A little background :)

hi, I'm Monique :) IMG_3359.JPG
I like to write prose poetry and eat pizza.

often sandy.
always dirty hair.

I grew up on Cape Cod, MA, working at family restaurants until the wee hours of dawn (just to jump in the bay at sunrise), and eating organic veggies straight from the ground.

IMG_3082.jpg

I love my family, by choice, but I'm always running away.

mostly to Paris,
Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 3.39.43 PM.png

or Southern France, Norway, Croatia (Dubrovnik), Italy (Milano), Holland (mostly Amsterdam), Czech Republic (Prague), Belgium (Brussels), Jamaica, or somewhere new.

I believe in body glitter, thorough exfoliation, and good dirt. Screen Shot 2018-07-02 at 6.09.08 PM.png

When I'm all settled down one day, my dream is to live on a small flower/veggie/alpaca farm and write. I want to teach kids how to write stories for themselves, to help process and heal. We are all like sponges, especially kids, and it's vital to our growth to let things out sometimes -- writing.

Until then, I want to experience as much as possible, to share my heart & grow my brain, to taste everything, to dance unabashedly, to love and respect my body, weird birth-marks, scars, teeth, and all.

I'm my truest self amongst strangers,
a book-worm because it's the best way to avoid small talk and the first way I learned to travel the world.

and I guess I'm here to share my self,

sometimes silly,Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 3.43.46 PM.png

sometimes sleepy,Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 3.44.00 PM.png

often on the beach alone,Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 3.44.23 PM.png

and sometimes sad.

I hope to make connections here <3

xx Monique

Sort:  

Great story. I grew up on Montauk point in a family restaurant as well. Cape cod is a great place. Reminds me of Home. Welcome to the community!!

Thanks! there's nothing quite like growing up in a restaurant family, especially in such seasonal beach towns! good to find someone who can relate :)

You are right, we all are like sponges! Welcome to Steemit! I look forward to reading your posts!

You had me at alpaca! 😍

I have a whole Alpaca based children's book series concept...I love them.. just need to learn how to draw ! <3

@mo-nique, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Hi Monique! And good luck! :)

hi thank you! I just heard about STEEM about a month ago from a new friend, and i'm really excited to learn more// see how everything works.

I would love to roll around in the dirt with you. Foster steemit.JPG

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G


Welcome to Steemit @mo-nique!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82