I Turned 60 Today!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

the-old-man-1998604__340.jpg

No, not 60 years old, 60 days on Steemit! I don't know how long that is in dog years, but it does seem like a long time in Steemit time. Probably because 60 days ago I had no idea what I was doing here, what I should be doing here or how long I would last here. I've learned so much since I started.

But, now that I understand much more, I thought it might be time to do one of these “Introduce Yourself” posts and kinda lay out my expected path here.

So, here's a little about me:

First and foremost, I consider myself a problem solver. Whether it's politics, new technology, a philosophical question or a faulty kitchen disposal, if there is a problem, I can't help myself from trying to find a solution to fix it. In pursuit of my problem-solving nature, I have learned to wear many hats. At times I am a writer, an inventor, an entrepreneur, a politician and a tinkerer with all things, great and small. In short, I am a “creative” type.

But one thing about creativity that I have found, something that most people don't seem to realize, is that not only is there an arrogance in wanting to create new things, but also a certain negative outlook necessary and a will for destruction. Let me explain.

When I look at the world, I instinctively look for the things that are wrong, that are lacking or could be better. I consider why things are the way they are and then wonder if and how they could be better. That is somewhat arrogant, as within that type of mindset is the arrogance that I believe I am capable of making things better than they are. It's also “negative thinking” in a way, as I seem to be unable to be happy with things as they are, grateful for the good that is already there or satisfied with “just accepting the status quo”. I can't help it, I am a “glass is half empty” kind of guy. I think one has to have a negative outlook, to some extent or another, to be creative. If one is always happy with the way things are, why would you want to create new things?

Most times I wish I were not a creative type. Most times I consider my need to be creative a curse. Being creative, in my experience, is not usually “fun” because being creative is almost always disruptive. And, for all the hype, glory and praise creativity seems to get, most people don't seem to want truly creative things in their lives. At least not on a constant basis. Change is hard and scary to most people. Most are comfortable with the status quo. They have vested interests in the way things are. Most just want to enjoy the ride of life, and get irritated with the doosh who keeps rocking the boat, insisting things could be better if we only made some changes, here and there. Most are happy enough if their boat just floats and are not interested in making it more effective, efficient or economical.

One must understand that in creating something new, you are saying that whatever is in the space you want your new thing to exist in, that old thing isn't good enough, that it can be made, in some way or another, better than it is now. Most times, it also means that your new thing will replace, and thereby destroy, whatever is in it's space. Creation and destruction are usually only different phases of the same process. That is why I say being creative involves arrogance, negativity and destruction.

I cannot say creativity has always brought me happiness and joy. In fact, those are rare experiences for me, and if I could change my drive to create, change and or solve problems, I would. But, I can't. It is as much a need within me that must be satisfied as thirst or breathing.

So, if I can make one point clear in my introduction, it is this: my purpose here is to be creative in all the ways I have just described. I expect to be creative in writing, ideas, programs or in any other way that presents itself. Crypto and Steemit are fascinating and unexplored worlds to me, and I don't know what to expect. I don't purposely mean to offend, cajole or rock anybody's boat. But I know, from long experience, I will often be perceived that way. I don't apologize for it, I just give fair warning about it.

I hope to find new friends and like minded souls. I understand that I'll also find those who don't like or agree with me. Nor I with them. That's OK... this new world is big enough that we can all exist here without having to bump into each other too often.

With that, I'd like to finish with a giant HELLO! I invite everyone to check out my posts so far and see what you think. For those who think we'd be a good fit in some way, I invite you to follow me and say HELLO! back. Drop in anytime for a little chat!

(Image Source: Pixabay

Sort:  

Exactly mate, a lot of creative people were suffering before so that's normal haha. Great introduction by the way . welcome to steemit ;)

Hi Abix...thanks! Happy to meet you!

Hi. I liked how you started the article. "I had no idea what I was doing here, what I should be doing here or how long I would last here". I share that feeling. I am new here too. Though you're older than me.
Despite I have not so many experience here yet, I can say that start in steemit was a really good idea. so educational.
Anyway, welcome!

Hi Tess! Thanks for your note, and let me welcome you too to Steemit. It's a confusing system, to be sure, but with time and dedication, things become clear. Feel free to ask me questions on my posts, even if it's off the post's topic. I've had to ask others in the same way and they were gracious enough to help when they could. If I can help answer your questions, I will too.

In the meantime, good luck and have fun!

Welcome

Welcome to steemit. Follow me for crypto news and so on........

Good to know you! Followed for quality content.

Saludos, espero poder leer buenos artículos de tu autoría.

nice to meet you.
Followed you,follow back.

Welcome to steem community..

Wonderfully put! I look forward to reading more from you. Cheers

Hello, and thanks! Stop in anytime!

Welcome matthias to the ever growing platform steemit....Good works with quality content in steemit is always appreciated.

Only focus on creating quality content and appreciate the good works of others.

Specially for new comers there is a blog ....you can read it here:

https://steemit.com/introduce/@saswat036/for-new-comers-help-required-from-big-players

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67