JUDGE ME

In this world of form
Where the ugly seems beautiful
The philosophers would say
"Appearance is not always reality"
And so, I never wanted to trip for his appearance
nor fall in love with his bearded chin
nor his muscular arm which spreads like the wings of mother hen
appearing accommodating though no justification

All I needed in Benz was just a far off friend
I never wished to drive in his train
Cos he, to me is not plain
Yet, he just like he Mercedes kept bending
Into every route that leads to my world

Then, without consultation appeared
On my own birthday
With the sparkling cage on knees
Wow! A beautiful one
His deceptive smiles reminded me of Judas his brother in the league
As he knelt there, I saw myself swimming in a choiceless river

No, I didn't want to be disowned my desperate parents
They had already received the dowry in their soul
I sobbed and handed him my hand to be caged
Yes , he caged my finger not my soul
I did this to please the world

Then, came our wedding eve
His body was with me but his casanova soul was nextdoor
My instinct cannot fail me, No!
Once a flirt, is always a flirt
As I peeped through the window blind
I saw him, as he made the first climb
the second ,third and fourth floor
I saw his magnolia peeping through the door
As they embraced with passion
Then kissed so tenderly like lovebirds
who never wished to leave the embrace
My vision became blurred

He just kissed her?
Step into her closet
Shut the door, perhaps to give her a farewell package
I ran back to my room
Examined myself again at the mirror
I am my own muse of strength
As I admired my first full black hair
Ebony shinny skin which glows like a splint
My lovely dreamy eyes that could send a man to the fourth world
That inner woman in me roared
With so much rage
"No, I don't deserve to live with this beast of a man
I can't remain unhappy for life
Just look at me, I'm I not beautiful ?
Do I deserve to be treated like a fool?
Don't I deserve a life to the full?

No! I know my worth
Just like a beautiful scented flower
Flourishing and attractive
I'm still in my prime

As I stood there reminding myself of my worth
I heard the beast approaching the door
I ran to my bed and sat like a doll
Crossing my legs like a woman with no worry
He walked up to me with heavy steps
one
two
Three
looked into my eyes
Imagine what he said to me
"I love you, I want to live for you"

At this point, I began to sobbed
To him I shedded tears of joy
For me, I shedded my bitterness
Mounted the bed and slept
He had consented to no sex till after our wedding night

Dong! Dong! Dong!
The church bells rang
Bringing us before the expectant crowd
As I marched in
I heard one say
"Oh! perfect match
Then two
"They will make cute babies"
For me, "How the lie else I'll die"

Then came the sonorous voice of the clergy
"Will you take him as your lawful wedded husband till death"?
My face became gloomy
Alas ! Here lies my fate
My soul said "NO"
The fear of crowd said "Yes"

I couldn't afford to stay
Even though I made the say
I have to run to the world not known
This! I had already sworn

Though for me, no more man may be
So world judge me
Do I deserve this beast
Even with his fee
should I die so he may feast?
Judge me ,Judge me O world

Sort:  

Nice piece of poetry.

thanks Mr.attat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62199.58
ETH 3014.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57