don't worry though, I forgive you! ;) It's not really that well known outside of the Netherlands and Belgium, but I suppose it's most comparable to basketball. Here's a summary of a game if anyone's interested.

I'm currently working at Bavaria, the brewery (ironic, I know). Not something I'd like to do long term, but it earns money while I think about what I really want to do.

"That's all folks"
Porky Pig

Looking forward to connecting with some fellow steemians!

If there's anything you'd still like to know feel free to ask it here or in the chat. I'll be creating my account there shortly, but the username will be the same as here (assuming it's available).

Sort:  

Welcome to amazing community! Welcome to the world of Steem!

Thank you, glad to be here!

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies. Write less but write great original content, which is the key to success in Steemit. If you are using any image or video, cite proper source.
Also if you know someone who is not using his voting power, then forward them to @sanmi on Steemit chat to do some charity and earn curation.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details.

Given your interest and skills, I think you've come to the beter place, since cryptocurrencies, technologies and internet services are the most common theme here on steemit!! I hope the best for you in this journey!! A big Hug and good vibes!!! :)

Congratulations @maikelmichiels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well hello there!

Well hiyo to you too good sir! (sorry couldn't resist making that pun)

Hi Maikel... Nice to meet you... Welcome to Steemit..🌹.. This is a nice intro post... I hope you will do great over here as a steemian..😊.. Follow Me @onority
It will be great if you visit and read my blog and upvote them..!!!!!

Thank you, glad to be here.

Noticed in your profile it says you write about things like online marketing, so I'm following you as well.
Looking forward to some informative content.

It’s my pleasure… 😊... on my profile, it is written as affiliate marketing... I hope I will be able to give you that info in future... anyway.. this steemit platform is different.. here we can success by writing good content and helping each other... I am following you back... hope we will tie up for long....

Congratulations! Your introduction post has been selected for my special manual curation today!

It has received an upvote, and a resteem to help give you a boost. I'm following you now, too!

My curation focus is on fairly new Steemit users who don't speak English as a first or primary language, but who are writing and posting in English.

I search new posts in the #introducemyself and #introduceyourself tags daily, and try to dedicate at least 50% of my article curation to new Steemit members who meet the above focus criteria. My goal is to discover and curate an average of 5 new Steemit users per day.

I follow each person I curate because it is very encouraging for a new member to see their following grow.

25% of my daily curation is dedicated to upvoting, resteeming and commenting on new articles posted by the Steemit users I am following. If you have written an article that you think is particularly good, you can direct message me a link to it in Steemit.chat (look at the bottom of the Steemit menu for the chat link.)

I also curate comments from all Steemit users. I look to reward comments and replies which stand out as having thoughtful insight, offer benefit to the community at large and reflect the unique personality of the commenter.

I aim to keep my voting strength between 90-100%, and give a 100% upvote whenever possible, voting 10-15 times per day.

I’m calling the @originalworks bot to verify this article for you. Every time you write an original article you should call the bot. It is a great bot service that boosts your article for free.

@originalworks also hosts a weekly writing contest, so follow @originalworks if you are interested in practicing your writing skill, and possibly earning some extra Steem.

You have a great outlook on life, and I love your attitude, @maikelmichiels! But please do be careful, and don't ruin your life with too much beer! Enjoy life and beer! Cheers!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @maikelmichiels to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks for the support @mitneb, really appreciate it man! I don't usually drink that much, so it's fine, no need to worry. ;)

Since I'm kinda new here, how does the originalworks bot work? I assume it's some sort a plagiarizing checker that upvotes your post if it's original work, correct?

Ok, but if you are getting FUBAR I will be worried for you, @maikelmichiels. Yes, you are right about the bot, but more than checking for plagerism it adds credibility that you are the original author, and the post is not spammy in nature. Certain criteria can make the bot not respond even if it is an original article. I wrote an article once that used a lot of callouts of @names. That made the bot think it was spam when it really wasn't, so the bot reply never posted. There are other bots that are also checking for plagerism. The cheetah bot is one I know of. Cheers!

Welcome! Happy to make friends!

Thank you! Just followed you. You've got some very pretty pictures! :)

Welcome to Steemit! Hope you will have a lot of fun and enjoying the community! I just followed you :).

Thanks! Looking forward to connecting with more of my fellow steemians on here. :)

You should indeed! It's super fun :)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62872.85
ETH 3031.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92