Introducing myself -Jason moofang

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

handshake-2056023_640.jpg
I'm usually far less well-dressed in real life, but I wanted to start off with a nice cordial looking image :)

Hello Steemit!

Glad to meet you! My handle is Jason moofang. I hail from South East Asia. Several strands of interest led to me winding up here - chief among which, I suppose, is that I'm looking for a new place to write.

A new place? Well I used to run a blog where I wrote somewhat haphazard pieces on Anime and Linux/Tech related topics (here's a sampler of one of my better posts). That has gone pretty much defunct a while ago now and while I feel like my time writing on those things has probably past, I have always still felt this incessant quivering finger on my back nudging me to go write something, and so here I am looking to start again.

What do I intend to write about? Well, who knows for sure, really - but for a start, I think, I would like to write more directly on my own ideas and positions now. Especially on religion and Christianity which I have long had detailed but unpenned thoughts about. Also, I hope to write perspectives (not always religious) on contemporary social issues. I guess these last years have seen me gain a growing appreciation of the importance of social discourse, and I'm looking for an avenue of participation. I also have an avid but amateurish interest in philosophy, and I might spout an odd poem every now and then.

As far as further background goes, well, I'm a techie sort of guy. I am a programmer by training, and I co-run a tech-startup in my day job. I confess to being a little on the skeptical side of things with regards to the blockchain hype, but if anything's likely to change my mind it'd be interesting applications like this one :) So that's another motivation to being here as well - I have a sort of academic interest in how steemit works and feels like from the inside, and how the theory measures up to the practice, so to speak.

At any rate, I absolutely hope to have a good and fruitful time here with all of you. I'll probably write at a slow pace like I always have, but I'd love it if you engaged and challenged me if you find what I write interesting. Thanks so much for having me!

"There are a thousand thoughts lying within a man that he does not know till he takes up a pen to write."

Sort:  

A very Warm welcome from me and all steemit community. Happy to meet you Keep on working hard. our support is always with you. Best of luck for future

Thank you for the warm welcome!


Welcome to Steemit @moofang!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

welcome! and fantastic goals. if there is one thing that i knew how to do it would be programming so if you have any tips for me there on where to get started i would love to know! in regards to blockchain and steem you should look into it! understand what your getting yourself into! because once you start you can never stop! only thing that i ask from you is, if you choose the steem life, stay active! stay involved and keep connecting every day with new people, and keep up with your other friends you met the other days! steem is one of the best places to meet anyone, use it the right way! you're gunna love it my friend! welcome!

Thank you for the warm words! If you meant that you wish you knew how to program and are looking for a place to start, I think http://freecodecamp.org/ is pretty good, although I've admittedly never approached it from a newbie perspective.

I do already know something about the steem blockchain, hence the academic interest! I've already downloaded the whitepaper to hopefully get more nitty gritties. As for staying involved, I'll try! Thank you for the advice!


Welcome to Steem @moofang.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @moofang!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3173 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus Points calculation.

Welcome to the Steemit community. It was nice to read what you write about or plan to write about. I'm sure you will like being here.

Thank you for reading and your kind words!

Great post @moofang welcome to the Steemit Family please explore blog and enjoy thanks @garrettwallace

Thank you for the warm words!

Your so welcome

Welcome. I am glad that you found the freewrite community right away! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57