Let me introduce myself: I am Giuseppe, founder of Italian Food Startup Miele di Borgo Ltd.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I still didn't create an "introduce yourself" post, so I'm doing it now, hoping to raise the interest of Steemians who care for the environment, and want to support the local, small-business enterprises which want to work in a sustainable way.


this is me with my own sustainable beehives in Vicopisano (Pisa - Italy)

My name is Giuseppe Cavallo, I'm the founder of the italian startup "Miele di Borgo" Ltd.

I grew up here in Tuscany and always had a passion for country, historical towns and nature, so I started this company with a special mission:

  • taking care of environment and biodiversity thanks to our wonderful bees
  • give visibility to our historical towns, cultural heritage and territory
  • support our local economy and sustainable agriculture
  • develop tourism and interest towards italian food and traditions

To accomplish these purposes, we want to use Steemit and new technologies, embracing the crypto currency world as the bigger economic and technologic innovation of last decades.


Why the Bees are in danger and how we can help

It may sound strange, but the most hostile environment for bees is the country:

  • chemical pesticides are used to produce non-organic food and they can kill the bees (while in cities and towns, plants have no pesticides because are mostly ornamental or for private consumption)
  • due to the productive cycle, many country plants are harvested too early, so that the bees have little time to reach their flowers

We need to remember that most of the food we eat (including animals) depends on bees' pollination and would disappear if all the bees die!


Miele di Borgo at work - Image from our website

From urban beekeeping to village beekeeping

Many experiments of beekeeping in big cities proved to be successful, also here in Italy.
My idea is to move this kind of experience from the big cities to the small, medieval towns, just to have a less polluted environment while still having the advantage of private gardens and absence of chemical pesticides.

a view of Vicopisano medieval town in Italy, where my project started (you can see the Brunelleschi tower too!)

The Global Economic Crisis and the italian situation

Italian economy is not doing well, and global crisis is affecting us quite badly.
For young people like me there are not great opportunities, so we need to take advantage of our history and territory to give additional value to our work and ideas. Creating a startup is expensive and is currently difficult having some financial help from local banks or entrepreneurs, that's why we need your help and the crypto community support to make our dream come true!

Miele di Borgo - My Dream and Company

"Miele di Borgo" means "Village's Honey", because we're selecting the most beautiful, medieval towns of Italy to offer their unique honeys.
In fact, each town produces its unique honey, due to the different flora and local environment.

a view of Vicopisano, Brunelleschi tower and our honey

Additionally, each honey-pot has a special card with the history of the town and a QR code, linked to our interactive map, with the history and info about the different villages and honeys. We only use natural and recyclable materials for our packaging.

You can visit our english webpage here or our italian website for additional info and contacts!


Thank you for your interest, please follow @mielediborgo and leave your feedback and ideas!

Sort:  

I'm very interested in this, I remember reading your last post. I'll look into your website. Have you also looked at @steemrollin 's peer hub as a potential market place?

Thank you @opheliafu!
The bees gif is super cool!!
Didn't know about steemrollin, definitely worth getting more info and evaluating to collaborate with them, so thanks for the great suggestion!
Following you :)

Thank you for the follow. Feel free to use the gif.

Thanks! They're really cool :)

great tip :) peerhub is ready to use marketplace...

Welcome! I really like bees, keep us updated about project and perhaps point us to where we can buy Italian natural honey :)

Thank you so much @good-karma!
We're working to implement beehive adoption and sending honey as a reward for that, so stay tuned and we'll let you know!

Looking forward to it, followed! :)

Thank you so much, following back !

Nice introduction post. Welcome to steemit my friend

I saw your farming post so I'm following :)

Thanks @mielediborgo. Follow you back :)

That's great Andrew :)

Cute post Giuseppe...welcome! (;

Thanks buddy!

Very cool project and Welcome to Steem! There is other big problems there I know of... Fracking around seismic and volcanically active areas... Doesn't seem very sensible to me...

Thank you so much!
Yes, there are also those problems, fracking is affecting negatively our country too, unfortunately.
Still we need to start from the things we can effectively change, so taking care of bees really means preserving our ecosystem, and that's why we are here!

I walked most of the way from Rome to Popoli, and on the way I took a shortcut through some national Park, and I saw the double rows of cone head posts and eventually saw the facility that had the tap into a gas deposit.

I think methane is cool stuff, but not the way they do it. The cost of gas needs to go up more so they have to find more clever, cleaner ways to get it. But I have never understood why there is not more biogas production. Methane is pollution from most landfills... Money going to waste and poisoning nearby animals...

Yes, we have so many problems in our territory and we're aware about that.
Unfortunately many times profit is the only reason for some wrong choices.
That's why we need to work towards a sustainable way of managing our society and environment, without waiting for politicians and bureaucrats to wake up :)

Very cool! Welcome on Steemit and good luck with your project / company!

Thank you @lemouth!
Happy to be on Steemit, it's the best place to have some useful feedback and help for great projects :)

Great post! I am in #Canada -- or as I call it these days -- #Canadastan.

Seems we have some common interests and I will follow you now -- have already RS and UV this post.

I haven't done my introduceyourself post yet and it has been about 3 mths so I am getting ready to do it like you have done.

Have a good day!!

Thank you so much for upping and resteeming!
I will also follow :)

Awesome project! Steem on!!

Thank you! Grazie!
Steem On :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63