Mark Feuerborn, journalist and cigar box guitar craftsman

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hey there Steemit, Mark Feuerborn here. You might notice I look familiar, as I received an honorable mention in another Steemer's post.

I'm a 21-year-old from Kansas, currently studying mass media, business and studio art at Washburn University. I currently work as the Multimedia Editor for the Washburn Review news network, and when I'm not making videos, podcasts, or taking photos, I write articles for their website and newspaper. View all of my past articles, photos, videos and podcasts at the Review.

Brownie, my family's beloved puppy, never stops being cute, so have another photo of her:

When I visit home and my dad isn't around, she'll lay next to my chair and ask me to pet her.


The past few months have been pretty crazy for me, as I just recently was invited to a conference between various universities and workshop at the New York Times in April, a place I'm now applying to for an internship:

That's Brenden, one of my Multimedia Department team members, and I in the middle, along with some of the other universities' news editors we met at the conference. It was quite  interesting to see what similar and different topics our networks were covering at the time, and differences in how their networks and ours operated.

I also work as a cameraman for a local PBS station, KTWU 11:

And FINALLY, I also own a small business in Topeka, Feuerborn Guitars, a company specializing in customized cigar box guitars:

That's my business partner Kaleb and I on WIBW 13, Topeka's other local television station. If you're interested in seeing some of my previous cigar box guitars, or in ordering one customized to your specs, feel free to check us out on Facebook.

I got involved in Steem thanks to my dad, while ironically I got him started in Bitcoin two years ago. I had just discovered Raspberry Pis, back when they were first being used to mine Bitcoin. My dad and I did a little more research, and we got started with more forms of cryptocurrency. My dad has done a lot of research on them as cryptocurrency has gotten bigger, and there's something about Steemit that's really got him and I interested.

Thanks for taking time to hear my story, Steemit. I'm looking forward to meeting you all as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57