Hello everyone! Introducing myself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello everyone! My name is Mohamed Sheikh and I’m a 17 years old boy from Zurich, Switzerland and I am currently in high school. I’m interested in history since I hope to understand the current state of our world through the events that have led to our modern society. I also really love fantasy/dystopian books

I was born in Zurich, Switzerland in the year 2000 as the son of a Somali muslim (my name reveals it I think?) family. When I was 10 years old I became increasingly interested in the country my parents came from and asked them many questions but my parents both worked, my father had a night shift and my mother worked from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm and had little time to pay attention to my new hobby. Because of that I soon searched for other ways to seek knowledge and found a library a few blocks away. Through some books from there I learned much about the history of Somalia and the problems there nowadays. I also read wikipedia articles about Somalia to Islamic history, the romans, persians ,the holy roman empire etc. and this knowledge helped me broaden my view of the world.

I also discovered my love for fantasy books in the local library. My first fantasy book series was the Harry Potter saga I’ve read when I was 10 years old. Since then I have read many book series like the Witcher saga from Andreas Sapowski, Song of ice and fire from G.R.R Martin and the Locke Lamora series written by Scott lynch. I am currently reading the book “words of radiance” from the awesome book series stormlight archive written by Brandon Sanderson.

I learned about the potential of Steemit through my friend @jbp who explained me the function of steemit and I was amazed by the mass of quality content and the lack of low effort post that are now the norm in social media

To extend the influence of our beloved steemit community, I want to introduce my fellow Somali friends in Switzerland to steemit so that they also have access to the diverse set of content that can be found on steemit.

My goal for Steemit is to contribute quality content to the community, mainly in the topic history, but I also plan to make some posts about politics and books. For my second post I want to write about the causes of the civil war in Somalia because I think that many people would be interested in learning more about why this state became so destabilised as we know it nowadays.

Auf Deutsch:

Hallo Leute. Ich heisse Mohamed Sheikh, bin 17 Jahre alt und lebe derzeit in Zürich, Schweiz. Ich besuche seit dem Ende der diesjährigen Sommerferien die 5. Klasse des Gymnasiums. Ich interessiere mich für die Geschichte der Welt da ich so mehr über die Kulturen der Menschen weltweit lerne und es mir auch hilft den heutige Stand der Welt besser zu verstehen. Ich lese auch gerne Bücher aus den Genres Fantasie und Dystopie.

Ich kam im Jahre 2000 in Zürich, Schweiz zur Welt als Sohn einer somalischen Migrantenfamilie. Als ich 10 Jahre alt war wollte ich mehr über das Herkunftsland meiner Eltern erfahren doch waren meine Eltern zu sehr mit der Arbeit beschäftigt um meine Fragen zu beantworten. Also suchte ich mir selber einen Weg meinen Wissensdurst zu stillen und fand eine Kinderbibliothek in der Nachbarschaft. Von dort leihte ich mir viele Kindersachbücher über geschichtliche Themen die mir interessant erschienen und lernte aus ihnen mehr über die Geschichte Somalias. Ich entdeckte auch das Internet für mich nach einiger Zeit und las Wikipedia Artikel über diverse historische Themen und folgte immer weiter den Links, die in einem Artikel aufzufinden sind, um mehr über das wichtigen Figuren dieser Zeit lernen. So lernte ich ich nicht nur viel über die Geschichte Somalias, sondern auch über andere Themen wie z.Bsp: Islamische Geschichte, Der Aufstieg und Untergang des römischen Weltreich, das Heilige Römische Reich und die Vorgeschichte der Schweiz.

In der Kinderbibliothek in unserer Nachbarschaft entdeckte ich für mich meine Liebe zu Fantasy Büchern. Die erste Fantasie Buchserie die ich zu lesen begann war Harry Potter und seit dem habe ich noch viele andere Bücher gelesen darunter die Hexer Buchreihe von Andreas Sapowski, das Lied von Eis und Feuer von G.R.R Martin und auch die die Locke Lamora Buchreihe geschrieben von Scott Lynch. Zur Zeit lese ich das Buch die Stürme des Zorns von der Buchreihe die Sturmlicht Chroniken ,geschrieben von Brandon Sanderson.

Ich lernte Steemit über meinem Freund @jbp kennen, der mir auch die Funktion dieser Plattform erklärte. Ich war gänzlich überrascht über den Menge an guten Inhalt, den man auf dieser Seite finden kann. Dies steht meiner Meinung nach im Kontrast zu den sozialen Medien heutzutage.

Um das Wissen über Steemit zu verbreiten will ich auch meine somalischen Freunde in der Schweiz in diese Plattform einführen, sodass sie auch Zugang zum Inhalt haben, den man hier so finden kann.

Mein Ziel ist es zum Wachstum von Steemit mit guten Inhalt beizutragen ,größtenteils zum Thema Geschichte. Ich plane aber auch Inhalte über politische Themen und vielleicht auch zu Fantasie Büchern zu veröffentlichen.
In meinem zweiten Post will ich einen Post über die Ursachen des Bürgerkriegs in Somalia schreiben, da ich glaube dass sich viele dafür interessieren würden warum Somalia so wurde wie es heute ist.

Sort:  

Hallo Mohamed
Herzlich willkommen auf Steemit. Langsam scheint dieses grandiose Netzwerk auch bei uns in der Schweiz Fuss zu fassen. Da gibt es immer viel Spannendes zu entdecken und man kann immer was dazu lernen.
Liebe Grüsse aus Fribourg

Welcome

Nice to meet you, @mo0! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Hi
Thanks for your comment. I looked up your profile, you've posted really good picture of the swiss mountains

Hallo Mohamed, willkommen auf Steemit. Wenn Du Fragen zu Steemit hast, oder Dich mit anderen deutschen „Steemians“ austauschen magst, schaue einfach mal in unserem Chat vorbei: https://steemit.chat/channel/deutsch

Welcome on Steemit @mo0
It's nice to see you.
I'm sure that you will enrich Steemit with your content.

Good to see such an interesting self introduction. It is really inspirational and informative one. I hope your good future and development with steemit. ... Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @steemtrip

Welcome to steemit @jbp's friend 😊

Welcome to Steemit. I believe you will enjoy your experience in our community. Feel free to make friends and explore. Much love!
George.

Willkommen auf steemit.
Bin gespannt auf deine Posts!

Welcome to Steem @mo0 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56