Welcome to the wondrous world of my imagination

Once upon a time.jpg
Welcome, stranger! You’ve reached a wondrous place: from this point, you can take a look inside my mind. For me, it has always been a mesmerizing place, full of stories, color, images, emotions and crazy trains of thought. I hope to share some of it with you, and in return catch a glimpse of what is going on inside your mind.

Probably the thing I like best about my mind is the continuous stream of stories that run through it, vivid as movies. I very much enjoy the adventures of all my imaginary friends and I’ve been putting them to paper as soon as I learned how to hold a pen. It’s all fiction, inspired by my own experiences or my dreams, often flirting with magic and worlds other than our own.

Since making a decent living out of your imagination is reserved to just the lucky few, I chose to pursue a regular non-descript career and let my imagination run free in my spare time. So far, I’ve kept my creations largely to myself and only occasionally shared something with the usual suspects, such as my parents.

Obviously, they were heavily impressed, as is their job. Obviously, my very active imagination has many times played out the scenario in which I am discovered as the next Joanne Rowling. Despite the unwavering support of my family and these fantasies however, sharing my work with the world has always made me a little nervous. Writing is something so personal, so vulnerable and close to myself – what if people don’t like it? What if they think it’s a silly hobby? So, in light of facing my fears and trying new things: here’s my first brave little step into the world, in the relative safety of a platform where no one knows me yet.

(By the way, I’d love to hear about your experiences with posting your writing online. How did people respond? Was it what you expected? Any tips and tricks?)

Although I never tried to turn writing into a career, my fascination with the mind did motivate me to study psychology (and afterwards find a completely unrelated job, but that is beside the point). I love analyzing what goes on in my own mind, and trying to figure out what goes on in others’. So besides posting my stories here, I would also like to share some of my observations and analyses.

So far, I've only managed to read other people’s stories and be inspired. I was hoping to join some of the contests I’ve seen, but I haven’t managed yet – I’m a rather slow writer, I like to chew on my words and mold and polish my stories to perfection. Even this introduction took me longer than it takes some people to write entire chapters, it seems. And slowing me down even further is my ambition to accompany each post with my own drawings (so far, so good). But we’ll see, hopefully being among creative minds will give my productivity a boost.

I hope you like what you find here :) Constructive feedback is always appreciated. And as English is not my first language, any tips concerning grammar, style or vocabulary are most welcome.

Banner 2.jpg

Sort:  

Greeting @megan.emerald! Welcome to this wonderful community!!! You'll meet amazing people here... Write freely and keep steeming :)

Welcome, Megan! I hope you have a good time here on Steemit. I'd only encourage you to do one thing - write!
Try out all sorts of things on and off here, enter contests, even if they don't sound like your usual stuff ;) It's how you learn about yourself!

As for writing online or posting your writing, this is my first experience of doing it and Steemit has done wonders for me as a young writer. It's helped me gain so much confidence that others liked my writing. And I think it s a step in the right direction. After all, it kinda misses the point if no one sees your stories, I think. Also, there's the chance to get rewarded for your words which is incredible, to me. So, write, write, write!

And once again, welcome :)

Thanks so much for your kind words :) I've immediately followed your advice and entered a contest :P I'm so excited!

Good on you! Good luck!! :)

Welcome to Steem, @megan.emerald!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2819 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.4 : Two new features on Busy and bug fixes.

Moved to the Hive platform.

Thanks, I hope to get a first post out in a few days!

Moved to the Hive platform.

@megan.emerald, welcome to Steemit. I know you'll enjoy being here. I give you two keys you need in your steemit journey:

  1. Dedication, persistence and consistency.
  2. Don't quit. Keep moving on.
  3. Steemit cannot reset your password for you if you lose it, therefore have a backup for it. Make sure to save your master password and all steemit keys somewhere safe.

Please, permit me to invite you to join the #steemschools discord here https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags, make quality posts and comments on Steemit and gain more followers.

Thank you.

.images (22).jpeg

Congratulations @megan.emerald! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi Megan! Welcome :)

As a singer/songwriter, poetry and fiction writer, and sometime visual artist (love your style BTW) here on Steemit I have nothing but good things to say about this platform. The work people post is inspiring and often brilliant, the contests are fun, and the community is so supportive and interesting. I hope you find this place as much fun as I do. I think it tends to expand creative horizons. I'd always written poetry and songs, but I began writing fiction (without really meaning to at first) because of Steemit, and now it's one of my favorite creative outlets.

Currently my two favorite events are the weekly Open Mic and the Daily Freewrite, but there are many others to choose from. Definitely check out the contests and other initiatives and see what strikes your fancy.

And BTW you can still do Freewrites even if it takes you longer than 5 minutes to write something. Some of us don't time ourselves at all... I used to (briefly), but now I sometimes spend hours on one freewrite, and I know there are others who do the same thing. I just like the prompts, and the community, so I do it my way and everyone seems to be ok with it ;)

Thanks so much! I hope to use some other styles as well in the future (I’m trying to improve my watercolor skills). The good thing about pen and ink is that it’s a pretty fast medium which helps keeping the production up to speed (which is something I really needed to get started).
Good to hear such positive reviews of steemit, it really encourages me to keep trying. I’ll make sure to check out the events you mentioned :)

"Since making a decent living out of your imagination is reserved to just the lucky few, I chose to pursue a regular non-descript career and let my imagination run free in my spare time."

So have I. Welcome @megan.emerald to Steemit. I hope you enjoy writing here. Also, I hope you can drop by and read some of my writing. I've been uploading chapters of a trilogy I'd been working on the past couple of years. You can check out the latest chapter here.

Thank you, I'll make sure to check out your work!

Thanks. I hope you enjoy it.

Hello megan.emerald! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60