About me ...

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

IMG_0232.JPG

Pushing 60, headful of salt & pepper (no, I didn’t have an accident in the kitchen! Just letting my hair go au naturel), a foodie (eating and cooking although I’m not much of a recipe follower and don’t do much of the latter anymore), retired from corporate chaos, love the aroma of coffee, love popcorn, love my family, love my country (Malaysia), love God.

That’s me in a nutshell.
Hi, I’m Evelyn. ‘e’ to family, friends and those who bother to get it right, ‘matta’ to my kids. By kids I mean my 13 amazing nieces and nephews and their just as amazing spouses (3 are taken, sorry guys!). I’m not biased, they are truly amazing people, seriously! I’m also blessed with an absolutely adorable and oh-so precocious 3 1/2 year old grandniece, who also calls me matta. That picture collage should give you a hint of what or who my life revolves around these days. My username is in fact borrowed from the nickname I gave her. MegStar!

The road to how I came here ….
After handing in my ‘Adios! I’ve had enough of this nonsense letter’ to my last employer - that was 4 years ago, I decided I really did have enough of all the corporate nonsense and would do something else, something not too stressful (or so I thought). So off to London I went to do a 1 month course in CELTA (Certificate for English Language Teaching to Adults). Won’t go into details here but let’s just say that didn’t quite pan out as I had hoped or expected. A crazy experience but more about it in posts to follow, but I did get my certificate … so yayyy!

After that episode and the long breather that followed I started to browse around for things to do on the internet. Tried binary options - and all I will say about it is STAY AWAY! Signed up for some other stuff, read a lot, researched a lot and got confused a lot. Finally settled on a couple of ecommerce programmes, which are pretty decent but terribly challenging. Still struggling …

On to the next thing. Been thinking about blogging for a while now, so much to say about so many things, but finding the right platform was always the hard part … for a grey haired aunty like me anyways. You know everything on the internet is about audience, traffic, SEO blah blah blah …. When I heard about #steemit from @branlee87, one of my aforementioned amazing kids, I thought what better place to do what I’ve been wanting to do minus the worry about the things I was worried about.

So here I am! This is my next thing. Excited to share, learn and be a part of the community!

Am going full ‘steem’ ahead! Have a great day / evening .... Talk later!

Sort:  

Well done!!! 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

Thanx mizzhuay! 😍

Welcome on board, sista! Great intro! We just might learn things about each other we never knew! 😉

Hahaha ... so true, can’t wait! 🤣

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Thanks a lot! I'm sure I will. Best to you too!

Hey, Matta! Well, can't say I'm surprised that you can write well :P
Well done on your first post! It is a great introduction! Will come over tomorrow night and teach you and mum more about steemit alright!

Thanks amazing nephew! And for getting this old foggy on board! Yes, got to learn more from u, I’m afraid to even vote or do anything in case I have to pay for it! Lol

Congratulations @megstar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Many thanks @steemitboard! Appreciate it

Dear @megstar, thanks for your beautiful post, in order to support you i showed your picture in my blog. Please feel free to check the link below and if you like my effort then kindly donot forgot to upvote and follow me too. ;). If you donot like your reference in my post then just comment under that post, i will remove it.
https://steemit.com/life/@sultanmr/best-new-steemers-introductory-posts---page-12-1523747990-0708337

Cool! Thanks much @sultanmr

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Thanks @teammalaysia! Happy to vote for bitrocker2020. Look forward to being part of the community and learning from everybody.

Congratulations @megstar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Glad to have u onboard the steemit platform @megstars . Looking forward to read your amazing posts.

Thanks @bitrocker2020! I’m betting u’r going to be my go-to for techie info & advise! Keep steemin’!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60