Taking The Plunge!

My name is Kim and this is my toe-dipping exercise into the (hopefully) warm waters of the Steemit ocean.
I was coerced / encouraged into joining by my long-distant son and my medium-distant daughter both avid Steemians.

After giving Steemit the once over I was unsure as to what I had to offer in terms of interesting comment or insightful observation but after much face slapping from the above mentioned offspring I have decided to give it a go.

One thing I did notice was the average age of most contributors seems to be around the early to mid thirties so this picture of me shows that I hover somewhere in the top quartile of the distribution sample.

SnowmanSml.jpg

To clarify..that's me on the left next to the blind-disabled snowman.
I live in the Gloucestershire wilderness known as the Forest of Dean (UK) and as you can tell it's been particularly cool in recent days.

My interests presently revolve around Photography, Walking, Wildlife, and Family History, with a smattering of Science and Philosophy thrown in. Not that I'm a master of any of them but they are what gets me up in the mornings.

I hope to be bobbing to the surface now and then to publish posts relative to the above topics if I think they may be of small nourishment to other fish in the sea.

Anyway, enough of the marine metaphors and as a thank you for staying awake and reading this introduction here's another photograph taken 4 days ago from just up the hill from where I live.

ForestPanSml.jpg

I think that all went swimmingly!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mobbsclan, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 6167 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $976.35. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Hi mobbs dad!!!!!!!
Welcome to the platform and all the very best to you.
You have a truly amazing, kind heart, intellectual and multi-talented son:)
I thank you for bringing him into this world so that we all have the opportunity to enjoy the pleasure of his company:)

We are talking about the same person right? ... :-) Thanks anyway.

@mobbsclan! My warm welcome to Steemitland! I am sure you will find plenty of things that interest you here.

Also @mobbs is awesome! ^^

I taught him all I know - took me 20 minutes :-)

Welcome! @mobbsclan. Your photos are awesome, I love the idea of winter, but unfortunately, the Philippines doesn't have that kind of season. Wish to travel countries that have a winter season. hehe, It is really my dream to travel abroad. Thanks to Steemit I saw real snow and imagine I'm on it, playing and making a snowman like in the movies I've watched.

Thank you for sharing your photos.
Keep steeming and posting!

Have a good one,
Xoxo
@gerel

Thanks. We lived in Cebu for 2 years so I know how cold it can get there. :-) . Best Regards

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mobbsclan to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks. It will be a challenge to keep the quality as high :-)

Actually it's handy that you used marine metaphors, because that's exactly what goes on here. Small fry like you and me are called 'minnows'. Middle-size, like people who have $40,000-200,000 or something are called 'dolphins', and the big cheeses with $1-5 million or so are 'Whales'.

One of which just gave you a nice big upvote!

I think I'm gonna need a bigger blog

Pretty lovely how dad gets to join steemit too... 😎 been trying to bring my dad on here as well.. Must not give up now 😃

Welcome! If you decide to write anything in the field of Science, Technology, Engineering or Maths (including how-to's, mechanics and the like), feel free to use the #steemstem tag for greater reward opportunities!

imageedit_2_2589863967.gif

From the above-mentioned face-slapper

Ouch! I'll keep it in mind.

Welcome to the community :)

hello... i'm new also in this platform... please follow me...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97