Why Modern Penelope

Hello steemit world! As part of an attempt to join this community, I would like to explain the meaning behind my steemit username.

A long time ago I was in a long distance relationship that inspired me to start writing Modern Penelope. I still have not finished that novel but I hope to do so one day. Here is the brief synopsis:

Penelope studies languages at the university in the US, including Spanish and sign language. She is in a relationship with Mauricio, who lives in a South American country (not Brazil but a Spanish speaking one). The story starts by describing video conversations between the lovers and their contrasting lives. The focus is on the loyalty of Penelope for Mauricio despite the distance and despite the many suitors. One day, the two countries are at war and the two lovers end up on opposing sides of the battle. Mauricio is sent off to the army without any choice. Penelope decides to enlist and become an assistant for the wounded. The story continues to tell their struggle to unite and live together when the world is falling apart.

Looking back, this synopsis is a little scary considering that I recently saw an article about the potential was between US and Venezuela. I hope we have only scares but no large wars in the near future.

My definition of Modern Penelope is more broad and it can be any woman who finds herself in a long distance relationship and who proudly stays loyal. In a sense, I am a Modern Penelope still. This idealized image inspires me to proudly keep doing what I do. It is a symbol of patience and of elegant perseverance. Of course it's possible to extend the definition of Modern Penelope to many people in today's society. I would apply it to anyone faithfully supporting a cause from far away. There are a lot of us out there.

Sort:  

Congratulations @modern.penelope! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You are cool and modern too. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76