Hello World and “an infinite life”steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello World and “an infinite life”

Having heard about the steemit community just recently, I am happy to be a part of it.
With my account I want to share my view and hear your opinion on different topics reaching from, recent events, over work-life-balance to movies and food. Depending on the feedback I get, I will adjust my posts and I am also open to your proposals.
Before I start let me give you some information about me:
My name is David and I am 26 years old. I live in Munich in Germany where I work as a mechanical engineer. With German as my native language and my English skills I can speak two languages.

I have chosen “an infinite life” as my first topic, I hope you will enjoy it.

an infinite life

In the commonwealth saga by Peter F. Hamilton has humanity found a way to take a person’s old (living) body and -as the author is calling it- rejuvenate it to the wished age. All the memories stay intact, unless they shouldn’t, then it is possible to erase them and save them on an external storage device. Furthermore, you would have a memory cell in your head, that in case of the dead of your body would be extracted and simply put into a clone of yours. The Netflix series altered carbon takes, more or less, the same principle.
What fascinates me the most on this idea, aside from the possibility to live forever, is the fact, that being old would no longer be a bad thing. Because now being old is associated with death, but if death is out of the way being old would be associated with wisdom and knowledge. A person who is 300 years old could still have the body of a 20-year-old millennial. This also means, that your grand-grand-grandfather could have a body with the same age as your body. This would totally change the family structure, all these relatives you would have…
It may not sound like a happy future, having to not only visit your grand parents but also their parents, but if everybody has the same physical age, the activity you could do with your family would also drastically change. Obviously, the world would explode if nobody would (or at least not everyone) die. Good for us, that Elon Musk is working hard to make us humans a multiplanetary species 😉

Picture: @mikeycolon please check out his channel, he has some amazing artwork and it’s really worth taking a look.

I hope I was able to tickle you fantasy at least a bit and I’m interested what you think about living forever or if it’s even possible. Please share your thoughts with the community in the comment section.

If you liked what you read, then please leave an upvote and follow me for more 😊
@min42

Sort:  

Me alegra verte en Steemit, Saludos.

gracias!
Estoy contento de estar allí :)

Welcome to Steemit! I love the show "Altered Carbon". I think the concept is fascinating and if cloning yourself, maybe with a few tweaks, was the most common practice it would be quite interesting, otherwise the level of corruption would be huge

You have been nominated in my Pay it Forward Contest submission as a Bonus Blogger. You can find it here Link

The goal is to nominate someone new to Steemit. Hope you enjoy

Thank you very much!
It’s an honor and I hope you will like my future posts as well😊

Thanks :) @the-witty-waiter
The problem with new technologies is always that there are always a good and a bad side. The question is which side has more weight.

“Black Mirror “ hint hint 😉

Have a great day!

Great post and welcome!
let's see when humanity will discover this technology ;)

thanks :)
Who knows maybe we will be able to rejuvenate yourselfs :D

Interesting ideas... I hope we don't go and populate further worlds before we have fixed the idiocies we've been doing on this one, though.

Thanks for sharing.

PS: I've found your post after reading @the-witty-waiter's participation in the Pay It Forward Contest


Welcome to Steem @min42.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Welcome to Steem, @min42!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3291 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Hi David. Welcome to Stemmit! I found your post through @the-witty-waiter who featured it here: Pay it Forward Curation Contest.

I am amused by your "hello world" greeting. Have you taken any programming course before? Why do I ask? Because that "hello world" thing is the basic programming that was is being asked to be programmed in school during my college days, like ah... about 2 decades ago.

I literally laughed alone when I saw it on a post from a fresh graduate in Russia. He confirmed that it is still being used in school.

Now going to your topic, I wonder how the world will be if there is no death. The planet will be literally full and Elon Musk must be having a real hard time exploring other planets for us. Even Mars is not yet ready for human inhabiting. I am not a Netflix subscriber so I wonder if that series has a solution to the potential problem I mentioned.

Good introductory post you have there. Keep Steeming!

Welcome to steemit @min42.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Congratulations @min42! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73